We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms, Breathtaking View, Great Restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dominical, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms, Breathtaking View, Great Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We recently stayed in a beautiful suite overlooking the Arenal Volcano. We felt we were truly in the rainforest, with our outdoor shower, spa jacuzzi, and 5-star amenities including TV, WiFi, and A/C. The restaurant served amazing breakfast each morning, and we dined there both nights. The pool is naturally warmed by the hot springs, and you can enjoy drinks and food poolside. The grounds are beautiful with lighted paths at night.... the only thing preventing me from giving it all 5-stars is the pool. It was very cool in comparison to other hot springs, and the temperature was a little too cold and uncomfortable at times. But all in all, a great stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    235
    62
    36
    8
See reviews for
286
520
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Lost Iguana Resort and would stay there again in a heartbeat. The staff was warm and helpful and the location is fantastic. Every room has a view of Arenal Volcano and overlooks a rainforest habitat. We saw many fabulous Costa Rica birds and other wildlife right there at the resort. The open-air restaurant is very nice and offers a great breakfast buffet; as you eat you can watch toucans and many more birds eat at a nearby feeding station. In spite of the rain and damp (we went during our winter break which is the rainy season there) our room and bathroom were always kept spotless; all areas have free umbrellas to use while there. The resort asks guests to use quiet voices, which gave the place a wonderful retreat-like feel; since it's on 120 acres it also has its own hiking trails. Lost Iguana is a heartbeat away from the Hanging Bridges rainforest canopy tour, which was a highlight of our trip. The owner recommended September/October if guests wish to have a higher chance of actually seeing the volcano from the resort. The volcano is active, so we hope to go back during that time for a chance to hear it rumble and watch lava flow from our room.

Room Tip: As far as we can tell all the rooms face the rain forest and potentially have a view of Arenal Volca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and loved every one of them. The hotel staff was exceptional, as was the hotel itself. The grounds are very steep, but they have golf carts the help people get around. The very private outdoor shower was a treat! The food was fantastic and the room was wonderful with an incredible view Arenal Volcano.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had an end room on the lower level overlooking the volcano, which you could see from the bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights in a great suite at this hotel. The location and setting are fantastic. While we did not get much of cahnce to enjoy the view from our balcony becuase of hte weather, I would stay there again . Restauant was fair . Best meal was breakfast . Pool is small but ths is not hte place ot go if you wnat sun and pool. You are in teh midst of a beautiful rain forest and the architecture and the layout of the hotel allow you to feel that you are there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

One can always tell when an owner places her guest's satisfaction as a top priority. The staff set the right balance of helpfulness without the otherwise smarmy nature typical of to many resorts. My girlfriend and I have traveled the world extensively for business and pleasure and would rate Lost Iguana as a top pick in its category. Elaine and her crew have struck the right balance of a truly unique commune with nature while sacrificing no creature comforts. We are already planning a return trip in this new year. Absolutely blown away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We saw many great reviews here and decided to stay based on those. The layout is undoubtedly beautiful: one feels surrounded by nature. Staff is helpful but not as outgoing, relaxed and friendly as we saw in other parts of the country. The location is a long way from Fortuna; there is a free shuttle but they didnt tell us about it, so we didnt find out until the last day we were there.
We paid a lot (~$275 per room!) but found nickel-n-diming frustrating. e.g., a $ 10 charge to have ice delivered to the room (there is no ice machine in the buildings). For Christmas eve, there was a mandatory buffet dinner that costs ~ 43 each after taxes and service charge. They were understaffed for this; the whole experience was chaotic. They kept running out of the veggie option (lasagna!). This colored our experience quite a bit. The breakfast was average: we found much more fresh tasty offerings at lower-priced places in Monteverde etc. Wifi was supposed to work in the rooms. We stayed in 3 rooms: it did not work at all. The front desk said 'oh, ok, nothing wrong'.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest, I truly am sorry that we ran out of the vegetable lasagna on our Christmas buffet. We had 7 entrees and we did not expect that the lasagna would be such a big hit. We will definitely make more for next year.
There should not have been a $10 charge for ice to be brought to your room. When we bring room service we do add $10 since it is more expensive to deliver food to your room than when you eat at the restaurant. But we should not be charging for ice. I have already told everyone that taking ice to your room is complimentary. If you would email me or reservations we will be happy to refund your charge for ice and 50% of the charge for your dinner.
The $275 price for the suite is the cost during holidays. If you stay at least 2 nights the current price for a standard is $196, which includes breakfast.
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We continually try to improve by using guests feedbacks. Sincerely, Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had four nights to spend in Costa Rica and researched extensively and have been thrilled with our choice. Owner was on site, and she and all her staff at gracious and helpful at all times. Food is outstanding and well priced for resorts. Location is a little further than others but all tours includ ed transportation. Owner should consider adding shuttles to La Fortuna, as a . Subsidized one would be better than outrageous cab fares to town.

Rooms are great and view is unbeatable. Some people said it was too rustic but I found it a little homey than the big resort uniform room look. Nice tiled floors everywhere. Best part is the resort is actually on a large 329 acre site so we had nice hikes on grounds. Spa is terrific too. Wonderful not crowded sauna and great massage.

Free breakfast in AM was delicious. Looking forward to New years Buffet tonight.

Very comfy beds and no trouble with clean rooms. I would like to send home all Americans though who treat a bar like they were still in College as Frat boys. Not just here but everywhere you go.

Overall, we were very happy here no recommend it to others who want to be in a true rain Forest experience.

Room Tip: Take a downstairs room with the outside shower. Great to have multiple times daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.