We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights in a great suite at this hotel. The location and setting are fantastic. While we did not get much of cahnce to enjoy the view from our balcony becuase of hte weather, I would stay there again . Restauant was fair . Best meal was breakfast . Pool is small but ths is not hte place ot go if you wnat sun and pool. You are in teh midst of a beautiful rain forest and the architecture and the layout of the hotel allow you to feel that you are there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    240
    62
    36
    8
See reviews for
288
526
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

One can always tell when an owner places her guest's satisfaction as a top priority. The staff set the right balance of helpfulness without the otherwise smarmy nature typical of to many resorts. My girlfriend and I have traveled the world extensively for business and pleasure and would rate Lost Iguana as a top pick in its category. Elaine and her crew have struck the right balance of a truly unique commune with nature while sacrificing no creature comforts. We are already planning a return trip in this new year. Absolutely blown away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We saw many great reviews here and decided to stay based on those. The layout is undoubtedly beautiful: one feels surrounded by nature. Staff is helpful but not as outgoing, relaxed and friendly as we saw in other parts of the country. The location is a long way from Fortuna; there is a free shuttle but they didnt tell us about it, so we didnt find out until the last day we were there.
We paid a lot (~$275 per room!) but found nickel-n-diming frustrating. e.g., a $ 10 charge to have ice delivered to the room (there is no ice machine in the buildings). For Christmas eve, there was a mandatory buffet dinner that costs ~ 43 each after taxes and service charge. They were understaffed for this; the whole experience was chaotic. They kept running out of the veggie option (lasagna!). This colored our experience quite a bit. The breakfast was average: we found much more fresh tasty offerings at lower-priced places in Monteverde etc. Wifi was supposed to work in the rooms. We stayed in 3 rooms: it did not work at all. The front desk said 'oh, ok, nothing wrong'.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest, I truly am sorry that we ran out of the vegetable lasagna on our Christmas buffet. We had 7 entrees and we did not expect that the lasagna would be such a big hit. We will definitely make more for next year.
There should not have been a $10 charge for ice to be brought to your room. When we bring room service we do add $10 since it is more expensive to deliver food to your room than when you eat at the restaurant. But we should not be charging for ice. I have already told everyone that taking ice to your room is complimentary. If you would email me or reservations we will be happy to refund your charge for ice and 50% of the charge for your dinner.
The $275 price for the suite is the cost during holidays. If you stay at least 2 nights the current price for a standard is $196, which includes breakfast.
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We continually try to improve by using guests feedbacks. Sincerely, Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had four nights to spend in Costa Rica and researched extensively and have been thrilled with our choice. Owner was on site, and she and all her staff at gracious and helpful at all times. Food is outstanding and well priced for resorts. Location is a little further than others but all tours includ ed transportation. Owner should consider adding shuttles to La Fortuna, as a . Subsidized one would be better than outrageous cab fares to town.

Rooms are great and view is unbeatable. Some people said it was too rustic but I found it a little homey than the big resort uniform room look. Nice tiled floors everywhere. Best part is the resort is actually on a large 329 acre site so we had nice hikes on grounds. Spa is terrific too. Wonderful not crowded sauna and great massage.

Free breakfast in AM was delicious. Looking forward to New years Buffet tonight.

Very comfy beds and no trouble with clean rooms. I would like to send home all Americans though who treat a bar like they were still in College as Frat boys. Not just here but everywhere you go.

Overall, we were very happy here no recommend it to others who want to be in a true rain Forest experience.

Room Tip: Take a downstairs room with the outside shower. Great to have multiple times daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

It is a typical jungle Eco lodge, and after having visited already 3 of them, this is the least well kept. What saves it, is the nice location which is facing Arenal volcano. Everything in the hotel is a bit old now, the cleaning is average if not poor and today at 14.30 the cleaner had not appeared yet. Strange, but when I called the reception they said that " she comes within the day anytime". The gardens are nice, but not cleaned regularly and everything looks as if it needs renovation and deep cleaning. In our room there were some spider webs in the bathroom windows showing that the cleaning was not meticulously done.
On the other side, the pool bar is refreshing, making cocktails and providing tasty snacks. The restaurant for dinner is average and rather pricey.
Although in the rooms, there is a brochure advertising the little shop, the shop is empty and looks as if they are closing down.
A final point, all these resorts around Arenal have no access by public transport to La Fortuna or the surrounding restaurants, therefore you need 30 USD just for one ride with a taxi. So highly recommended to rent a car.
I was disappointed overall, since I have experienced much better lodges during this holiday

Room Tip: Number 6 has a great view and an outside jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest, I'm sorry you felt our property seemed neglected. I'm not sure when you stayed in December, but between November and December we have retiled the pool, laid marble on the restaurant floor, and replaced all the exterior wood. We have new rattan chairs in the dining room and are replacing most of the furniture in the rooms. We are replacing all the hand painted batik bedspreads and robes in the rooms. We have also exchanged the tile countertops in the bathrooms for marble with granite vessel sinks. Our property is on 120 acres so it is not mowed or cleaned. It is intended to give the guests the feeling of being part of the rainforest. I am sorry the hotel was not as you expected. Sincerely, Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I just followed signs to this place not knowing it was a resort! Alex was so friendly and gave me a great rate for a lovely suite with a great view of the volcano. I enjoyed the outdoor shower (first floor only) and later took a soak in the outdoor tub too! The spa is totally worth a visit- the massage room is a great place to relax after a day of hiking- you can hear the animals, enjoy the fireplace, and well, of course, get a great massage. The food was great and the menu prices were affordable. Lots of vegetarian choices as well. I stayed here my last night in CR and personally think if you have to leave, then you should go out with a bang.

Note: I took a hike by myself, which was not advised by the resort. I walked the Dos Rios trail. This is a natural trail, so its not as maintained as Cerro Chato and the volcano trails. About 30 minutes into the hike, something very loud gruffed and lunged at me from a bush. I think it may have been a wild pig, but I turned and ran back before bothering to get a good look. Lesson learned: enjoy the trails, but wear hiking boots/shoes and DON'T go by yourself or if you're not in good enough shape to get out of there if you must!

Room Tip: The bottom floor has a lovely dual outdoor shower. The top floor means you can sleep with the doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My family and I loved this hotel. There are several things that make it special. The first is the arrival experience; we had been heading to this hotel for hours and we were pretty tired. I guess that was evident and our bags were quickly taken to our room by a staff member along with our driver (we had so many bags they drove it up there ha) and we were in the lobby drinking some sort of fruit drink. Really good!

So after my dad signed some papers (less than 30 seconds...seemed like it was already done), we were offered a ride up to the "room", but we decided to walk. This property is pretty hilly and more so than I expected....but it does give you the great view. It is also spread out, but it's fun wandering through the tropical plants on the trails and ending up at the pool or at more trails!

The "room" was amazing. I attached some photos to show you what I mean: A nice sized living/common area with chairs on the back patio with a drop-dead send a postcard view of the volcano. It couldn't get any better in terms of the view. My brother and I shared a room, which was gigantic. I think we both had king beds and the view was amazing as well....the beds were great and it was just a great look. My parents loved their bedroom with an amazing outdoor shower and a outdoor bathtub overlooking the volcano!

It is all very private and I loved how spacious it was. I was most surprised at the size of the room my brother & I shared and how nice the furnishings were.

It was pretty rainy the entire time I was there, but one day we saw the volcano in all its glory and it was epic!

Great hotel if you're in the area and nice for families as some of their villas/casitas are pretty big. Our family loved it and my brother and I could chat/play games all night long and my parents wouldn't be bothered.

The staff is wonderful and the housekeeping is as well. A nice find! However, I don't know if all of their rooms are that big....we got the bigger one just because we had four people with us. But it's worth it because the view is great, it's private and although we're a loving family, it's nice to be able to spread out at times and do different things.

Would love to go back!

Room Tip: Get the bigger rooms/suites....privacy, views and their huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.