We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The value is there, but I've had better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Backpackers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Arenal Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Arenal Backpackers Resort
350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The value is there, but I've had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I liked this place - it was clean, cheap and convenient. But the ambiance was meh. The staff were sparse and disinterested - but pretty to look at. There was always American top 40 songs playing in the lobby as people sat in little pods around the small standing tables - politely conversing with their inside voices. The people that did talk to you tended to be the people that would hang out in the lobby alllll day - talking to anyone that would listen to them go on about how they felt about your country's politics, bugbites, how much the tour you're about to go on sucks...... you know - the people you avoid the rest of the stay. No one tends to hang out in the lobby at night save a few lost souls. This place is a good place to rest and collect yourself, but that's about it. The pool and pool bar could have been rad if the weather was nicer! The value is there, but I've had better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    106
    46
    27
    27
See reviews for
6
87
70
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was my first Hostel at the start of a 4 month round the world trip and one of the best. I stayed in the dorms and a private. The private was more like a hotel with great views and a balcony over looking the village. The best part oft he hostel is the set up with the small garden, hamocks, bar and plunge pool. A great place to relax, drink beers and meet people. Good location for eating and close to supermarkets etc. Staff were excellent and had hook ups with some great tours. Highly recommend the white water rafting.

Room Tip: Can't recall the number, but it's a private twin with a view of the volcano and balcony over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This is definitely nicer than an average hostel and it should teach other run down places that you can still be budget without being filthy.
The rooms are spotless. Aircon only comes on from 10pm - 10am which is a bit of a bummer and hot water between 6am-11am and 3pm-11pm.
The staff are very helpful but the price of tours and shuttles seems to vary based on what time of day you ask.
If you are on a budget there are free hot springs that any local or taxi driver can tell you how to get to a hell of alot cheaper.
Good clean hostel and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. Not "cozy" like a typical hostel, but great nonetheless. The rooms were clean. There was a nice common area outside with a roof. The pool was beautiful as was the rest of the property. A few blocks from town. A quick cab ride to Baldi hot springs.
The staff was nice, nothing to write home about UNTIL Allan finally warmed up to us and helped us make our way to Santa Teresa. He kept telling us that we should take a shuttle because it would be easier (but also $50..). We were hesitant to take his advice because it seemed like everywhere we stayed, we were being talked into things to do based on the hostel getting commission from these companies. By the time we finally realized it would be easier to take a shuttle instead of a long day of travel, it was too late and the shuttle was booked. Allan went out of his way to help us get to Santa Teresa by calling a bunch of different places for us, writing down bus times, transfer locations, etc etc etc. He even gave us his personal phone number just in case we got lost. We finally made it to Santa Teresa 11 hours after leaving La Fortuna (but we only spent $5). Allan called the hostel the next day to make sure we'd arrived safely. It was really nice and a great customer service experience. He really went above and beyond to help us.
I would definitely stay at this hostel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

One of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in. Cleaned everyday and the bathrooms are always stocked with soap.
The staff is so friendly and their security is top notch. They exchange bracelets everyday I make sure of it.
Their restaurant has a great selection at reasonable prices if you don't feel like going out.
Tons of touring discounts and the wifi all over the hostel is strong. Beds were soft and warm and the hammocks outside are perfect for relaxing.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Super clean hostel, fantastic pool with helpfull staff. We stayed in the dorm, it was comfortable, although the matresses are plastic. It's a great place to meet other travelers. They turn off the music at eleven so you can get a good night's sleep. They offer food for purchase and it's pretty good too! There is no kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were greeted by the owner the moment we arrived at the gate, given a welcome cocktail and warmly informed of the hostels events, facilities and services. Staff continued to be helpful throughout our staff, organising tours on our behalf and even helped us book onward accommodation. We were lucky enough to be there for the Halloween party which, though being relatively low key was a great night and we enjoyed a BBQ, some karaoke and as usual the good drinks from the bar.
We ended up in the largest room of the hotel, which catered for 8. We were traveling as a 3 so appreciated the extra space however considering the hotel was full for the days we were there, it meant we may have missed out on a balcony room. Which didn't overly bother us. There were soap dispensers in the bathroom and the beds were comfortable enough. Our hot water was little temperamental.
The location is great, halfway up the main street in town, the staff can advise the nearby attractions but we can recommend the La Fortuna waterfall walk as a good half-day walk. As the area is prone to rain bring adequate protection. Typically with volcanoes, Arenal was covered in cloud the entire time we were there so keep weather conditions in mind. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Backpackers Resort

Address: 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Backpackers Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.