We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place, def stay here!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Backpackers Resort

Save Saved
You added Arenal Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arenal Backpackers Resort
350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome place, def stay here!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

I just spent four nights at this hostel, it is the best hostel I have stayed at in the whole of Costa Rica!! The hostel is extremely clean, the swimming pool is like a dream, the dorm rooms are great and all have a private bathroom and I loved the air con!
But the thing that stands are for me are the staff, friendly and welcoming at all times and fluent in English.
P.s you can book all the tours here too.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    100
    41
    24
    23
See reviews for
6
76
66
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Everything is great there. The staff is relaxed and helpful, the food and drinks are great, there's a flat pool - in a hostel yeah! - and the rooms are one of the more cleans among every backpackers i have been to in Costa Rica. The price is really reasonable for what you get from it.

Seriously, this is a sure bet!

Sam, Montreal, Quebec.

Room Tip: Dorms are all right but the tents for two looked amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed in Costa Rica for about 3 months and I promise there is no better place to say that Arenal Backpacker's Resort. I am extremely high maintenance so I was nervous staying in a Costa Rican hostel. But WOW was this place awesome. I had stayed at places all over the entire country and no place was as good for the price. The entire place was very clean and wonderful service! The food was awesome and the staff was so helpful with planning a Waterfall Repel adventure!
I can't say enough great things about this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The hostel was cleaned daily, I stayed in a dorm with an ensuite which was kept very clean. The pool and views were lovely, the bar and food was great but above all the atmosphere and staff were amazing!!! I loved my stay here and it is most definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed in. It's also walking distance to restaurants and shops and not far from the springs.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We went to Costa Rica for a two week vaccation, La fortuna was our second stop and we definately start loving costa Rica from the moment we arrived at Arenal Backpackers. The staff was amazingly great and honest, the place was clean, the water is actually hot in the bathroom which is a PLUS in CR, free internet acces was also nice to have. The cafe is Ok but you can fing great food in restaurant downtown. We were 2 girls and we felt really safe & secure at arenal backpackers, having a gate and a guard was comforting.
We really had a great time and were able to experience the real costa ricain life thanks to Allan and Nacho !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I had go to a trip in Costa Rica and been to the Arenal Backpackers;we loved this hotel!The staff is really nice,the food is really good!The bedroom are clean and really nice,the pool is too much cool!It have a pretty good advantage:it is near the little town,and near a lot of activity,like horseback riding,a waterfalls,the hot springs,and a lot of others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

i recently stayed with my roommate at this hostel. We booked two nights not really sure what to expect. When we got there we immediately felt at home. The staff was outstanding and helped us set up outings at lower than competitors prices and were very helpful and recommending places. The place was very clean and safe. We enjoyed the pool, laying in the hammocks, meeting new people and just enjoying the view. We ended up staying an extra night and were kind of sad when we had to leave to Tabacon Hot Springs Resort!!! I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a friendly, clean, safe, inexpensive, and fun atmosphere close to everything! I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: If you want to meet people and don't mind sharing space get the shared room. If you want more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Backpackers Resort

Address: 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Specialty lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Backpackers Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.