We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost Iguana Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lost Iguana Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Just returned from a great three day stay at the Lost Iguana Resort and should have extended the stay longer to enjoy additional spa time and to hike the trails. What an incredible experience; truly a must see to believe. The location of this resort in the rain forrest near Arenal Volcano is the ideal setting as you enjoy world class spa treatments, fabulous food,comfortable bed, great views for a great price! Many adventures to please all with a very pleasant and willing staff. Book direct through the resort website to save money. I plan on returning with a yoga retreat. Check website.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    730
    227
    60
    36
    8
See reviews for
277
507
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Just back from another great (but too short ) stay at one of my favorite spots in the world!!WEATHER WAS WONDERFL ! Some great views of the Volcano! I can never go here too much.......Lost Iguana renews my soul. I'm going back for the Yoga retreat in Oct.. Be sure to go direct to thier web site, for the very best prices and packages. I was able to save a bundlethis time, as compared to using other web sites!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

You can't beat the location and views at this hotel. When we visited, the weather was beautiful so we had stunning views of the volcano. The driest months are March and April if your looking to avoid the rain.

The rooms are comfortable, large and all of them have amazing views. Honeymooners be aware that the walls are thin and beds are a little squeaky (if you get my hint). We also felt that the hotel could easily update its rooms with new bedding. We were transported back to the 80's! The bathrooms were also in need of renovation but they were functional. For these reason I'd give the hotel 3 stars not 4.

The Spa is beautiful and located along a small river which creates a wonderful backdrop as you're getting your treatments. I took advantage of the free mud mask and it was well worth it! We also went zip-lining through the hotel which we'd highly recommend.

Overall, Lost Iguana is a good value for the money, I'd definitely visit during the dry season as most of the activities in the Arenal region are amazing and should be experienced without rain.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We really did have a great time overall here at Lost Iguana. The grounds are nice, the staff was nice, the food is ok. However, what really threw me for a loop is how thin the walls are. You can hear EVERYTHING next door to you. So, keep that in mind! We stayed in the Celebrity suites, which were spacious and clean. The private balcony is very nice and the views incredible. Also, the matressess could be better. I work in the tourism industry and good matresses and linens are what you expect when paying a good nightly rate. When you charge $185+ per night, a good mattress should come standard. The Spa was excellent and the Lost Iguana store is excellent!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Our stay at the lost Iguana was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. The drive from our resort from the Riu Guanacaste resort took about 3 hours. It was an easy drive and the sights along the way were spectacular. I do recommend a jeep and not a car, there were a few stretches where there were potholes and our Jeep had no problem but cars has to maneuver around them.
The first thing you’ll notice driving into the Lost Iguana is the absolutely stunning landscaping of the resort. And the resort is huge, we stayed a week and I still don’t think we saw all of it. Checking in was a breeze. All the Buildings (Lobby, restaurant/bar and Rooms) are separate from each other with garden trails leading to each other. I’ll never forget walking to our room after having a few drinks at the Pool bar; looking up at the stars and listening to the jungle sounds and stopping to watch the fireflies.

Our room was large and tastefully decorated. We had a wet bar with a fridge that we stored our own soft drinks and Beer. It also came with a cable TV as well as Apple TV for movies; we never used this, there’s just too much to do and see.
Making reservations at the front desk for activities such as Zip Line or Hanging Bridges was a breeze; I also had them make reservations for a Birthday dinner in town and they must have let the restaurant know because they brought a delicious cake to us and sang happy birthday; the restraint was Don Ruffo’s and the staff and food were superb.

The Iguana’s restaurant was wonderful. The staff was very professional and friendly. My Spanish is poor but they all speak fluent English and help out with my struggling Spanish. The food was very very good, especially the seafood. The breakfast had everything from fresh fruits to poached eggs and pancakes with great coffee.

The one thing I had heard before and found to be true is that at times we felt we were the only one at the resort. I can’t recommend this resort high enough. We will return here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. We had a great experience, and would recommend to anyone!

We really liked the location of the hotel, about 20 KM away from La Fortuna, right near the long bridge acorss Lake Arenal. The hotel is located on very lush, well-maintained grounds. As other reviewers posted, the grounds ARE hilly, but there was a well-lit, zig-zag path to the building where our room was located. It was not a problem at all (we're both around age 30), and we enjoyed the "burn off calories" walk.

Our Standard Deluxe room was a good size and very clean. We weren't fans of the "loudly" colored bedspread, but the room overall was well-decorated. Our room (#8)was on the top floor of a two-story building of rooms, and it had VERY high ceilings! We loved how open the room felt. The website pictures don't do it justice. The bathroom and shower were large...but the best part was the balcony. We were very lucky to have a clear afternoon to experience an amazing view of the volcano. But, even when it was cloudy/foggy, it was nice to sit outside to view the birds and beautiful scenery. Every room had a similar, private balcony.

The included breakfast was good, and included a nice selection of fruit, juice/coffee, cereal, granola, and a couple different dishes depending on the day (eggs, french toast, pancakes, potatoes, plantains). Other meals we had at the restaurant were very good, and were about what you would expect to pay (which is to say not cheap, but not too expensive either).

There are two pools, one cold and one warm (though not exactly "heated"). The warm pool also had a swim-up bar, and even though the pictures on the website are a good representation, somehow it just didn't feel as luxurious as I hoped. But then again, it's Arenal, you don't come to sit around and drink by the pool!

There are two hiking trails on the property. The one we did lasted under an hour, and featured a couple, small hanging bridges over a stream. It wasn't a big challenge, but was cool having a place to hike right on the property. There was another trail, about double in length, that we didn't have time to do. It's also close to the actual "Hanging Bridges" tour, but we opted not to do that since we were doing something similar later in the trip.

Overall, it was a great place to stay and we really enjoyed it. The balcony in the rooms and volcano views were the best part, followed by the beautful grounds in the resort. The scenery was great. We'd stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This resort surpassed anywhere else we stayed. Our room was beautiful with uniquely appointed native furniture and luxurious bedding, a stone shower with orchids growing on the walls, private jacuzzi on the deck with a view of the volcano- french doors that open up to the amazing flowers blooming and you can watch hummingbirds, tucans, monkies, etc. right from your room! We loved the heated swimming pool and the restaurant had fabulous food and more volcano views! The spa is incredible! All the staff was nice and most helpful as we planned several trips to the Hanging Bridges, zip line, rafting and the hot springs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.