We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Jireh

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arenal Jireh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arenal Jireh
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 M W Del Parque Central La Fortuna | 1 block west from Central Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 03 - 4417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it served our needs. We had a second floor room which was clean and it had a patio off of the room. The furnishings were dated and the beds a bit uncomfortable, but the room came with a working safe and a non-working mini fridge. The bathroom was nice and clean, but towels were hard to come by and there was a liquid soap dispenser in the shower that was for all purposes - hair, body, etc. There were 2 chairs and a table outside the front door so that you could sit and watch the bustle of the city. The patio off of the room was semi-private and accessed through a sliding glass door. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was adequate (we were allowed to make alterations to the standard fare). It's not the Hilton, but the price and location were great.

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms seemed to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here as part of a G adventure. We were supposed to be in double-occupancy rooms but they tried to get 4 women not travelling together in a room with only 3 beds and they thought that was normal/acceptable. It was clearly a double-room where they threw in 2 extra single beds so we could barely move around the room.
The room could have been cleaner, especially the bathroom.
Beds were comfortable enough.
The hotel did not show pride of ownership and you can do better for the price in the town.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Fresh flowers accenting the room accessories are only one of the nice things about this hotel. It is conveniently located, the staff is friendly and helpful, and their tour operator is topnotch. It's a nice place to stay, and we hope to be back.

Room Tip: Our third floor room gave us a good view of both the volcano and the downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan R, Gerente at Hotel Arenal Jireh, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay, we are making changes to give our guest an enjoyable stay, we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here when we booked a tour. This was the hotel that we got put up in. Clean room...... and yeah. If you are a light sleeper, don't sleep here. You can here EVERYTHING from down on the road. The hotel is situated on the corner of probably the busiest spot in La Fortuna. Staff are great, there is a tourist guide place in lobby. It served it's purpose, but wouldn't do more than a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in that hotel last week. I usually don’t consider that hotel during my visits in La Fortuna but this time I tried and i was pleased. It is a clean nice small hotel located in La Fortuna downtown. It has air-conditioning, cable TV, Wifi in the rooms, hot water, nice beds and even a little fridge and a balcony and not expensive. Good place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I knew Hotel Jireh sits right smack in the middle of the city so some traffic noise I was expecting. I actually thought for $40 the rooms were impressive in terms of the beds, the tv, having a safe and a bathroom. Agreed that it is pretty dated and is in need of an overhaul as the AC barely works... however I paid $40 a night. Moving on.

I too was shocked by the rooster problem that is here. Him and his friends were in full force very very very early in the morning. The road noise is loud and included a car alarm that some tourists failed to recognize belonged to them at 1 a.m. So between the ATVs, the rooster and the car alarm I'll admit I am tired. Tonight I plan to locate some earplugs and will hope for maybe a nap as well. La Fortuna is a precious town. you want peace and quiet.... go somewhere else but dont let the noise turn you away from enjoying the city

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We decided to stay here being a group of twenty people wanting to save some bucks. At $25 per person a night I guess u can't ask for much. Rooms are clean and decent. Matresses were uncomfortable and it gets kinda noisy at night. Good location though, about two blocks away u will find "soda la hormiga" where u will find good food and the restaurant next to the hotel lobby "ghecko" also has good food but pricier than the soda place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arenal Jireh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Jireh

Address: 150 M W Del Parque Central La Fortuna | 1 block west from Central Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 03 - 4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 64 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Arenal Jireh 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Arenal Jireh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Jireh Hotel
Hotel Arenal Jireh Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Jireh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.