We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
chicago, il
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

My family and I had a fantastic time at the Lost Iguana. The property is beautiful, the staff is friendly and the views are amazing. We enjoyed the pool, the sites such as "hanging bridges' near by and the hiking trails. The food and the amenities on the property exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay at this property again when we visit Costa Rica again!

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    240
    62
    36
    8
See reviews for
288
526
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

We visited Lost Iguana Resort for 3 nights beginning December 21, 2008. We stayed on a Luxury Suite and could not have been happier with the accommodations. Our room was very spacious with a large king size bed. The bathroom was roomy as well, with a very vigorous shower which we enjoyed after a day full of activities. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The spa was very nice and the location of the spa rooms next to the river made the experience that much better. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the service was very nice. Please note that the hotel is in a secluded location. You will need a car to move around the area or to go to dinner in town on your own. Since we had a car, this was not an issue for us – we actually enjoyed the remoteness of the hotel. In all, we enjoyed this hotel so much that we are planning to visit it again next Christmas holiday.

  • Liked — Spacious room with an amazing view of the volcano
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

This hotel provides luxury accomodations with a great wilderness feel! The best part about this location and hotel is that it truely perserves the natural beauty of the rainforest and nature! You lay down in your bed at night and hear the animals outside while gazing through the beautiful oversized glass windows and french doors overlooking the volcano and rainforest!
Close to many attractions; hanging bridges, La Fortuna, Tabacon & other hot springs, volcano ect.
The accomodations include a breakfast which is very laid back and just enough to get you started, at night the food is EXCELLENT with a very romantic atmosphere.
If you are traveling in the "rainy season" expect it to POUR! It's still a great experience, after all you are in the RAINFOREST!!

We'd go back!

  • Liked — Rainforest and Volcano-Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Far from either airport, pricey to arrange travel to and from the hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed at the Lost Iguana the nights of the 18th, 19th and 20th of November and had a great time. The staff were all helpful and courteous, though you could tell that they were ready for the rainy season to end.

The room wasn't as nice as the Peace Lodge, but it was very cool to have the option of sitting on the balcony, relaxing in the hot tub or just laying in bed to watch the volcano (even if it was overcast most of the time we were there). We had a big yellow tarantula in the bathroom one morning and a lizard the next. Though I can see many people not being comfortable with that, neither the wife or I had any issues with it. We figured we were in the rain forest so it was pretty much expected to have some kind of critters in the room - heck, we live in the city and still have (worse) bugs in the house all the time (I'll take a tarantula over a black widow any day).

The food was above average and the restaurant service was excellent. We even had a coati visit us while eating breakfast one morning. The dinners were not expensive and the breakfast was complimentary.

We enjoyed hiking on the grounds and it was a short 15 minute hike to the Hanging Bridges. The grounds were very well maintained, with splashes of color everywhere you looked.

We booked our canyoning and zip line tours from the front desk and were picked up at the resort for both. The fees for both tours were charged to our room, making it easier to manage the finances.

On our third, and last night, the clouds gave up enough for us to watch the volcano do its thing. Though we could not directly see the lava flow, we could see flares on the right side of the volcano and at the end of the eruption the whole top of the volcano turned bright orange and then exploded, sending molten rocks into the air and down the visible side of the volcano - very much worth the wait.

All in all, though it was remote, we thought the Lost Iguana made a great base for us to experience all that the Arenal area has to offer.

  • Liked — The grounds and remoteness
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

We recently had an opportunity to stay at the Lost Iguana and my wife and I agree that it was an amazing experience. The seclusion of the property was perfect. The rooms were beautiful. I love how they are laid out so you can lay in bed at night and watch the lava flow down the volcano. The chef, Martin, put together some fantastic dishes that both tasted wonderful and were asthetically beautiful. We arranged a couple of excursions through the resort. The first was a hike to the volcano. The guide who the resort set us up with (I regretfully forget his name) was very knowledgable about the entire area. The second was the zip line tour we took, which was both exhilerating and terrifying! The spa at Lost Iguana was amazing too. The spa facility is beautiful, and the masseuse I had was incredible! The spa experience was top notch. The little building that the massage table is in was next to the river. The combination of the fantastic massage and the sounds of the river and rain falling all at the same time made for a perfectly relaxing experience. I highly recommend The Lost Iguana if you ever find yourself in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

This review is a little late but I wanted to let everyone know that this resort is the best. My husband and I stayed here in October of 2007. We still talk about it as the best vacation ever. I researched every resort in the area and decided on the Lost Iguana because of the view of the volcano. We couldn't have been more pleased. We booked a regular room but when we got there they had given it to someone else...which turned out to be a blessing because they gave us a room with a jacuzzi tub on the balcony. This was so AWESOME. Our room had 3 sets of large glass doors that faced the volcano. We got up at 5 every morning and sat in the hot tub and listened to the monkeys and watched toucans about 5 feet away. It was absolutely breathtaking. They also had a really nice pool and bar. Right up the street, walking distance, was a huge rain forest park with hanging bridges, it was great hiking. We booked a white water rafting trip through the resort and that was also a highlight of our trip. We also booked a zip line tour...this was by far the best thing we ever did in our lives. It was so fun. We had rented a car so we went into town for dinner each night (the resort food wasn't that great). It was nice to eat with the locals. Feel free to write me with any questions, I could talk about this place for hours.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

We stayed in Arenal in September, 2008. This was the rainy season and I was hesitant about going there because of the rain. It did rain nearly every day but the experience was still great. Usually the rain only lasted for a breif stint. Overall we had more good weather then bad. The volcano is amazing. I can't imagine any hotel that has a better setup for viewing the volcano then does the Lost Iguana Resort. Every night we watched the laval flow from our bed. What a fantastic experience. Costa Rica was our fifth country on this vacation trip. And we are still travelling now as I write this in October. We really miss the volcano. It was such a treat to be able to watch it from our room. I highly highly recommend this resort to anyone considering accomodations for Arenal.

Warm regards,

Jeremiah Thompson

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.