We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view but very loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Jireh

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arenal Jireh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arenal Jireh
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 M W Del Parque Central La Fortuna | 1 block west from Central Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 03 - 4417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice view but very loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for one night in one of the nice rooms on the top floor. While the room was OK and the view very nice, it was terribly loud at night. we heard everything from the adjacent room and from the street. The free Internet is unusable slow and the breakfast wasn't that good. The staff was really nice though.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Firstly I should point out that our expectations of hotel rooms is of course influenced by the price. This was a cheap hotel in the centre of La Fortuna, and so of course we did not expect 5* luxury. What we did expect was somewhere comfortable & clean to sleep, and hot water. The room we had was on the first floor opposite the unappealing swimming pool. This meant that we had only one window into the room, right next to the stairwell. As a result, we were unable to open our curtains for privacy reasons, and the room was in a constant state of darkness. The room itself felt grubby - perhaps a little more light would have helped this, but as it was it felt dirty and in need of a good clean. Sleep was also hard to come by - the room next to the stairwell meant we heard everyone coming & going, but far worse than this was the interminable cockerel who started his cock-a-doodle-dooing at about 4am and continued for about 3 hours. AGH!

Breakfast was additional to the room charge, and the cost was not prohibitive. However, we were not told that we needed to pre-book breakfast in advance so just be aware that you need to let them know the night before if you do want breakfast.

Overall this was not a great experience for us, and we certainly couldn't recommend the hotel. We stayed in lots of cheap hotels in Costa Rica, but this was the only one where we felt standards were below par.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockies
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

First, for the price, this hotel offers a ton of amenities, like AC, fridge, huge bathroom, cable, and swimming pool. Having said that, the basics were sub-par. The mattress was old, pillows were lumpy, and I had no hot water for a shower. The friendly front desk guy let me use another room's shower (that didn't have a shower door), but really?? My suggestion to make this a top notch stay, a little investment in plumbing, mattresses, and good pillows would make it a 5-star experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

Our hostels.com confirmed reservation wasn't "a confirmed reservation" even though I had put a deposit down online. They were full even though it was off season. An hour of sitting in the lobby trying to find other accommodations, the helpful receptionist said she moved some incoming guests around so we could check in to the "hostel room". A large room on the 3rd floor with 5 beds and some rolling trundle beds. The room was clean and big. The room, however, had 2 glass doors which was the only downside for lack of privacy. I'm hoping hostels.com will refund my deposit since it didn't secure my reservation. Oh & The lava lounge is right across the street which makes lots of noise until 11-12 at night. I heard the rooster mentioned in other entries but it was never loud enough to wake me up on it's own. Cock-a-doodle-do!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

there are plenty of hotels en San Carlos, each to suit your budget and your needs.
i was working downtown and needed something close-by, clean and decently priced.
i got there around 7pm after i finished working. was greeted by the lovely Arlin who asked if i was traveling alone and for how long i was staying, she mentioned the complimentary breakfast and reminded me that since being too close to the street and to a bar, there would be some noise.
she took me to my room on the 2nd floor and i found a lovely little bedroom that suited my needs to perfection. it had a queen bed with adorably folded towels, a sofa, tv, coffee maker and dresser. inside the bathroom was spacious, it had a safe deposit box and hot water.
all i wanted to do was sleep since i had an early morning. the noise wasn't as loud as you'd expect in SJ for a thursday night, i was able to sleep anyways.
the next morning i was greeted by 2 breakfast options: gallo pinto and eggs, or fruit and toast, both accompanied by coffee or a fruit drink: i had the fruit and toast.
i'm not a picky traveler, most of my travels across CR are work related, i've had to stay in crappy places so i'm happy when the room is clean, the bathroom spacious and the water is hot.
i really cannot complain, and if i ever have to work at La Fortuna again, this is where i'm staying.
Dra, Pessoa Acosta

Room Tip: 2nd floor worked fine for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This hotel is located on the corner of two major roads so the noise of boy racers, quad bikes and general traffic goes straight through the walls, meaning no sleep till the town settles down at about 24h00 odd. The rooster mentioned in previous comments is still very much alive and eager to make sure that you don't get much sleep.
The rest of the hotel is very nice, shower is good, coffee machine is nice, beds are comfortable. Just a shame about the noise

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I stayed there with my girlfriend in August of 2010 while on a trip through Costa Rica. It was one of the worst experiences I've ever had in a hotel. After going to sleep at around midnight, we were woken up by a rooster cuckledoodledo-ing at 4am. This lasted until 7 or 8. It was extremely loud and made it impossible to get back to sleep. What is the point of a hotel if you can't sleep through the night. Other than that, the hotel is quite unattractive but is decent enough for the price. The pool is dirty and looked extremely unappealing. Same with the hot tub. The free internet was nice. But we got so little sleep that I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Arenal Jireh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Jireh

Address: 150 M W Del Parque Central La Fortuna | 1 block west from Central Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 03 - 4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Arenal Jireh 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Arenal Jireh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Jireh Hotel
Hotel Arenal Jireh Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Jireh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.