We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I don't think I have ever stayed at a better hotel than this one. The wildlife, the pools, the grounds, the food, etc. Everything was amazing. It's also a fairly small hotel (about 30 rooms I think) so it is always peaceful. Nothing is busy and you feel like you are the only one in the entire place. The location is also amazing because it's in the middle of the jungle. If you are staying in this area I would highly recommened it. We stayed there 4 nights and I would easily return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    232
    62
    36
    8
See reviews for
283
515
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Lost Iguana is one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. All the rooms have majestic views of the volcano and rainforest. I loved the room decor and the beautiful grounds. There are hiking trails right on the resort along with 2 pools, one being heated and a swim-up bar, so there is always something to do. We both enjoyed the breakfast and friendly service from the staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor for a more stunning view of the volcano and rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our time in Costa Rica and absolutely loved it! The rooms was spacious, clean, and had a fantastic view of the volcano. Loved the outdoor rock shower, and outdoor sitting area- was a great place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning. The grounds here are beautiful, it is pretty hilly, but I enjoyed it to get the exercise. Golf carts are available at all times as well to take you to reception, pool, restaurant, hanging bridges, etc. Lost Iguana is further out of La Fortuna, and we didn't rent a car, but found we didn't really need one. All of the activities we did like ziplining, La Roca, volcano hike, etc provided transportation to and from Lost Iguana. Also, easy to get a cab into town. it was a lovely place to come back to in the evening and enjoy a beverage in the heated pool overlooking the volcano. A special thanks to the great staff - especially Alex at the front desk and Jason who escorted us around the property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you want a place with Luxury, excellent service and beautiful views, Lost Iguana is the place to stay. Food is excellent, customer service is excellent as well. We were there for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute.

Room Tip: The Luxury suites are worth the small extra amount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Clean,friendly,beautiful scenery and rooms. Very remote and amazing grounds to explore. We stayed 4 nights and still did not get a chance to do everything. Quiet and relaxing. You can be as busy as you want to be, or do nothing at all. Our family had a wonderful time at Lost Iguana.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lost Iguana was GREAT. From service, to amenities, to complimentary transportation in the Arenal area. I went with my boyfriend (we do not have children) and we are in our mid-thirties. We were NOT looking for a place that was riddled with screaming children, or a circus. There are many excursions and day-trips--too many for such a short stay! Transportation was great--i know people say you need a car--but if you're just staying in the Arenal area, i disagree. They have a shuttle that runs several times a day back and forth to Fortuna (and can drop you anywhere along the way). You can always take a taxi as well (albeit, a bit pricey--$30 from Iguana to Fortuna), but of course you can always rent a car, and many people do. The rooms were beautiful, spotless, and serviced every day if you wish. The restaurant and bar had great food--however, we chose to eat there once, and did dinner in Fortuna, and at several of the hot-springs near by. We highly reccomend Ecotromales, as does the Lost Iguana, and it was a fantastic 'typical' costa rican meal. The staff at Iguana are truly top-notch. We wanted for NOTHING, and they were more than helpful with regard to the area, day-trips, and what to really see/do in the Arenal Volcano area of bonita Costa Rica :) Oh--if you do visit, be SURE to treat yourself to a spa treatment--it's such a beautful part of the resort! Mucho Gusto Lost Iguana, and bonita Costa Rica! I highly recommend white water rafting, ziplining, hiking, and one of the Animal Refuge centers--those baby monkeys are such a tease! Enjoy all :)

Room Tip: Spring for the Luxury Suite! The showers are all stone/rock and semi-outdoors surrounded by foliage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MotherofSocks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lost Iguana in La Fortuna for 3 nights.
Room- out room was very spacious and had a beautiful view of forests and the volcano. I am a big reader so I loved how the room included portable reading lights. The room also had air conditioning and a dehumidifier.
Location- we loved that the hotel is in the heart of the forest. We saw toucans around the property. The nature walk on the property was great. It is a pain having to drive so far into La Fortuna, but it's a safe, well lit drive. You definitely need a car because many pick up services charge extra to go to Lost Iguana.
Service- the service was the only area that was somewhat lacking. We called for ice and the front desk forgot about us. Had to call again. The restaurant had very slow service at dinner. Worth driving into town for dinner. Breakfast was delicious. They charge for local phone calls, which we didn't know until we checked out. The front desk was friendly but not out of their way helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.