We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bungalows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas Vilma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villas Vilma to your Saves list
Hotel Villas Vilma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2km oeste del centro de La Fortuna, San Carlos | carretera al Volcán Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Bungalows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Villa Vilmas is a cute little bungalow style dwelling. Each bungalow has a fridge and a coffee maker (but make sure you ask for the coffee from reception). We were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful gardens and loved sitting on the patio enjoying the rain. (It rained everyday while we were there and while still beautiful, it took a little while to get to sleep with hearing the rain on the tin roof). We also used the jacuzzi, although not really hot, it was relaxing to sit and unwind from the hiking of the day. The bathroom was nothing exceptional, but overall clean and simple. The reception was very helpful answering all our questions about the area and the best things to do. They offered to book us any tours we would like to do and called us a taxi on numerous occasions to get anywhere around town. About 5 minutes away from Baldi hot springs, which the reception highly recommended and sold tickets for at a reasonable price. I would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone who wants a small quiet atmosphere at a reasonable price and would definitely stay here personally again if we make it back to this area for any travels.

Room Tip: Each bungalow has 2 individual, completely separate rooms, just share one wall, but we never heard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I just want to share my beautiful experience with Villa Vilma such a wonderful place to stay with an astonished view and garden! I spent every morning listenening the bird singing on my balcony and getting goose bump just by looking the view and the garden! I saw more bird in this garden that at the park in Costa rica! The owner are so kind and sweet and if you have been travelling for a while ther ethey are close to a laundry so you can do your laundry and do shopping at the market.
It was one of my favorite place in Costa rica
I will definitley come back because the value of the place was great! I did book a tour with them about a park close to Nicaragua but waist of time and money so dont book it but overwise great ,great ,great..
Tres belle endroit et propietaire tres sympa ,la vue et le jardin est fabuleux ..Un bonheur d etre rester dans ce petit paradis.Ecouter les oiseaux et admirer la vue .Un vrai bonheur

Room Tip: book the room at the end not close to the road can be noisy in morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

bright & cherry bungalows,very clean,comfortable.the grounds are very pretty with their gardens and pool,(with large jacuzzi) It was nice to be able to sit outside your room on the covered patio and look at the view of arenal volcanoe, Happened to be a cloudless morning so was able to see the top of the volcanoe---AMAZING! The young man (filan) at the desk was very helpful, I happened to fall in love with one of the dogs that ran around on the property,, would stay here again, also a lovely cafe down the street connected to an italian looking restaurant with beautiful hanging vines on it. Cool town, lot's to do.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night with our family of four. The cabins are picturesque and the grounds are very well manicured. There is a nice pool and jacuzzi. The hotel provides pool towels for $2 a piece which I think is overly priced. Pool towels should be included The room had a full size bed and two twin beds. The shower was spacious and the water was warm. There was soap but not shampoo and conditioner provided. There was no hair dryer. The bathroom did have a not very pleasant smell but we assume is sulfur. We are at the foot of the volcano. The room has a nice porch with a view of the volcano. There is a comfortable set of chairs and coffee table on the porch. Our family enjoyed sitting there to chat and enjoy the view. The room has a refrigerator and a long counter with a sink. We did have to go back to the reception to get the right amount of towels and the remote for the air condition. The mattresses are not necessarily high quality and the pillows are old and lumpy. I think the lighting of the room could be improved. It is good during the day because of the two big windows, but it's rather dim at night. However, this was a wonderful place to stay and the price was right for a low budget. We paid $75 total which is rare in this town. It is a touristy place and everything is overly priced. The hotel is close to downtown if you have a car. Activities are arranged at the reception for you if desired. They have a wide range of activities to offer. They are all about $80 per person. Overall it is an excellent place of you are just looking for a nice place to spend a day by the Arenal Volcano.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanVillegas, Director Comercial at Hotel Villas Vilma, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your comment!
Unfortunately there was a misunderstanding about the situation with the towels, we are very sorry about it, we don´t make any charge for the towels or any service besides the room rate and breakfast.
We would like to get in contact with you in order to eventually make a return for any extra charge you paid.
Your comment is very important for us! thank you for staying at Villas Vilma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is my second stay in less than four months and this stay was even nicer than the first. The buildings have been repainted a pallet of brilliant colors, with up grades to the TV's lights. Still a very good place to stay when in La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Rooms 69 & 70 have the best view of the volcano and are farthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights, December 29-January 1. The grounds are gorgeous. The room is simple and the bed wasn't the best but you really can't beat the value. The breakfast coupon they offered for the place across the street was also a great deal. Very good breakfast and a generous portion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I booked this room at the last minute for new year's eve and was surprised by the good price ($60). I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The place is beautiful with tropical gardens, huge pool and jacuzzi, and cute bungalows facing the volcano. The rooms are big and clean with two double beds. The bathroom has a spacious shower, towels, soap.

The hotel is very small and not service-oriented but I don't mean this in a bad way. It is a place to stay - a good one and a nice one, but don't expect a concierge service to be available for you.

The location is good too, in between the town of Fortuna and the hot springs and volcano. Would recommend for a short stay for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villas Vilma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Vilma

Address: 2km oeste del centro de La Fortuna, San Carlos | carretera al Volcán Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Vilma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villas Vilma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Vilma Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villas Vilma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.