We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe robbed and the management did not care” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Jireh

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arenal Jireh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arenal Jireh
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 M W Del Parque Central La Fortuna | 1 block west from Central Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 03 - 4417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Silverthorne, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Safe robbed and the management did not care”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

In the busy tourist village of La Fortuna, you will find many tourist activities. My Costa Rica national friends told me it is a very safe community. Withing viewing distance of the Volcano Arenal, the scenery is tropical and lush. There are many international tourists partaking in the fun activities like zip lines, rafting, biking, and just soaking in hot springs resorts. You would never expect to get robbed.

That is just what happened to us. Unfortunately, even in La Fortuna there are crack heads and thieves. Upon checking in to the Hotel Jireh at the center of activity in the town, we were pleased to find they had a safe in our room. Or friends were not as fortunate as the safe had been removed from their room.

As a safety precation they had asked to put their valuables inot our safe. With everything secured, we were off to the hot springs resort for a relaxing soak. The beautiful gardens and faux waterfalls hitting you with hot water and relaxing pools were just what we needed after the usual crazy drive through the countryside. Aside from getting a slight concussion in the high speed, insanely engineered, waterslide, the experience was a tourist's dream.

We returned to Hotel Jireh shortly after dark and decided in our relaxed, post hot tub manner to walk across the street to the Lava Lounge for a beer and dinner. Here is where it all went wrong. Since we feel we needed some credit cards and phones to catch up on texts and calls, we all removed our iPhones and I took my wallet.

We had a great dinner at the Lava Lounge, but upon returning to our room we had quickly realized we had been robbed. The door was open, the safe door had been broken open. There were passports, credit cards, and miscelanious items scattered about the bed. We took quick account of what appeared to be missing and found Mari's cash, credit card, Colorado Driver's License, jewelry and Costa Rican photo ID were gone. Tim had $700 in cash in an envelope inside a ziplock that contained a toothbrush and other toiletries in the safe. They did not find the money, or realize a toothbrush does not warrant being locked in a safe, so it was left on the bed with the passports. We're talking crackheads here folks, not Mission Impossible.

The next day we went to the Police station for a report. The tourist police were very helpful. They made reports including searching the watch, etc. on the internet. They said the hotel is responsible because we used their safe. The manager refused to even offer an extra night's stay. Then he told us to get out as he had rented our room.

If you go to Jireh, do not stay in room 7 or 10 as they are on the end which makes them great to case. You are being watched. The door jams also have permanent screwdriver marks in them from previous breakins. The manager told me he is the one using a screwdriver when tourists lokc in the key. If that is the case, why doesn't he crawl through the window over the shower as the lock for it has been permanently broken off. The other rooms on the second floor had less obvious marks on the door, so they get broken into less often. Since the safe was missing in room 9, I asume they moved it to room 7 so it could be broken again.

I think it is best to avoid Hotel Arenal Jireh. Even though it appears to be safe, they have been broken into several times according to the police. It is noisy, unfriendly, and obviously your safe is not safe. The security guard showed up an hour after the robbery. Coincidence?

If you go to La Fortuna as most tourists traveling to Costa Rica do at some time in their vacation, stay out of town at one of the cabana resorts where it is quiet and safe. I stayed at Roca Negra the next night. It is about 2 km west of town near the hot springs resort. www.rocanegrainn.com They have beautiful gardens, clean rooms, abundant wild birds and a flock of domestic chickens, ducks, geese, and peacocks that roam the grounds freely. Muy tranquilo!

Room Tip: Do not take room 7 or 10. You will be robbed. C
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

it was our first trip to Costa Rica, during the New Year, so we picked what was available.

The hotel is clean and cheap. Rooms are a bit dated, but everything worked.

Location is pretty good - center of the town La Fortuna, and we could see Arenal Volcano right from our bed.

Staff is OK, but not very fast.
Breakfast was basic "Tico Tipical". There was a sushi restaurant that looked great, on the 2nd floor. However, with so many other options steps away we never ended up in this restaurant.

Room Tip: third floor rooms have great views of volcano and La Fortuna downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for one night in one of the nice rooms on the top floor. While the room was OK and the view very nice, it was terribly loud at night. we heard everything from the adjacent room and from the street. The free Internet is unusable slow and the breakfast wasn't that good. The staff was really nice though.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Firstly I should point out that our expectations of hotel rooms is of course influenced by the price. This was a cheap hotel in the centre of La Fortuna, and so of course we did not expect 5* luxury. What we did expect was somewhere comfortable & clean to sleep, and hot water. The room we had was on the first floor opposite the unappealing swimming pool. This meant that we had only one window into the room, right next to the stairwell. As a result, we were unable to open our curtains for privacy reasons, and the room was in a constant state of darkness. The room itself felt grubby - perhaps a little more light would have helped this, but as it was it felt dirty and in need of a good clean. Sleep was also hard to come by - the room next to the stairwell meant we heard everyone coming & going, but far worse than this was the interminable cockerel who started his cock-a-doodle-dooing at about 4am and continued for about 3 hours. AGH!

Breakfast was additional to the room charge, and the cost was not prohibitive. However, we were not told that we needed to pre-book breakfast in advance so just be aware that you need to let them know the night before if you do want breakfast.

Overall this was not a great experience for us, and we certainly couldn't recommend the hotel. We stayed in lots of cheap hotels in Costa Rica, but this was the only one where we felt standards were below par.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockies
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

First, for the price, this hotel offers a ton of amenities, like AC, fridge, huge bathroom, cable, and swimming pool. Having said that, the basics were sub-par. The mattress was old, pillows were lumpy, and I had no hot water for a shower. The friendly front desk guy let me use another room's shower (that didn't have a shower door), but really?? My suggestion to make this a top notch stay, a little investment in plumbing, mattresses, and good pillows would make it a 5-star experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

Our hostels.com confirmed reservation wasn't "a confirmed reservation" even though I had put a deposit down online. They were full even though it was off season. An hour of sitting in the lobby trying to find other accommodations, the helpful receptionist said she moved some incoming guests around so we could check in to the "hostel room". A large room on the 3rd floor with 5 beds and some rolling trundle beds. The room was clean and big. The room, however, had 2 glass doors which was the only downside for lack of privacy. I'm hoping hostels.com will refund my deposit since it didn't secure my reservation. Oh & The lava lounge is right across the street which makes lots of noise until 11-12 at night. I heard the rooster mentioned in other entries but it was never loud enough to wake me up on it's own. Cock-a-doodle-do!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

there are plenty of hotels en San Carlos, each to suit your budget and your needs.
i was working downtown and needed something close-by, clean and decently priced.
i got there around 7pm after i finished working. was greeted by the lovely Arlin who asked if i was traveling alone and for how long i was staying, she mentioned the complimentary breakfast and reminded me that since being too close to the street and to a bar, there would be some noise.
she took me to my room on the 2nd floor and i found a lovely little bedroom that suited my needs to perfection. it had a queen bed with adorably folded towels, a sofa, tv, coffee maker and dresser. inside the bathroom was spacious, it had a safe deposit box and hot water.
all i wanted to do was sleep since i had an early morning. the noise wasn't as loud as you'd expect in SJ for a thursday night, i was able to sleep anyways.
the next morning i was greeted by 2 breakfast options: gallo pinto and eggs, or fruit and toast, both accompanied by coffee or a fruit drink: i had the fruit and toast.
i'm not a picky traveler, most of my travels across CR are work related, i've had to stay in crappy places so i'm happy when the room is clean, the bathroom spacious and the water is hot.
i really cannot complain, and if i ever have to work at La Fortuna again, this is where i'm staying.
Dra, Pessoa Acosta

Room Tip: 2nd floor worked fine for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Arenal Jireh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Jireh

Address: 150 M W Del Parque Central La Fortuna | 1 block west from Central Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 03 - 4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Arenal Jireh 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Arenal Jireh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Jireh Hotel
Hotel Arenal Jireh Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Jireh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.