We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hostel but the band is a turn off” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Backpackers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arenal Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Arenal Backpackers Resort
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Varanasi, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Hostel but the band is a turn off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hostel and the pool are really nice, the dormitory too. The tents are nice but too close to each other. It feels in a japanese city box where there is no0 space between people.

the pool is great and drinking in the pool is fantastic, however the band they give you fot "security" purposes is a big turn off. I don't want to be wearing a band to move around all over arenal and be labeled as "allowed to enter Arenal Backpackers.

They also change dollars at a rate of 550 collones, which for me is bad taste.

A part of these two things and the restricted space among the tents, nice place... but i could not give more starts, since these small things are important for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    121
    61
    36
    31
See reviews for
8
104
82
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Our group of 15 (4 families - 8 adults 7 teenagers) were looking for inexpensive accommodations that would not involve sharing small double beds. We came upon the hostel idea and it worked out great. We booked 2 dorm rooms each with 4 sets of bunk beds. Let me first say, the grounds are amazing, the hammocks were divine, and staff very helpful. The teenage girls loved Freddy, who went out of his way to be very helpful and get us great deals on any tours we had in mind.

I would highly recommend renting a towel at the hostels. It keeps you from having to do laundry, which can be pricey. I wish they rented as nice of bedding as the towels. The bedding consists of...no mattress pad, a thin fitted sheet, no top sheet, and a thin blanket with holes in it. I was surprised to not have a top sheet, but did sleep pretty comfortable despite the bedding.

One other thing, if you like naps, the hammock is your best bet since the A/C only comes on from 10 pm to 10 am.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Backpackers resort

Great place. Super clean hostel. Clean pool, quiet rooms, comfy beds, and a good breakfast. Service was great, location was suitable for walking, and they had a gated area for parking. 

Two thumbs up. Cleanest, most well run Hostel I have ever been in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is one of the nicest place for backpackers I think I've seen in my year and a half of travels. Everything is extremely clean, which is obviously a huge plus. And the staff is all extremely friendly. Freddy at the front desk did a great job helping me plan my most memorable experience rafting in the Pacuare River. And Diego, the owner, is extremely kind and clearly cares about his guests. His goal for travelers to have a clean, comfortable and positive experience is very evident.

I stayed 2 nights on my own, and both nights I was able to meet new friends and have a great time. The common space is set up very comfortably for people to meet each other and the pool is beautiful with a view of the volcano when the sky is clear. Oh their Pina Coladas are exceptionally tasty and their happy hour offers great prices. Wish I could stay more than 2 nights, but will definitely come back here next time I pass through. I highly highly highly recommend it. With options of dorms, outdoor tents and private rooms, there is something for everyone.

Enjoy your stay, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I completely loved my stay last year at the Arenal Backpacker's Resort... I will go back there next time I am in La Fortuna! Friendly staff, who helped my friend and I with figuring out what we wanted to do, relaxed atmosphere and awesome pool that has a bar attached. We even had dinner at the hostel and it was excellent! I would recommend it to anyone who comes to La Fortuna. Also loved chilling out in the hammocks!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I came here with my girlfriend first after flying into San Jose, and it was a great start to the trip. The staff here are relaxed and very helpful, giving you honest advice about trips and not trying to push anything. The pool is great since it's so hot out, and it's great to relax in the water and enjoy a beer. The dorms are larger (8 person) but they have a private bathroom and a "private" locker bank which is really nice. The rooms have AC at night which means you'll get a great sleep too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I just spent four nights at this hostel, it is the best hostel I have stayed at in the whole of Costa Rica!! The hostel is extremely clean, the swimming pool is like a dream, the dorm rooms are great and all have a private bathroom and I loved the air con!
But the thing that stands are for me are the staff, friendly and welcoming at all times and fluent in English.
P.s you can book all the tours here too.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Backpackers Resort

Address: 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 59 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Arenal Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Backpackers Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.