We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas Vilma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villas Vilma to your Saves list
Hotel Villas Vilma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2km oeste del centro de La Fortuna, San Carlos | carretera al Volcán Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Real nice help,very well kept landscape. Nice size rooms,great shower,great bed. Very large refrigerator. Real nice pool and spa. The breakfast which is extra ($6.00) was very good. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back don't get any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanVillegas, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villas Vilma, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment, we hope your visit in Costa Rica was really memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    55
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
48
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very nice place to stay - rooms are very comfortable with fan and air con, there are nice pools and a lovely garden with fantastic flowers from which to enjoy the volcano view, highlight is the best gallo pinto breakfast ever, served in the form of a volcano!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanVillegas, Director Comercial at Hotel Villas Vilma, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
From all of our staff thank you so much for you comment, fortunly the Volcano has been very visible lately so you were able to enjoy it, we are very happy for that, we wish you the best and thank for visiting Costa Rica and Hotel Villas Vilma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a nice comfortable hotel with small house-like rooms with good space and kitchen. Our kids were happy because there was a great pool, which I think they liked more than other activities in Arenal. Restaurants are close by and the owners, Lisa and her husband, were very helpful. You get a a lot of value here for the price compared to some of the swankier over-priced resorts. And of course there is a great view of the Volcano.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanVillegas, Director de Mercadeo at Hotel Villas Vilma, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Mr Scott
let us thank you so much for your comment, we hope your visit to Costa Rica was memorable, and your trip back home was nice.
Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Friends had referred us here and it was very nice. Great price, clean room and well maintained property. Free internet, friendly staff. We didn't use the pool because it was raining, but it looked very nice. Located about 1 mile outside of downtown La Fortuna (we enjoyed the walk).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanVillegas, Director de Mercadeo at Hotel Villas Vilma, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
At Hotel Villas Vilma we work really hard to make our guest´s stay the best posible, so we are vey glad to know that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We drove from San Juan and arrived here about 3 and a half hours later. It's not difficult to find but you must go past the biggish restaurants (La Choza de Laurel) and past the supermarket on the left and it is just around the corner on the right. The sign does come up suddenly so you need to keep an eye out. The hotel is a series of double cabins. I think they have 5 buildings and each building has two rooms (I think). You'll enter the grounds and see the reception on the right. The lady there, Lisa was so friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful with a profusion of colours.

The room was pleasant with two double beds, not that spacious, but sufficient. Bathroom is ok. Big shower. I noticed the humidity and did turn the air conditoning on. We paid in cash USD70 for the room for one night. I liked the friendliness of the people. There is wifi though it was not a very strong reception in the rooms.

They have iron bars on part of the window and the tv is in a grilled cage. I've never seen that before in all my travels (the caged tv). TV was fine with a few channels in English and mostly in Spanish if that matters.

They do not provide breakfast there but at the next hotel, literally next door called the black rock (La Roca Negra). The price is $6, you can pay at Villas Vilma. The breakfast is very basic, coffee, tea or hot chocolate or milk for kids. Rice and beans, eggs, toast, jam. The grounds of La Roca Negra are just as lovely as that of Villa Vilma and their pools look as if they were designed or built by the same people.The pool and jacuzzi of Villa Vilma is larger than that of Roca Negra.

Within walking distance, across the street though do watch out for traffic is a very small building comprising of three restaurants if I recall. We opted to eat in town despite the long drive we just had because the menu at the restaurants across from Villa Vilma was very basic and comprised mainly of sandwiches and fast food type cuisine, hamburger, chicken tenders etc.

We only spent a night here and I think it was enough. I believe people come here for the volcano and unfortunately with the rain and the weather, it was covered the entire day and half we were in the area. We did do zip lining with one company and enjoyed the hot springs on the grounds of the resort where we did the zip lining. After my experiences in Costa Rica, I'd say that Monteverde was probably the best place for us. I think there is a lot you can do in Arenal area as we saw a lot of ads for various activities. But for us, one day was a good intro and the ziplining with the company we did (which I will review) was a good intro for the more spectacular one in Monteverde (the longest zipline in central america).

With breakfast and room, our bill came to $94. There was no one in the room next to us so it was very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanVillegas, Director de Mercadeo at Hotel Villas Vilma, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks again for sataying at Hotel Villas Vilma, we appreciate very much your comment, unfortunly there was not a nice weather by that date, even so we hope you had a good time, Lisa says thanks, it would be a honor to host you again, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very clean and well-appointed rooms. Plenty of space to move around. Very nice pool. Lots of foliage growing throughout the property. Good value for the price. The only drawback is that the hotel is further from the main action, but only a 5 minute walk from shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanVillegas, Gerente de Mercadeo at Hotel Villas Vilma, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you again for selecting our hotel, your satisafaction is the most important for us, we would be happy to have you again!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Hotel is a bit outside of the main action, so it quiet and the place is well maintained. The room was clean and comfortable. For the price, it was perfect. They have a beautiful pool and a jacuzzy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villas Vilma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Vilma

Address: 2km oeste del centro de La Fortuna, San Carlos | carretera al Volcán Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Vilma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villas Vilma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Vilma Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villas Vilma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.