We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Bloomfield hills
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We only had one grand night here after staying at a larger resort nearer to town, and I wish that we could have stayed here longer. It truely seems like you're in paradise on earth tucked into the rain forest. Everything is lush and green and the volcano view was the best we've seen. The birds fill the days with music and the tree frogs sing you to sleep at night.
We had spa treatments after dark which made it even more relaxing with the main light coming from the fireplace. The sounds of the tree frogs and the babbling brook right outside the open doors of the spa room lulled us into such tranquillity.
The food was excellent - both the free breakfast buffet and the regular menu. And it was not overpriced. The restaurant was open air and also had a view of the volcano which was in competition with watching the hummingbirds and taking in the beautiful plants and forests all at the same time. Everything was open air - but no bugs or biting mosquitoes - such a bonus!
The pools were nice. A warm pool with swim up bar and a cool pool below, again with volcano view.
We were there during rainy season but rain was mainly in late afternoon/early evening and never lasted long enough to interfer with activities. Just take raincoats when you go out on excursions.
Speaking of which-do not miss out on visiting the hanging bridges just up the road. The forest is incredible and we saw monkeys and lots of leaf cutter ants. You can purchase cheaper entry fee tickets for hanging bridges at the hotel desk.
The front desk people were extremely friendly and helpful with everything and if you need a golf cart ride to the spa or restaurant, they are very prompt.
Another thing I loved was all the wood furnishings throughout the property with all the ornate carvings in them. The doors to the rooms were tall, solid wood with beautiful carvings in them -each one with different carvings.
If i'm ever back in Costa Rica, i will come back to Lost Iguana - only difference will be i will stay more than one night next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    258
    67
    36
    8
See reviews for
311
564
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I just returned from a three day stay with my family of five. We were so happy that we stayed at this incredible hotel. The rooms are gorgeous, the staff was excellent, the heated pool with the swim up bar was our favorite. We stayed in CR for two weeks and enjoyed the entire country but the lost iguana and the view from our room was the best! Loved the buffet breakfast. Great deal as well. The pictures are great but do not do it the property service. We will surely return to this hotel on our next trip to CR! thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I simply loved this hotel. Great views of the Arenal Volcano. It was breathtaking really. The food was sumptuous and the coffee was delicious. I looked forward to it every morning. Great friendly staff. Just wonderful....and the views...... well, I can't say enough about the views. Every room faces the volcano.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Paradise found! A great time on my birthday with my guy. Usually a resort takes a picture of their best room from the right angle but the rooms at Lost Iguana are exactly like the photos from their website, nice, big, clean rooms and great views of the Volcano. AND in the jungle you would expect bugs, no bugs, at all, except for one lovely dragonfly which we took as a good omen. Great friendly staff, very helpful, delicious spa, great services. Close to everything, Ziplining, Hanging bridges, Rapelling, Yummy restaurant and swim-up bar/pool. Lovely grounds to walk and explore, beautiful Flora. A+ all around

Room Tip: We had the junior suite with the outdoor garden shower, very sexy and romantic as well as the Jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved everything about the Lost Iguana: the location, with a spectacular view of the volcano from our balcony; the warm pool with a swim-up bar; the friendly, professional staff, always going out of their way to please us; the spa with the snapping fireplace; the beautiful, spacious room; and the excellent restaurant. Juan Carlos gives diners the royal treatment! So often a hotel does not quite live up to the marketing on its website, but in this case, it was even better.

Room Tip: It's worth the splurge for the luxury suite with hot tub overlooking the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hard to imagine a better place to get some distance from the working world and have a soft bed, air conditioning, and a fine restaurant (breakfast included, lunch and dinner well prepared and reasonably priced) onsite. One of the area's major attractions, Hanging Bridges, is within walking distance uphill. Outstanding Spa. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

In every room, there was a volcano view. The restaurant had great pasta and had HOMEMADE alfredo sauce. The spa served wonderful tea, and they had a great complimentary breakfast. I loved the pool and the hot tub, which was more just like a warm pool, and the drinks they served at the swim-up bar. You have to get la naturala pina. Then lounge back on one of the water seats and pretend you're in Florida. The only drawback to this place was that there were large cracks under the doors for bugs to get in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.