We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't take the tents unless you're an everywhere sleeper” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Backpackers Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arenal Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Arenal Backpackers Resort
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't take the tents unless you're an everywhere sleeper”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We took a tent for a couple of nights in this "resort". The only thing private about it is the view... the tents are too close to each other so you hear everything in the other tents or what is going on at the bar. There are rules however that it should be silent from 10pm to 8am. This is hardly obeyed though and even the staff doesn't care. Staff will start at 6 in the morning with cleaning and in the evening staff will not turn down the music until 11pm?! Next to this it is besides a busy road and the cars of the Tico's make a lot of noise, the more the better. Bed sheets are with (blood)stains but are "clean", showers are always stone cold. I wouldn't recommend it here unless you are a teenager and get drunk in bed every night and sleep like a rock. Pay either more for a private room or find even cheaper places to sleep in the area.

Room Tip: Book at another place or if really desperate, book a private room, not a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    131
    63
    41
    34
See reviews for
8
114
86
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great hostel with 15$ dorm beds. Rooms itself are not that special with 8 cramped beds and an attached bathroom. Rooms have AC but this can only be controlled by the staff.

Pool is nice and the place is real clean. No kitchen or fridge present abd hostel reataurant (although having great food) is a bit expensive.
Staff is helpfull but should turn on the music a bit later (not 7 am) and turn it down a bit during the evening.
Hostel is on the edge if town but as the town is not that special this isnt really a problem.

Recommended stay but keep in mind that there are also good alternatives only charging $6 a night (gringo pete for example)

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Slept in one of the tents. Internal parking area is secure, didn't have any problem with the car. Management allows you take beers/alcohol from outside if you don't want to buy them at the bar. Staff is really helpful.
Breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A perfectly unique combination of a hostel and resort. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Lots of choices from affordable dorms to tents to private rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location and very safe and secure. Even has private secure parking. Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I dont typically stay in hostels, got a good deal on a private room for two. Beer was cheep, pool area nice, and the premises & parking area secure.
Only downside is the AC unit in the room dripped water everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Its a beautiful hostel with a nice pool, great and clean rooms with very good matrices, private bathrooms and a inviting hang out area with bar and restaurant. The happy hour makes it easy to get to know people, especially if you travel alone. If you have questions or want to book a tour, the staff at the front desk is great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfa, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is the nicest hostel I have ever stayed at. It felt more like a hotel. The rooms were clean, had AC & hot water, their own bathrooms, and large lockers. . I saw staff cleaning almost all day long. I think I saw the same tiled walkway get mopped three times in one day.
The pool & rancho were great places to meet people. Happy hour is awesome, a lot cheaper than getting drinks in town. The staff is very helpful, I planned all my tours in La Fortuna and some in Monteverde with the front desk. I also felt very safe here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#13 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#30 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#13 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Backpackers Resort

Address: 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 61 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Arenal Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Backpackers Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.