We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Lost Iguana!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Lost Iguana!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our time in Costa Rica and absolutely loved it! The rooms was spacious, clean, and had a fantastic view of the volcano. Loved the outdoor rock shower, and outdoor sitting area- was a great place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning. The grounds here are beautiful, it is pretty hilly, but I enjoyed it to get the exercise. Golf carts are available at all times as well to take you to reception, pool, restaurant, hanging bridges, etc. Lost Iguana is further out of La Fortuna, and we didn't rent a car, but found we didn't really need one. All of the activities we did like ziplining, La Roca, volcano hike, etc provided transportation to and from Lost Iguana. Also, easy to get a cab into town. it was a lovely place to come back to in the evening and enjoy a beverage in the heated pool overlooking the volcano. A special thanks to the great staff - especially Alex at the front desk and Jason who escorted us around the property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    235
    62
    36
    8
See reviews for
286
520
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you want a place with Luxury, excellent service and beautiful views, Lost Iguana is the place to stay. Food is excellent, customer service is excellent as well. We were there for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute.

Room Tip: The Luxury suites are worth the small extra amount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Clean,friendly,beautiful scenery and rooms. Very remote and amazing grounds to explore. We stayed 4 nights and still did not get a chance to do everything. Quiet and relaxing. You can be as busy as you want to be, or do nothing at all. Our family had a wonderful time at Lost Iguana.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lost Iguana was GREAT. From service, to amenities, to complimentary transportation in the Arenal area. I went with my boyfriend (we do not have children) and we are in our mid-thirties. We were NOT looking for a place that was riddled with screaming children, or a circus. There are many excursions and day-trips--too many for such a short stay! Transportation was great--i know people say you need a car--but if you're just staying in the Arenal area, i disagree. They have a shuttle that runs several times a day back and forth to Fortuna (and can drop you anywhere along the way). You can always take a taxi as well (albeit, a bit pricey--$30 from Iguana to Fortuna), but of course you can always rent a car, and many people do. The rooms were beautiful, spotless, and serviced every day if you wish. The restaurant and bar had great food--however, we chose to eat there once, and did dinner in Fortuna, and at several of the hot-springs near by. We highly reccomend Ecotromales, as does the Lost Iguana, and it was a fantastic 'typical' costa rican meal. The staff at Iguana are truly top-notch. We wanted for NOTHING, and they were more than helpful with regard to the area, day-trips, and what to really see/do in the Arenal Volcano area of bonita Costa Rica :) Oh--if you do visit, be SURE to treat yourself to a spa treatment--it's such a beautful part of the resort! Mucho Gusto Lost Iguana, and bonita Costa Rica! I highly recommend white water rafting, ziplining, hiking, and one of the Animal Refuge centers--those baby monkeys are such a tease! Enjoy all :)

Room Tip: Spring for the Luxury Suite! The showers are all stone/rock and semi-outdoors surrounded by foliage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MotherofSocks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lost Iguana in La Fortuna for 3 nights.
Room- out room was very spacious and had a beautiful view of forests and the volcano. I am a big reader so I loved how the room included portable reading lights. The room also had air conditioning and a dehumidifier.
Location- we loved that the hotel is in the heart of the forest. We saw toucans around the property. The nature walk on the property was great. It is a pain having to drive so far into La Fortuna, but it's a safe, well lit drive. You definitely need a car because many pick up services charge extra to go to Lost Iguana.
Service- the service was the only area that was somewhat lacking. We called for ice and the front desk forgot about us. Had to call again. The restaurant had very slow service at dinner. Worth driving into town for dinner. Breakfast was delicious. They charge for local phone calls, which we didn't know until we checked out. The front desk was friendly but not out of their way helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, va
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I read all the reviews before our stay. We were there 3 nights. Here are some highs and lows.

1. Location is great if you have a car. You are in the rainforest and it seems like one of the best locations. Not sure why you would stay in some hotel in fortuna on the street if you came to see the rain forest. Also very close to hanging bridges and zip line

2. We had a deluxe room and it was clean with a great view of volcano which can be hard to see because area is naturally cloudy because of elevation.

3. Lighting - read on here about dimly lit rooms. Almost every hotel and restaurant in c rica is dimly lit. Its a good thing.

4. You can have alot of fun on property. Its big with a great trails and have there own lil hanging bridges for freeI actually liked better thAn hanging bridges park.

5. Pool is nice with swim up bar.

6. Restaurant was fine for breakfast. Buffett, nothing special, but fine breakfast food and fresh fruit. Ate dinner here one night and it was horrible and pricey. Just dont plan on eating there for dinner unless you have to. For dinner it was like 30 for a buffet. My kids 8 and 10 cost 30 each and barely ate. Really really bad italian and seafood. I thought about complaining but the staff is not too engaging, see next. Im not picky, dinner was plain bad and the worst food Ive had in a long time.

7. Service - kind of non existent. Staff was not rude, just not helpful at all. They did not seem to smile or enjoy themselves. This place could be spectacular if they showed some personality and really wanted to show off the resort. We had to figure things out by ourselves because they barely said hello when we checked un.

Despite the few negatives, i would stay here again and recommend it. Its a good value and in the rain forest. Bring a car and plan to go offsite for dinners.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and would return. I am sorry you did not enjoy the buffet and I am concerned that you believe you paid $30 for the children. The cost was $27 for adults and $10 for children under 12. Besides many entrees available, there was a pasta station, full salad bar, an option to make your own pizza as well as beverage and dessert. Guests do have the option of ordering off the regular menu and we have kid's meals for $6. Please let me know if you were charged too much for your children so I can reimburse you. Sincerely, Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was the nicest place we stayed at in all of costa rica..Rooms,grounds, and staff all every good. No issues with bugs or any other problems, rooms and grounds very well maintained. We found the beds to be very firm, but we also found this to be the case at other hotels we stayed at in costa rica, so im not sure if this is a cultural thing. The hangining bridges are really close by, we got a ride on a golf cart from the staff and also got picked up, very convenient. We also purchased tickets at the front desk which were 4$ cheaper per person.

This hotel is in the middle of the jungle and it is very cool ( most of the country seems to be a jungle, so I am thinking there are other hotels in the jungle as well), but a big downfall of this hotel is it is extermely far away from town. It is a 30$ cab ride each way, and take about 20-30 minutes(there is an eployee shuttle, but the last one to leave the resort is 4pm and is usually full, so it is really not an option.) Also because of this, tour operattors charge an15$ per person for tours, we found this annoying, but I understand the extra cost due to the extra distance of driving in both directions. Something to consider.

Due to the distance from town the food situation becomes an issue, the restaurant in the hotel had avg food at best, and was extremely over priced vs other restaurants in town. One night my wife ordered a burger and fries 17$, and they charge another 10$ for room service. So that's 27$ for a burger and fries to be delivered to your room - a complete rip off(even before the extra 10$ charge) Burger was like rubber, and she basically threw most of it out.(To the owner of the hotel unless you want to refund me the $ for this, don't waste your time responding that your sorry or some other nonsense). Essentially by bieng so far from town the hotel knows your options are limited and is able to jack up the prices in the restaurant and leaves you no choice if you want to eat.

If you are renting a car this can be a great place to stay as you essentially not forced to eat at the hotel, can easily go where ever you want.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.