We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Lost Iguana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Rohnert Park, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved Lost Iguana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This beautiful resort did not disappoint in any way. The rooms were beautifully furnished with stunning views. The gardens and grounds abound with exotic flora and fauna. The staff was very accommodating and the food fresh and delicious. The spa was most luxurious with amazing massages. It was just what I needed to get on a zipline and fly down the volcano at 35 mi. per hour! If you want to relax in an exquisite exotic location, soak in Tabacon Hot Springs, and have amazing adventures in the rain forest, this is the place.

Room Tip: There is steep walking to the higher level rooms but golf cart rides are readily available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    730
    227
    60
    36
    8
See reviews for
277
507
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My last trip was my 9 and I stayed here 8 of the 9 trips. I Love the place.
I have found it to be a great place, for many reasons. The rooms are beautiful, very beautiful and clean and dry. Moisture can be a problem in the rain forest, but never at The Lost Iguana.

I saw a review giving it a TWO??? It said something about Mold? Never Here. I wish they had a 10!

Room Tip: Lower rooms, delux, on the ends have open air showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A wonderful, relaxing resort that brings out the best of Costa Rica.

Lost Iguana is located in the heart of the Arenal Volcano region (get a rental car though, nothing is within walking distance). It was convenient for everything we did - we went canoneering, white water rafting (both with Desafino, which I'd recommend), hiked the hanging bridges, braved the zip line, and hiked one of the hotels own trails. Town is a 15 minute drive, but there's not much there.

After our busy days it was incredibly relaxing to return to this resort. It's built into a hillside and fits in with the environment making it feel like an authentic costa rican experience.

Our room had a lovely view of the Volcano although it was often obscured by clouds. There was a large balcony, outdoor hot-tub and the room itself was huge. The room's furniture looked to be hand-crafted of costa rican wood which added to the authentic experience.

There was a great (though small in size) pool with swim up access to the bar. The perfect place for happy hour after a busy day! It was heated -- which is needed since February temps were in the high 70s and it was often cloudy.

Most nights we ate dinner at the bar (for a more casual experience than the restaurant) where Jonathan, the friendly bartender, took great care of us. We only ate the costa rican food and it was outstanding. Amazing nachos, beans and rice, guacamole and quesadillas. There is non-costa rican food available but I'd stick to the food they know.

Breakfast was tasty, and was a good opportunity to watch toucans munch on the fruit left out for them.

This is the perfect spot for a 3-4 night stay (we stayed three nights but could have used one more). I'd recommend it for active people. If you were to stay at the resort all day you may get bored. Additionally, it's built on a hill - walking from the lobby to your room is not for the lazy (but there are golf carts).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metepec, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this resort last week and really enjoyed the location and service of the hotel. The food was very delicious being served in a very nice setting. Beautiful views from the room. Definitely to recommend for people who seek quiet times deep in the nature.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a beautiful property, with hiking trails on the premises through the jungle--two hour trails. The rooms are luxurious, the food is good and the staff is attentive. Our guide for a hike of the Arenal Volcano grounds picked us up at the hotel and a hotel shuttle took us to LaFortuna. Spectacular views of Arenal Volcano from the rooms. Good bird viewing from the grounds. Not only were we glad we stayed here, we were also so glad we passed on the more densely populated tourist properties closer to LaFortuna

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This resort was amazing. Our room was clean and comfortable with the best view of Arenal imaginable. We dined in the restaurant and the food and service was great. The location to the hanging bridges and Arenal lake was perfect. We had a great time and wished we could have stayed longer. We have two children 10 and 12, we felt welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

La Fortuna was the funnest stop on our trip. zip lines, safari boat tour and tabacoon coming back to this hotel made it a great end to our 11 day adventure. Hotel room was beautiful. We had an outdoor tub and shower. Mattress was hard but the decor was beautiful. Very welcoming we got a frozen drink bouquet of tropical flowers, nice card and bottle of wine. We saw many different birds. Also saw wild pigs hummingbirds monkey sloths, coyote, raccoon, iguana. Downtown is great. Sitting outside was a delight listening to the sounds of the jungle. Volcano was beautiful great views. We took the hotels jungle hike which was very magical. They also have a maze but looks nothing like the pics. Needs to be kept up better. The resort has lots of steep hills but with one call to the front desk they are at your door with a golf cart ready to bring you anywhere on the resort. Gift shop was excellent. Spa was amazing. Arenal lake was serene. . Only bad thing, taxis are a rip off here but the hotel does shuttle pic up from and to tabacoon and downtown! Thank god bc this hotel is a little further out it was 40.00 everywhere you went. Overall awesome stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.