We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Peace, Great rooms, Amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oasis of Peace, Great rooms, Amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had an amazing room, the outdoor was truly part of our living space with an outdoor shower, an outdoor whirlpool tub and huge glass doors opening to a patio and a small garden. Many beautiful birds can be observed right form the room. Weather is hit or miss in Arenal ... but this hotel is definetly a hit. The service is impeccable as well ... the best we have received in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    239
    62
    36
    8
See reviews for
287
526
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Is it possible for a hotel to be the highlight of your trip? I can't think of a more Costa Rican experience than the Lost Iguana. It was foggy/rainy the entire four days but it didn't matter. It only added to the resort's lushness and feel of the jungle. The grounds are spectacular as well as the staff. I regret it was always too foggy to see the volcano from our room. And the room was very clean and spacious, and the outdoor rock shower rocks! I don't mean this review to sound like an ad, but at age 51, sure I've stayed in "nicer" places, but this has to be my favorite hotel of all-time.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with the private outdoor jacuzzi and the private outdoor rock shower. It ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have only been back for 3 days and I already miss the peace and tranquility of this beautiful jungle resort. I had the unfortunate experience of staying there during 4 very raining days. Which is very unusual for this time of year. However, all the staff went the extra mile to be sure the weather did not dampen our fun. The food was great. The rooms were nice. The spa was wonderful listening to the birds and the water from a near by stream. The resrt dried our clothes at no charge. I would return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I intially bought it as a groupon with one of my friends 2 years ago. We came, saw and loved it! Groupon had it again and I certainly bought it again this year- this time to use with my beau. So romantic - beautiful grounds. Cons: Do not drive here from San Jose at night - streets are a tricky drive and I drive in NYC! Pros: great rooms, amazing views of the Volcano, spectacular outdoor rock shower, decent food, great drinks! PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I spent 4 beautiful days & nights at the Lost Iguana in late January. The setting is amazing, the staff is well trained, professional and gracious, service was excellent and the food delicious. I had an amazing massage in the spa while the birds tweeted joyfully in the background accompanied by the sound of water in the nearby stream. The rooms were beautiful and well appointed. I would highly recommend the Lost Iguana to other travelers and hope to return one day myself!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Lost Iguana. Each morning we awoke to the sounds of nature which was absolutely refreshing. Our stay included a complimentary breakfast that I looked forward to every morning. The fresh fruit was my highlight and the omelet station was something my husband looked forward to. Our room was well appointed and we upgraded to the rooms with the rock shower! It was amazing. The staff at the Lost Iguana was excellent! From the check in, restaurant, and best of all our fun happy hour bar tender! It is also very easy to get around the grounds if you are not able to walk...just call Otto and he will pick you up in his cart and take you where you need to be. Don't forget to book your massage at their spa.....it was so relaxing! There are trails to hike right on property if you are looking for a little adventure after breakfast as well. AND don't forget to look up! You will quickly make friends with all the Toucans that frequent the property. I could go on and on.....we had a amazing vacation and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Go for the upgrades and rock shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have to give this hotel a poor rating due to 2 issues. The first being the moldy smell in the rooms. When I made the reservation there were no king rooms available at the time. I was told that there would be a chance for such rooms to be available when we arrived, so I booked the reservation as there were so many positive TA comments. Upon arrival I asked if a king room and/or upgrade was available and that we were were happy to pay for the upgrade. We were told no, that the hotel was full. We were taken to our room and the smell of mold was overwhelming. We attempted to air the room out, but quickly realized that this was an unfixable, not to mention unhealthy situation and that there was no way we could stay in that room. At that point, my husband called to complain and miraculously an upgrade with king bed was available, not less than 30 minutes from the time we were initially told no. That did not sit well with us as it felt like the hotel was trying to keep someone in the possibly worst room in the hotel. The upgrade room
itself was lovely- furnishings, patio with view of the volcano, outdoor hot tub, beautiful shower, comfortable bed- but after the air freshener, that was obviously sprayed just before we entered the room, had worn off, the moldy smell was still present. Not nearly as bad as first room, but still really unpleasant. We understand that this is the jungle and that there had been a stretch of rainy weather, but we feel the hotel should have a better system for managing the mold and mildew in their rooms. We were in other buildings in Arenal including another hotel that did not have this problem. We left 2 days early, will not return or recommend.

Room Tip: Upper level, corner rooms will have better circulation. I recommend you check your assigned room bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest, I am sorry you were here when we had chilly rainy weather. It is difficult to air out the rooms and regret you were bothered by the dampness. I made a point to talk to guests who were in your rooms this past week and they were all happy. We did have a suite available, but not for the days you wanted it. It took a lot of reshuffling to make a suite available for you without having to make you change rooms. This has to be done by our San Jose office and not at the front desk. Sincerely, Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.