We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Backpackers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Arenal Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Arenal Backpackers Resort
350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hostel is really nice and clean. We stayed in an 8 person dorm and had no issues, other than the fact that nothing would dry! This was a problem that everyone seemed to have in this town! It's important to note that if you want a hot shower you have to go to the communal showers. The shower in the dorm only has cold water. Overall, our experience at this hostel was great. The staff was friendly and helped us with whatever we needed. It also has a great location that provides easy access to various activities in La Fortuna. I would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    108
    48
    27
    27
See reviews for
6
91
70
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is an ideal hostel for people who want to save money and seize the day! Pablo, one of the assistants, was honest with us and told us how to get to Cerro Chato (a great hike in the area). We saved money because of his honesty and we did one of the best hikes I have ever done. Also, Diego, who works at the desk, let us know how to get to the FREE "hot river" with a taxi. The amount we spent on the taxi there and back was the same amount of money it would of costed for one person's admission into the hot springs. We owe our awesome experiences to this hostel!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a great hostel! It is clean, comfortable and safe and is in a great location for hiking.

The large pool and bar make it a great place to meet new people and food is really good too.

The staff were super friendly and helpful. They helped organize not just my activities in La Fortuna, but also helped with the transport, accommodation and activities for my next stop in Monteverde (thanks Diego!).

I travelled through Costa Rica by myself and this was such a great place to start.

It's definitely a step up from your usual hostels, I highly recommend for anyone to stay here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Arenal backpackers was the best hostel we stayed in all our vacation in costa rica, it was spacious, clean, and the staff was helpful and nice. We stayed in the outside One bed tent and it was really cool. It was sort of like camping but more comfortable of course. The only complain I could give is that the music is very loud in the bar in front of the hostel and it didnt let us sleep very well, but that is not the hostel's fault. They serve food and drinks cheap that we didnt eat because we wanted more traditional food. The bed was done and the room was cleaned everyday, they have hot water only in the morning! The pool is nice if you get the chance to catch sun in la fortuna. Overall a very good hostel for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in the safari tents. Yes the wooden floor slats will eat up your items that fall through them. We stayed in July and it was hot and humid. I really wished we had air conditioner, but overall... Really excellent place. Go get the fish next door at La Choza de Laurel, it's delicious!

Towels are $1 each and locks require $10 deposit. Wifi is free.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hostel a week ago and both agree it was excellent! It is your typical kind of hostel, especially geared towards younger travellers we thought. Our favourite part was the swimming pool which was always pristine and the perfect temperature! In regards to food, it was a shame breakfast wasn't included but saying that, the food served at this hostel is really good and definitely worth the money!
We stayed in a safari tent which was fun and different, it was slightly noisy at night but we didn't mind. We had one night drinking here and it was alot of fun, met some like minded people.
I totally recommend this hostel, it was both a comfortable and fun stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in one of the dorms in June 2013. The rooms were clean and the pool was great. The volcano was disappointing as it was covered in cloud both days. The hostel has a great atmosphere and the common areas are filled with many European travellers who are full of information on other places in Costa Rica. the staff were very attentive and organised a day trip for me. The hostel beds are more expensive than other places in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Backpackers Resort

Address: 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Backpackers Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.