We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I actually stayed here in April of last year but I recently signed up for trip advisor and really felt I had to write a review. If you're into nature, hiking, and tropical climates this is the place to stay. I went with my boyfriend and we both just really loved it! The view of Arenal volcano from our balcony and the sounds of nature are unforgettable. You do have to be prepared to walk quite a bit but it's so worth it. We felt like we had the hotel to ourselves at times because it's really secluded. Wear comfortable clothes/shoes, insect repellent, and a rain coat because your in the jungle here and it's breathtaking. I would absolutely return to this hotel because it's a different experience from what I'm used to when traveling. Completely Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    232
    62
    36
    8
See reviews for
283
514
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First the good... Location is truly in the middle of the rainforest. Spotted lots of animals including an anteater. This feels authentic and a Costa Rican experience. Food is priced fairly inexpensively for a hotel. Close to activities 5 minute drive to the hanging bridges and 20 minute to Sky Trek (awesome Zip Line) and 20 min to Hot Springs.

Know the shortfalls...
1. room is MUSTY and mold smelling. We never took clothes out of our suitcases until we would wear them.
2. In the rain forest SO LOTS OF BUGS. LARGE BUGS. Would have to check bathrooms each time for critters for the kids (i.e. three inch wide spiders and 6 inch long beetles)
3."Outdoor" shower was cool, but no light so to shower in the evening after a day's activities was tricky, You are showering in the dark (remember BUGS)
4. Room was large but not functional.
5. Room was very dark, not enough lighting.
6. No management anywhere.
7. Service bordered on plesant to almost rude. Breakfast servers were unhelpful.
8. Breakfast buffet almost unsanitary. Flies in the food. 20 plus bees in the syrup. We would put syrup at the end of the table let the flies and bees swarm to it and eat on the other end.
9. Closest off site restaurant is a $30 cab ride...if you don't have a car it gets pricey to leave.
10. A/C units only worked on one temperature setting...Antarctic Blast.
11. Trails not maintained for walking around hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Lost Iguana. We are immersed in 120 acres of rainforest, so we do have a lot of animals and sometimes bugs around. We do not spray pesticide because there is a natural balance between the insect eaters and insects which normally keeps the bugs to a minim. The outdoor showers have candles that make showering in the evening very romantic. Most guests have loved this.
You will be happy to know we are currently remodeling all the buildings and mid 2015 all will have kitchenettes and be more functional. The air conditioner controls will all be fixed this month so we will not have anymore "arctic blast" problems. September and October are our slow months and I work with gardeners and maintenance to clean up gardens and work in all the rooms.
Sincerely, Elaine Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was our last stop on our honeymoon and we were told it was pretty tranquil. It definitely was in the rainforest, at night all you could here were frogs and insects. Which didn't bother us since we love the outdoors. We had an outdoor shower, with no light and cobwebs covered the walls, a back stoop with an amazing view of the volcano, and an outside jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was nice, after we cleaned it. The room it self was quaint, a steel spring king size bed(uncomfortable), TV that didn't have cable and an AppleTV connected to it with 4 movies. There was a lack of lighting in the room as well. There was also an ever present smell of mold, inside and out, so much so that all of our clothes had acquired it. We were there less than 48 hours. The mini bar was severely lacking. The bar only contained a diet coke, regular coke, two beers, and a bottle of red and white wine. No snacks were to be found. The food at the restaurant was of mediocre taste but overpriced. The service was almost non-existent. Each time we went there I had to go looking for a server, and one night we left without our bill after waiting 20 minutes without seeing our waiter. A bottle of wine at the restaurant was 34$, and the same bottle was in our mini bar for 22$. My wife put it best, the Lost Iguana looks as if it was once a gorgeous resort, but has fallen due to lack of upkeep. We will not be staying there again, sadly.

Room Tip: Don't get bottom floors, it smelled of mold and the ceilings are thin. You can here everything a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
I'm sorry you visited during the rainiest summer on record. When we don't have sunny mornings like normal, it makes it hard to get the rooms aired out. We are surrounded by the rainforest which is very harsh on the buildings and trails. We will have moss on our brick roads one month after power cleaning. The resort is not in disrepair. Every year during September and October (our low season) the maintenance paints and does general upkeep in each room. Every year we replace worn bedding items as well as major projects to keep the hotel fresh. We also do several large projects each year like upgrading all the bathrooms, remodeling the restaurant and reception. This year we are putting new floors in all the rooms. During 2015 we will completely remodel the rooms with new furnishings including kitchenettes. I have guests who come every year and love seeing our improvements.
When the hotel opened12 years ago we did not have phone lines or internet. I had to buy the telephone poles in order to get 2 telephone lines. This year we will finally be able to buy fiber optics so we can have good cable TV and a stronger internet signal.
We will never be the most modern hotel, but I do hope we will always be able to offer a unique view of the rainforest that you can only encounter being outside the town.
Sincerely, Elaine Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed at Lost Iguana for 4 nights in July 2013. Our whole experience was terrific. The hotel is beautiful and you feel like you're part of the forest that surrounds you. The view of Arenal Volcano is top-notch.
The service at the restaurant and pool area was great. The staff was always willing to help us get what we needed. The front desk staff helped us organized trips to zip lining and white water rafting. We enjoyed both of those and highly recommend!
My family can't wait to return to Lost Iguana.

Room Tip: our room was a 2nd floor unit - we had a great balcony and A/C. hotel is rather quiet no matter wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We visited the Lost Iguana in July for 3 days and it rained off and on each day, but we had our rain gear and the weather did not stop use from doing activities in the area The hotel is well sited to take advantage of zip lining, hanging bridges, horse back riding, and white water rafting. Hikes on the extensive property are also possible. It is also near an elaborate thermal spring that we did not have time to see. We found the staff to be first rate from reception to restaurants, and all spoke good English. After we left, they went to considerable effort to retreive and mail back to us a Kindle that was left behind. We had most of our meals at the hotel restaurant, and although not gourmet, we had no complaints. Our second floor room had a great view of the volcano which we finally saw (at least 90%) on our last day. My wife and grand-daughter especially enjoyed the large heated pool with swim up bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our first floor luxury room with outdoor shower and Jacuzzi was perfect and compensated for the rainy weather. The room was always clean but there were some bugs because you're in the RAINforest. The outdoor porch with rocking chairs provided a perfect view of Arenal Volcano when the clouds cleared. The grounds have several well marked trails which provide great hikes. There are both a warm and cold water pool for swimming. Most guests come to the pool for happy hour between 4 and 5. Luis the bartender is fantastic. The gift shop is exceptional with many high quality Costa Rican crafts.
The food in the restaurant was only fair. The resort is 18 kilometers from the town of Last Fortuna via a winding road so a car is recommended. The front desk arranges tours which can pick you up at the front desk. A plus is that the resort is close to the volcano, Lake Arenal and the Hanging Bridges.

Room Tip: Get a lower level room with outdoor twin showers and Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here in July, to see the volcano, but it rained the entire three days that we were here, and the most we saw was about a quarter to a half of the volcano in the afternoons when it stopped raining for a bit. The room itself was nicely done and very clean. We had a king luxury suite, with a jetted tub on a private balcony, a kitchenette and a large bathroom - had it not been the rainy season, we would have had an amazing view of the volcano and surrounding area. The service at the resort was average at best, we got there late and were simply given a map to find our room, no offer to help with bags or information on where to park (you need to drive to your room from the main lodge). The restaurant is just ok, breakfast in included and is a buffet - dinner was flavorless. This entire Arenal Volcano area is all about tourists, so everything is over priced and under value, not the real Costa Rica at all. Did not see any wildlife at the resort or anywhere in the surrounding area. This entire area (including this resort) is heavily traveled, with crowds of tourists everywhere. Wifi is only available in the main lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.