We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe too luxurious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Backpackers Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arenal Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Arenal Backpackers Resort
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maybe too luxurious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Not your usual hostel. could of course use lower prices and a kitchen as well as more backpackers friendly features, so if you are a real backpacker, this is not for you. But if you're tired of cheap, dirty hostel with no warm water, it's nice for a change. The pool and garden are amazing and make for great evenings with new friends.
The hotel offers tours at the lowest price in town and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    137
    70
    43
    37
See reviews for
9
121
92
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I really enjoyed my three-night stay at this hostel with a friend. The hostel looks quite like a resort (although not from the front entrance so do not worry when you first enter!) and there are many luxuries for a hostel such as a swimming pool (with a tight-rope which provided hours of fun and frustration!) and air-conditioning in the rooms. The food is also very tasty.

My only complaint would be that the staff were not exactly too interested in or enthusiastic about giving information (especially relating to people doing their own independent tours rather than paying for one of the expensive tours organised by the hostel!). Also, one night we asked one of the guys at reception for an affordable place to eat and he recommended eating appetizers at a particular restaurant and while the appetizers look reasonably affordable, this would not be enough for me so when we sat down in the restaurant, we realised it was extremely expensive so we decided to leave and found plenty of other restaurants which were a lot cheaper. I just felt it was a very bad recommendation for an affordable restaurant, especially considering they are working in a hostel so should be used to travellers on a budget.

Overall, a very nice place to stay and a great place to meet new people because of the common area and swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shediac, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had reserved 3 beds in the female dorms and they arranged transportation from the airport. Our flight was delighted but the guy that drove the shuttle waited for us for about 3 hours. We arrived there and they over booked so we got a private room for the same price as a dorm! There was AC and a tv (that we never used) in our room. The hostel is very clean. Our last night, we had to stay in the tents but that was a very cool experience. The hostel have a lot of activities at night. They have a pool with a swimup bar, a trampoline, a volley ball net, a slackline and a bunch of hammocks. They have a restaurant and the food is very good but kinda expensive. They staff was very helpful and played some good music. The hostel is at a good location in town. We had a lot of fun there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

From the moment you walk in, this place will floor you by looking like a resort hotel instead of a hostel. There is a large, well-kept pool with lounge chairs, hammocks in the garden, outdoor monkey bars, pullup bars if you want a quick workout and a trampoline.

As other reviews mention, the dorm rooms are lacking in power outlets. It's nice that the 8-bed dorms have an ensuite, and the shared bathrooms are nearby (and clean!) if the ensuite is busy. However, I also experienced the problem with the door key not working and my roommates would just leave the main window open and use that instead.

Freddy at the front desk deserves special mention as he was super helpful, always willing to fill water bottles and answer questions. I priced out tours and found that they weren't cheaper in town and often more expensive!

The location is a short walk outside of downtown La Fortuna, although it can seem longer in a sudden downpour. (Care to guess how I know this? :)) Oddly, you can use your credit card for purchasing food and drinks from the bar/restaurant as well as for tours, but you cannot use it for your room. That small gripe aside, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

First of all, do not go there if you are not white, and do not like parties. There were some issues with this hostel 1) The door key for dorm #1 didn't work. People used a big window to get in and get out from the dorm. 2) The wifi was almost non-existent. 3) They always lock the main gate. You need to press a door bell whenever you come in and go out. i had to press the button for 2-3times, whenever i needed to come in and go out. The staff told me 'you are uneducated and have a mental problem because i press the button 2-3 times'.
i booked 1 night for a dorm, and 1 night for a tent. The staff asked me to put my bags beside of a swimming pool. When i came back from my trip, i found that all my bags socked the water from the pool. The staff didn't care it at all. i made complains saying you need to care of my bag, my bag is all wet and stuff inside i want to have a free laundry service. You can't believe what the staff said 'you uneducated chicken china' 'you undedcuated so pressed the door bell so loud' 'i didn't work at that time so it is not my responsibility'. i asked him to give me the information of manager and refund. i didn't have any reason to stay after get blamed with such a racists comment. He said 'you come back tomorrow morning. i don't give you refund. you have mental problem'. There was no way but staying in the hostel for a night. i hope everything goes well. Unless you make complaints, they are fine. but never expect 'service' and 'refund', no matter what happen. if you are not white, you will experience 'racism'

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody Creek, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Arenal Backpackers is a superb hostel (if you can even call it that!). The food at the hostel was a little pricey, but AMAZING! We especially loved the breakfast burrito. The staff was very helpful and we felt super safe. The area is gated (the front desk buzzes you in & out through a locked gate) and everyone staying at the hostel has to wear a wrist band to show they are a guest. We spent another 10 days in Costa Rica after our first two nights in Arenal, and this was by far the best accommodations we stayed in during our entire trip. We ended up splurging for a private room which included AC, super comfortable beds, fresh & super clean sheets, a gigantic flatscreen (didn't use that much) and a hot shower.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hostel is really awesome. The pool and trampoline are great, there's a lot of areas to hang out. The tents looked awesome but we stayed in a dorm. The dorm was clean and nice. The lockers were pretty tiny and there are no sockets by the bedss, only next to the lockers. Hot water in the shower, overall good. The food was great at the restaurant and all the staff were really nice, even filled up our big bottles of water daily as we couldn't fit them under the tap in our bathroom. The tours here are really overpriced, book down the road. The WiFi was terrible, you couldn't connect most days and when you managed, it would disconnect you randomly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#27 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Arenal Green
Hotel Arenal Green
#17 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Backpackers Resort

Address: 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 62 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Arenal Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Backpackers Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.