We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Backpackers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arenal Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Arenal Backpackers Resort
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have stayed at many hostels all over the world and this one is at the top of my list. It didn't even feel like a hostel. They have a large pool with a slack line across it. A fitness area and hammocks can be found around the hostel itself. There is even a restaurant/bar on site. The location is also great. Very close to the springs and volcano. Great place to stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    121
    61
    36
    31
See reviews for
8
104
82
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Fantastic swimming pool, great place to meet people if travelling on your own, very clean and good food (just a shame you have to pay extra for it). Would definately recommend. More like a hotel than a hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here with my wife Maria for 2 nights in a private double room. Very clean well presented room with A/C, lovely pool, volleyball and basketball available. Great value, helpful staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Really enjoyed our stay here! Would also recommend the breakfast burritios - but only if you are very hungry as these are quite large!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Comfortable beds, airconditioned, rooms, clean surroundings, swimming pools hammocks and a view of the volcano for $15/night is very awesome. Stayed in the dormitory for 2 nights. Been around Costa Rica for 2 weeks and I had the best sleep in this hostel, although for others the loud music at night is not good. I just wish they have a kitchen for those who want to cook their own food since I noticed that almost everything in that area is overpriced. There is one guy though in the front desk that is not that friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Affordable price, clean room with air conditioning and spacious bathroom. Small restaurant outdoor preppy and inexpensive; everything is there! At the heart of La Fortuna which facilitates visits; less than 15 minutes drive from the volcano and Baldi hot springs pools which, incidentally are beautiful. I would stay there again for a first in backpakers!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I spent 5 nights at this hostel. It was very nice, the pool was a plus and the staff were more or less welcoming. The rooms were very clean however, the lockers were in the washroom, which were annoying to get to. Additionally, the A/C turned on automatically at night and the rooms were freezing cold- I wore a sweater and sweatpants. As well, we are backpacking and can't afford to eat out every night, yet there was no kitchen, so that was a bummer. In all, if you're looking for a nice place and willing to eat out all the time, I recommend it- but if you're backpacking for a longer period of time, better to find a place with a kitchen.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Even though this place does look like a five star hostel, it'll have to work on some things. The pool and the common areas are really nice, and the rooms are clean.
But, there is a number of things that should not happen in a place that gives itself five stars:
- the staff is very unfriendly, looks annoyed if you ask them something and cannot be called helpful
-they have two intervals during the day for hot showers. The second one is supposed to end at 11 pm. However, both nights I stayed there Itried to take a shower around 9.30 pm, and not only there wasn't hot water, there was no water at all in the shower! The sink and toilet had water.
- the dorm had an AC unit, which turned on at 10 pm and turned off at 10 am, automatically, we could not control it.
- I left a swimsuit, a pair of shorts and a T shirt outside the room, on the balcony, to dry. In the morning, when I left the hostel, it was all there. When I came back, several hours later, all the things but the T shirt were moved to the bathroom. When I asked the front desk guy about it, he suggested I look again in the room, or at the back, where they had the clothes line. After checking the room again, and the back, and not finding it, I went back to him, and his only response was that he'll let me know if it turns up somewhere. Very unprofessional.
- the dorm was stuffy during the day, and the only way to get some air in is to open the French door- style windows, which means anyone can just walk into the room from the hallway.

All in all, I am sure there are tons of better (and cheaper) options in La Fortuna, you don't need to put up with rude staff and worry if someone will steal your things while you're not there.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Backpackers Resort

Address: 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 59 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Arenal Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Backpackers Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.