We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low budget, but clean room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Jireh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Arenal Jireh to your Saves list
Hotel Arenal Jireh
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 M W Del Parque Central La Fortuna | 1 block west from Central Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 03 - 4417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“low budget, but clean room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here when we booked a tour. This was the hotel that we got put up in. Clean room...... and yeah. If you are a light sleeper, don't sleep here. You can here EVERYTHING from down on the road. The hotel is situated on the corner of probably the busiest spot in La Fortuna. Staff are great, there is a tourist guide place in lobby. It served it's purpose, but wouldn't do more than a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in that hotel last week. I usually don’t consider that hotel during my visits in La Fortuna but this time I tried and i was pleased. It is a clean nice small hotel located in La Fortuna downtown. It has air-conditioning, cable TV, Wifi in the rooms, hot water, nice beds and even a little fridge and a balcony and not expensive. Good place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I knew Hotel Jireh sits right smack in the middle of the city so some traffic noise I was expecting. I actually thought for $40 the rooms were impressive in terms of the beds, the tv, having a safe and a bathroom. Agreed that it is pretty dated and is in need of an overhaul as the AC barely works... however I paid $40 a night. Moving on.

I too was shocked by the rooster problem that is here. Him and his friends were in full force very very very early in the morning. The road noise is loud and included a car alarm that some tourists failed to recognize belonged to them at 1 a.m. So between the ATVs, the rooster and the car alarm I'll admit I am tired. Tonight I plan to locate some earplugs and will hope for maybe a nap as well. La Fortuna is a precious town. you want peace and quiet.... go somewhere else but dont let the noise turn you away from enjoying the city

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We decided to stay here being a group of twenty people wanting to save some bucks. At $25 per person a night I guess u can't ask for much. Rooms are clean and decent. Matresses were uncomfortable and it gets kinda noisy at night. Good location though, about two blocks away u will find "soda la hormiga" where u will find good food and the restaurant next to the hotel lobby "ghecko" also has good food but pricier than the soda place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here as part of our tour group that was travelling around Costa Rica.

This hotel had friendly front-desk staff, and was helpful in calling taxis and getting information we needed.

The room was clean but the beds were uncomfortable. The washroom was clean but never enough towels. They would take two but leave one clean one behind. The room had a television with cable, and rooms were equip with free wi-fi. Unfortunately the safe did not work. Good think we brought our own locks, etc. Our room had a refrigerator (but not all rooms have this feature).

The location was in the middle of this small city. Perfect for getting around. You are near 3 groceries store, so you can stock items in your room. Food in this town is not the cheapest as it is a tourist town, I strongly suggest using the grocery stores.

Overall this stay was average. Nothing really stood out for me, but also nothing extremely horrible happened either.

Keep in mind I went during off season.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

In the busy tourist village of La Fortuna, you will find many tourist activities. My Costa Rica national friends told me it is a very safe community. Withing viewing distance of the Volcano Arenal, the scenery is tropical and lush. There are many international tourists partaking in the fun activities like zip lines, rafting, biking, and just soaking in hot springs resorts. You would never expect to get robbed.

That is just what happened to us. Unfortunately, even in La Fortuna there are crack heads and thieves. Upon checking in to the Hotel Jireh at the center of activity in the town, we were pleased to find they had a safe in our room. Or friends were not as fortunate as the safe had been removed from their room.

As a safety precation they had asked to put their valuables inot our safe. With everything secured, we were off to the hot springs resort for a relaxing soak. The beautiful gardens and faux waterfalls hitting you with hot water and relaxing pools were just what we needed after the usual crazy drive through the countryside. Aside from getting a slight concussion in the high speed, insanely engineered, waterslide, the experience was a tourist's dream.

We returned to Hotel Jireh shortly after dark and decided in our relaxed, post hot tub manner to walk across the street to the Lava Lounge for a beer and dinner. Here is where it all went wrong. Since we feel we needed some credit cards and phones to catch up on texts and calls, we all removed our iPhones and I took my wallet.

We had a great dinner at the Lava Lounge, but upon returning to our room we had quickly realized we had been robbed. The door was open, the safe door had been broken open. There were passports, credit cards, and miscelanious items scattered about the bed. We took quick account of what appeared to be missing and found Mari's cash, credit card, Colorado Driver's License, jewelry and Costa Rican photo ID were gone. Tim had $700 in cash in an envelope inside a ziplock that contained a toothbrush and other toiletries in the safe. They did not find the money, or realize a toothbrush does not warrant being locked in a safe, so it was left on the bed with the passports. We're talking crackheads here folks, not Mission Impossible.

The next day we went to the Police station for a report. The tourist police were very helpful. They made reports including searching the watch, etc. on the internet. They said the hotel is responsible because we used their safe. The manager refused to even offer an extra night's stay. Then he told us to get out as he had rented our room.

If you go to Jireh, do not stay in room 7 or 10 as they are on the end which makes them great to case. You are being watched. The door jams also have permanent screwdriver marks in them from previous breakins. The manager told me he is the one using a screwdriver when tourists lokc in the key. If that is the case, why doesn't he crawl through the window over the shower as the lock for it has been permanently broken off. The other rooms on the second floor had less obvious marks on the door, so they get broken into less often. Since the safe was missing in room 9, I asume they moved it to room 7 so it could be broken again.

I think it is best to avoid Hotel Arenal Jireh. Even though it appears to be safe, they have been broken into several times according to the police. It is noisy, unfriendly, and obviously your safe is not safe. The security guard showed up an hour after the robbery. Coincidence?

If you go to La Fortuna as most tourists traveling to Costa Rica do at some time in their vacation, stay out of town at one of the cabana resorts where it is quiet and safe. I stayed at Roca Negra the next night. It is about 2 km west of town near the hot springs resort. www.rocanegrainn.com They have beautiful gardens, clean rooms, abundant wild birds and a flock of domestic chickens, ducks, geese, and peacocks that roam the grounds freely. Muy tranquilo!

Room Tip: Do not take room 7 or 10. You will be robbed. C
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

it was our first trip to Costa Rica, during the New Year, so we picked what was available.

The hotel is clean and cheap. Rooms are a bit dated, but everything worked.

Location is pretty good - center of the town La Fortuna, and we could see Arenal Volcano right from our bed.

Staff is OK, but not very fast.
Breakfast was basic "Tico Tipical". There was a sushi restaurant that looked great, on the 2nd floor. However, with so many other options steps away we never ended up in this restaurant.

Room Tip: third floor rooms have great views of volcano and La Fortuna downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arenal Jireh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Jireh

Address: 150 M W Del Parque Central La Fortuna | 1 block west from Central Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 03 - 4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Arenal Jireh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Arenal Jireh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Jireh Hotel
Hotel Arenal Jireh Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Jireh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.