We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Jireh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arenal Jireh to your Saves list
Hotel Arenal Jireh
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 M W Del Parque Central La Fortuna | 1 block west from Central Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 03 - 4417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Sparta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Carlos and Jackie were great...helpful when the ac didn't work, accommodating by giving us another room that was even nicer with an awesome view of the volcano. The location is perfect, rooms were clean, and staff was friendly. Tasty breakfast included.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor with a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went there for just one night.. First we did the reservation by phone, and once we were there they told me they were full! And we had already paid half and gotten a confirmation! After a while they gave us the room... It was ok, nothing luxurious (not that we expected it) nor beautiful at sight at all .. And the breakfast was included... Only 2 options.. The pool was dirty and there are no words to describe the smell and the mess in the bathrooms!!! Specially the one that was public! .. Didnt enjoy the experience at all.. I expected much more since it's a hotel in Fortuna downtown..

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Arenal Jireh in May. Great inexpensive place to crash. The staff were wonderful, the breakfast burrito is the best. The chef is a walking comedian. I would stay again. In Arenal you only need a place to crash after zipling, rafting, & jumping into waterfalls. No need to pay $400 a night to stay at Tabacon. $45 rooms at Jireh is where it's at!! They have free parking and overnight security.

Room Tip: Just take whatever room they give you, if your there to lay up & sleep around in Costa Rica you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The setting, the scenery from our balcony, the view of the Volcano, the hotel itself. The layout of the rooms.The friendly and professional staff, make us a great stay.
The hotel is very close to all our needs, and we can travel just around all the beautiful places closed to the volcano.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it served our needs. We had a second floor room which was clean and it had a patio off of the room. The furnishings were dated and the beds a bit uncomfortable, but the room came with a working safe and a non-working mini fridge. The bathroom was nice and clean, but towels were hard to come by and there was a liquid soap dispenser in the shower that was for all purposes - hair, body, etc. There were 2 chairs and a table outside the front door so that you could sit and watch the bustle of the city. The patio off of the room was semi-private and accessed through a sliding glass door. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was adequate (we were allowed to make alterations to the standard fare). It's not the Hilton, but the price and location were great.

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms seemed to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here as part of a G adventure. We were supposed to be in double-occupancy rooms but they tried to get 4 women not travelling together in a room with only 3 beds and they thought that was normal/acceptable. It was clearly a double-room where they threw in 2 extra single beds so we could barely move around the room.
The room could have been cleaner, especially the bathroom.
Beds were comfortable enough.
The hotel did not show pride of ownership and you can do better for the price in the town.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Fresh flowers accenting the room accessories are only one of the nice things about this hotel. It is conveniently located, the staff is friendly and helpful, and their tour operator is topnotch. It's a nice place to stay, and we hope to be back.

Room Tip: Our third floor room gave us a good view of both the volcano and the downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan R, Gerente at Hotel Arenal Jireh, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay, we are making changes to give our guest an enjoyable stay, we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arenal Jireh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Jireh

Address: 150 M W Del Parque Central La Fortuna | 1 block west from Central Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 03 - 4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Arenal Jireh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Arenal Jireh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Jireh Hotel
Hotel Arenal Jireh Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Jireh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.