We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Unique Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Backpackers Resort

Save Saved
You added Arenal Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arenal Backpackers Resort
350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Unique Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hostel was a fantastic place to stay in La Fortuna. We stayed in one of the double tents and it was such a unique experience, but you need to watch out for all the Mosquitos! They are everywhere! The hostel is close to town, offers a pool, tight rope, tour information, and a little cafe that is over-priced. I would skip the cafe and go into town. The only downside is the hostel claims quiet hours began a 10, but the music from the lobby was going well past midnight. We had come to La Fortuna to hike the volcano and white water raft, so we had early mornings. Just be where that the hostel is very loud.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    103
    43
    27
    27
See reviews for
6
84
68
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is incredibly affordable for the amenities they provide! Very helpful staff, and a fun social atmosphere in the main "hang out" area by the pool. The location is right down the road from the Cerro chato trailhead and Catarata de la fortuna waterfall! All the famous hot springs are about a $10 cab ride down the road. They have private rooms as well as tents (and the tents looked fairly cozy!) This was by far the best hostel we stayed in on our month long your of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed staying here in the 8 bed dorm, the room and bathroom were very clean, hot showers and the ac was turned on each night (although you didn't really need it). The downside with our dorm (rm 3) was that the lockers were in the bathroom so you couldn't get into them if someone was in the bathroom, however this is not an issue in all rooms. The pool was great and has a slack line over it, there is also a trampoline and outdoor gym. The drinks and food are a bit expensive and unfortunately as there is no public kitchen you cannot cook your own meals. If you're on a budget I suggest eating in town, there are some cheap places on the side streets and a supermarket.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The site is very nice and clean! We loved that place! The tent room are cheap and cool and they are not too hot. the pool is big and beautiful. it is not far from the down town. It's a good place to make new friend and party all night !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay in La Fortuna! While there are quite cheap dorm beds for backpackers, you can also take one of the more expensive private rooms which are very comfortable with A/C and even a TV. If you want your own place but still want to keep the budget small, there are tents available for rent as well. No matter in which kind of accomodation you stay, you can always use all the facilities including the swimming pool that has a slackline across it. There is also a restaurant with a bar, a trampoline and a really nice common area to meet people. The only thing that we were disappointed about was the announced internet room that was only one computer at the information desk that was even broken when we were there....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When my partner and I arrived we booked into a standard private double for 2-nights. After a long day of travelling I headed straight to the shower only to find that there was no hot water. Upon enquiring at reception the member of staff said 'didn't they tell you that when you checked in?' No they hadn't. The staff were reluctant to sort the problem out and frankly rude to my partner refusing at first to give us a refund so that we could find somewhere else to stay. Eventually they did give a refund and we moved on finding a much better hotel with spotless rooms and friendly staff costing the same amount of money.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travelled as a group of friends, and after planning on visiting Arenal/La Fortuna, looked on booking.com and saw that they had every type of accomodation available, and we chose to stay in a 4 bed tent for the novelty factor (have stayed in tents like this before and thought it was great). Though it was quite expensive it seemed like one of the best options (how wrong we were).

When we arrived we were told our reservation did not exist. Instead of apologising for this mishap, or trying to resolve the issue by offering us the same price for a different type of room or even dorm bed for the same, we were just told that this happens all the time when people reserve online. No apology. We were asked if we wanted to see the manager, so we said yes, just to make sure that they were aware of the booking problem and to advise they sort it out (myself and my husband have been working at hostels in CR for over a year). The incredibly rude reception guy took a while to fetch said manager, and when they came back we realised we weren't going to get anywhere as he approached with "let me tell you how it is" then continuing to rant about how this problem happens all the time and that was that. Again, no apology. When we tried to explain we no longer wanted to stay there, just that they should try and sort out their customer service skills, we were talked over again with "well what do you want then".

Absolutely unbelievable. I'm glad we had this experience as we found a lovely place elsewhere for a great rate with a CLEAN pool and amazing breakfast included (Luigi's). I would advise anyone who wants a pleasant experience with nice staff to stay well away from here, they are obviously full of themselves and for no apparent reason.

Room Tip: The tents were not what I was expecting, they were small and very close to the road and common area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Backpackers Resort

Address: 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Backpackers Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.