We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Backpackers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arenal Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Arenal Backpackers Resort
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Omaha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Safe and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed at Backpacker's for 3 nights and had a great experience. There were four young women traveling together and we felt completely safe the whole time. The people at the front desk have to buzz you in, as the whole property is fenced in. The rooms were clean, as well as the bathrooms. The location was perfect, because you were within 5 minutes walking distance to most restaurants in town. We enjoyed the pool as well.
LIKED BEST
friendly and helpful staff and $2 breakfast
LIKED LEAST
I can't really think of anything. Although the price is pretty steep for a hostel, but it is also much nice than most hostels

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    123
    61
    36
    31
See reviews for
8
104
82
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

very posh... swimming pool, bar, food, free net, organised tours... if your looking for a typical backpack experience dont bother but if your looking to treat your self get involved... oh and go to the bar behind the place... local only i reckon but a good crack! got my shirt stolen which wasnt so good!?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of my trip. It is pretty and clean and a nice retreat! No kitchen, but they do have a decent restaurant. It's a bit of a party place, not so quiet, but lots of fun. The grounds are spectacular! Only issue is that I asked for toilet paper 4 times and never got any in our room at all. Our bathroom door then proceeded to lock us all out and we all had to use the bathroom outside, making for a noisy dorm! Otherwise had a blast here, and the travel assistance goes above and beyond!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crchango
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

as it was the only hotel / backpacker which doesn't accept reservations via e-mail with a credit card (only cash payments in an partner backpacker in San José is accepted), we were told that only from the following night there would be a private room for us (first night was only a bed in a big room), as we asked to hold it for a minute, so that we could discuss it, he just gave it to the next people waiting in line. What we saw though was really not what we expected, after one night we changed the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

great base location for all the activties!


highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

I spent two days in the Arenal Backpacker's Resort. This backpacker is a really good choice to stay there as long as you don't want to cook on your own, because they don't have a communal kitchen as others do. But they have a restaurant included, which has a good value for your money. The resort is new, clean and very safe, the swimming pool is really top. Its location is a 5 minute walk slightly uphill from the center which can easily been made fully back packed. The staff is good and always present, but could be friendlier. Don't book your activities in the hostel as you really get the same at the town center in other tour agencies 10%-20% cheaper. E.g. a transfer to Monte Verde is 22$ at the hostel and 18$ in town. Overall, it is a really good choice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

If you book via Internet you have to check in before 4 pm, otherwise pray that there will still be rooms available! That's our story! Even if we paid a 7$ deposit via hostels.com , the Arenal Backpackers resort cancelled our reservation since we arrived at 4h20!

Conclusion: it is better to book on the phone with them, because you can arrive at any time you wish. Apart from their very unprofessionnal booking system, this hostel is awesome with a nice and clean swimming pool, palm trees, clean rooms and bathrooms. But be careful about the tours they are trying to sell you overthere, there are pricier than those you can book through tour operators in town.

  • Liked — swimming pool
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Backpackers Resort

Address: 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 59 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Arenal Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Backpackers Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.