We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing hotel- Kudos to Reservations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
SUPER DISCOUNTS 2014
Franklin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing hotel- Kudos to Reservations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Maritza in Reservations did a great job with our reservation. Front desk staff was really nice and made great suggestions. The staff uniforms were REALLY nice.

The only experience that I was not excited about was the restaurant. The staff needs improvement. Service was VERY slow.

Our overall experience was soooooo great I couldn't take points off for the restaurant.

  • Liked — Location, jacuzzi, The atmosphere of the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    713
    211
    58
    36
    7
See reviews for
265
490
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

Our stay at the Lost Iguana was very last minute but definitely worth it! We had only planned a day trip to Arenal, but realized we wanted more time while staying on the coast. We went online to find a place to stay and called to make a reservation - then off we went! We had an incredible first floor suite, and our volcano view was tremendous. The front desk were very accomodating, and the property is truly amazing. I do wish the restaurant staff were a bit more warm and friendly - they seemed really frazzled and understaffed during our two meals on the property. Be ready to hike a BIG hill to get around on the property, although the staff will be glad to pick you up in a golf cart to deliver you to your destination and preserve your lung and calf function for other adventures.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — The Giant Hill!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

My husband and I spent three nights here in May. It was the rainy season and the resort was quiet, but the afternoon rains never interfered with our plans. The clouds cleared off in the evening and gave us great views of the volcano. The volcano was very active. At night, we would sit in the whirlpool tub on our balcony or lay in bed with the French doors open and watch lava spew down the side of the volcano - much better than T.V. (There was a television in the room but we didn't turn it on once.) We found the grounds beautiful; the hiking trails were challenging but well-maintained. The walk to our room was steep, so we appreciated the little nature trail short-cut to the restaurant and pool. We had a great couples massage at the new spa one afternoon in a little thatched hut while the rain poured outside (it was done by the time we were). The resort arranged a canopy tour for us through Sky Tram/Sky Trek Tours and an evening at Eco Termales Hot Springs. I highly recommend both. We also discovered while exploring on our own the Arenal Hanging Bridges park adjacent to the property. This ended up being one of my favorite hikes while in Costa Rica. The only downside was the restuarant. We ended up up eating most of our meals there because the resort is so remote and we didn't have a car. The food was just okay, nothing special. However, the staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again for sure, although maybe with a car next time to get around a little easier.

  • Liked — The views and grounds.
  • Disliked — The restuarant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

The views from our room at Lost Iguana were the best we had anywhere in Costa Rica. Loved the rocking chairs, all the birds in the trees, and the towel "animals" that were on our beds each day. We saw lots of wildlife on the property, including a tayer (sp?) that we didn't see anyplace else in Costa Rica.

We had a couple of tours that left in the morning before the restaurant opened for breakfast and the staff was very accommodating in letting us in early to take some fruit and rolls with us. I agree with others that the restaurant was generally just average. But, the salad of fresh hearts of palm was the best we had anywhere....and we tried this salad at all 4 hotels we stayed in.

One morning we sent quite a bit of dirty laundry to be done. When it was left back in our room that afternoon it hadn't been laundered and was still dirty. We called the front desk and they were very apologetic, came for it at once and promised it back in 2 hours. They made good on their promise and when we checked out they told us that there would be no charge for it. We were very surprised because it would have been about $35 or $40 dollars worth. This was a gesture of goodwill that went far over and above any expectations and we were impressed.

The property is hilly, but we took our time and appreciated that the climbs helped us get in better shape for the nature hikes we had planned later in our visit.

Overall, we loved the resort and would definitely return.

  • Liked — Fabulous views of Arenal
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Absolutely wonderful! From check-in to check-out, my husband and I had a beautifully romantic stay at Lost Iguana. The room was exquisite and the view simply amazing. Even a five inch hissing cockroach in our bathroom didn't interrupt our fabulous time! After hiking each day, it was nice to come back to a clean, cozy hotel room, sit in a great handmade rocking chair on the balcony, and read a book while taking in the magnificent beauty of the surroundings. Being able to roll over in bed and look at the Arenal Volcano was pretty great too! Great food, extraordinary service, nice pools, and close (but not too close) location to surrounding attractions all contributed to a perfect honeymoon.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — the slighlty long and nerve racking taxi drives to town
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

My hubby and I spent two nights in a Standard Deluxe room for our honeymoon. There was so much to love about this resort. First of all, the property is amazingly beautiful. Lush green plants and colorful flowers are everywhere. The plant life swallows the manmade structures and really makes you feel secluded (and safe) inside the jungle.

We had a fantastic view of the volcano from our balcony. We could even see the volcano from our bed, especially if we slept with our heads at the foot of the bed. We spent most of our stay on the hotel property. There are several trails on-site, a maze, a fabulous pool (with a heated swim-up bar).

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant once, and it was nothing special. But I loved the complimentary breakfast both mornings.

Another (random) thing I enjoyed about the resort was the smell of the sheets and towels. I don't normally notice this type of thing, but I couldn't help but notice how clean the linens smelled!

One thing I would ask the resort to do is to add screened doors to the balcony so you can sleep with the sound of the jungle and rumbling volcano. There are small windows with screens above the balcony doors, but I would have preferred screened doors.

My husband had a problem one night with noise from the neighbors' TV. I was already asleep so I didn't notice it. My hubby called the front desk to complain, and 10 seconds later the noise from next door lowered.

While staying in this location we also visited Tabacon Hot Springs and La Fortuna Waterfall. I'd recommend both.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Liked — Volcano view, beautiful property, the smell of the sheets and towels.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything to put here.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We stayed at the Lost Iguana from June 27th-July 1st 2008 and really enjoyed our stay there. It is a little ways away from La Fortuna, the closest town, so I highly recommend having a rental car. We didnt mind having one because we drove from the Arenal area on to Manuel Antonio after we stayed here. You can also drive yourself to local parks and shops easily. The breakfast that was included with our room was good and staff was very pleasant and helpful. The lunch and dinner menu was not very good so having a car to go into town is a good idea. A cab ride is about 20 dollars each way since it takes about 15 minutes to get down there. Lost Iguana is close to many attractions, hikes, trails, and the great little town of Fortuna. We loved how secluded it was up in the jungle and how beautiful our views were. Staff was great and arranged many activities for us. Ask for their hand drawn map at the reception desk, it was helpful. This is a nice place for a getaway but not for those looking for excellent cuisine. Its just decent food in an absolutely gorgeous setting. The Hanging bridges trail nearby is awesome! We saw white faced monkeys there without a guide.

  • Liked — Scenery and sounds of jungle
  • Disliked — The food, only one restaurant, was a bit pricy
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Lost Iguana Hotel
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.