We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, can be tough if your not renting a car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent place, can be tough if your not renting a car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was the nicest place we stayed at in all of costa rica..Rooms,grounds, and staff all every good. No issues with bugs or any other problems, rooms and grounds very well maintained. We found the beds to be very firm, but we also found this to be the case at other hotels we stayed at in costa rica, so im not sure if this is a cultural thing. The hangining bridges are really close by, we got a ride on a golf cart from the staff and also got picked up, very convenient. We also purchased tickets at the front desk which were 4$ cheaper per person.

This hotel is in the middle of the jungle and it is very cool ( most of the country seems to be a jungle, so I am thinking there are other hotels in the jungle as well), but a big downfall of this hotel is it is extermely far away from town. It is a 30$ cab ride each way, and take about 20-30 minutes(there is an eployee shuttle, but the last one to leave the resort is 4pm and is usually full, so it is really not an option.) Also because of this, tour operattors charge an15$ per person for tours, we found this annoying, but I understand the extra cost due to the extra distance of driving in both directions. Something to consider.

Due to the distance from town the food situation becomes an issue, the restaurant in the hotel had avg food at best, and was extremely over priced vs other restaurants in town. One night my wife ordered a burger and fries 17$, and they charge another 10$ for room service. So that's 27$ for a burger and fries to be delivered to your room - a complete rip off(even before the extra 10$ charge) Burger was like rubber, and she basically threw most of it out.(To the owner of the hotel unless you want to refund me the $ for this, don't waste your time responding that your sorry or some other nonsense). Essentially by bieng so far from town the hotel knows your options are limited and is able to jack up the prices in the restaurant and leaves you no choice if you want to eat.

If you are renting a car this can be a great place to stay as you essentially not forced to eat at the hotel, can easily go where ever you want.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    733
    229
    62
    36
    8
See reviews for
281
509
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our first stop in Costa Rica on our honeymoon, and it was also our favorite (even above the all-inclusive). We loved our room -- it was large, beautifully decorated with guava wood sculptures and items, lovely, comfortable bed. There was a great view of the volcano (as is true of every room) with a nice outdoor hot tub (jacuzzi?). Our room was on the 1st floor, so we had the outdoor shower, which was such a neat experience. We enjoyed the rainforest that hte Lost Iguana is in, and we loved walking the little paths to dinner or the pool. It is a steep walk uphill, but you can opt to have someone take you in a golf cart. The weather was unpredictable, but it never rained too much. We did the Romance package, and we really enjoyed our 'romantic dinner'. Even so, we felt it was a bit expensive to eat every day/night, so we went into town several times. Part of the package was a couple's massage, and it was excellent!! The doors were cracked so we could hear the birds and animals, there was a nice warm fire in a raised fireplace, and the masseuses were very very good. The front desk staff was incredibly helpful and nice. We used this location as a home base for our activities (zip lining, floating safari, hiking, hot springs[the free ones]), and we were very pleased, although we do feel it was a bit expensive overall.

Room Tip: get a 1st floor room with an outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Lost Iguana is a very cool place to stay if you are in the area. Unfortunately we were caught up in a couple of rainy day while we were there. But then again that is the essence of a rain forest. Still went to Ecothermales for a hot springs dip, and toped it off with a "Swedish" at the spa. Spa is A+++ especially in the rain with the fire going. "Hmmm, wish I was there right now"!

Room Tip: Wish they had private bungalows,but rooms were still very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in Feb. the airconditioning was a great asset and had not been present in some other resorts we had been at. The TV had some english channels but no news. We had second floor room with a view of the volcano which was always in cloud during our stay. Grounds are very nice, humming birds were on our balcony and there was a boa constrictor outside the registrtion area one day. The staff were aware and did not seem concerned. Restuarant was good with wide selection.
The resort is on a hill so expect to do a lot of uphill walking but golf carts can be called to take you to the restaurant or the check in area for tours.
The resort is a bit distant from other attractions in the area.

Room Tip: Seconf floor rooms have better views since foliage blocks ground level views. Some rooms have tubs i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just came back from our stay at Lost Iguna in March. The hotel staff as everyone has mentioned is very friendly.

I will focus on what is missing:

1. Restaurant - The food was OK wish they had bit more choices or quality of food was better. After the 3rd day I did not want to eat the same exact breakfast I had for past 2 days. So a change in a menu would have be a welcome.

2. Sewage smell- We could not hang out at the bar or near the pool the smell of sewage or septic tank was intolerable. Especially when the breeze in the area.

3. Swim up bar/Bartender- Having one person at the bar who is handling the bar, getting food from restaurant and pool towels seems over whelming. By afternoon pool was out of clean towels which I partially blame on people who don't return them and take it to their rooms.

4. Bit Far- Yes it is close to hanging bridge but if you have to go to springs or town of La Fortuna given the fog and the road it can be bit scary. We rented a car and both of us comfortable in driving on the road however going to town would take us around 20 mins each way with hungry kids in the backseat it was not fun.

Overall we the views, property is immaculately clean and the staff is very very friendly .

Room Tip: Take bug spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and had a great time. The restaurant food and their service was good. We stayed on the first floor so we had an amazing outdoor shower. The room was spacious. The room is well lit during the day with natural light but at night it's a bit dim. Bring a flashlight for walking around at night. Rooms are up the hill so be ready to either hike or request a staff member to drive you in a golf cart. We did several tours and the front desk staff was very helpful at setting those up for us.

Room Tip: If you want the outdoor shower get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was a terrific place for our family of 5 (children 8, 11 and 14) to stay. We had a Junior Suite (2 rooms, 2 baths), with a king bed in one room and a bunk bed and full bed in the other. The rooms were tiled and the furniture lacquered bamboo. The website pictures were representative. The girls loved the outdoor shower and my son enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi. We had a terrific view of the volcano framed by the jungle and a lush garden.

The property is on an incline. But we were in the unit farthest away from the reception desk and had no trouble walking where we needed. Golf carts (which two kids wanted) were quickly available. The pool was a little small and the lounge chairs few, but both were often unused and never overcrowded. The contrast between the heated and un-heated pool was nice. The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained.

We enjoyed the restaurant. The food was very good and not unreasonably priced. The pace was slow by US standards, but the service was highly personable with many of our needs anticipated. And the recommendations we got, whether for food or wine, were always right on. It's telling that we chose to have most of our meals there despite having a car.

The location was great for many of our activities (Sky Trek, Hanging Bridges, hot springs and the national park), which were located as close or closer to the Lost Iguana than to town. I'm sure La Fortuna de San Carlos has many nice experiences, but we already had enough touristy experiences on our agenda.

The staff was uniformly friendly and accomodating, but not pretentious. A combination tough to find in the US.

We considered the complaints in other reviews (musty smell, unclean pool, excessive bugs) before booking and found none of them on our trip. We had a delightful stay. And please do visit the reasonably priced gift shop that has a nice variety of merchandise from Costa Rica and other countries (make sure you ask if you want to know).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.