We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than desirable ending to our Costa Rica vacation...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
La Habra, California
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Less than desirable ending to our Costa Rica vacation...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The rooms are nice and the grounds are nice. It is very close to the hanging bridges, which is very much worth the experience. However, the reason I cannot give this a better review are for the following reasons:
1) Way too far from the actitivies and restaurantes. With the food being so bad - see comment #2, we felt obligated to go in town for food for each meal.
2) Food was horrible. We were at Lost Iguana for New Years - the food was terrible at $50 per person and they had nothing special going on. We were not the only ones that thought this - as this was something all guests talked about as we were chatting

There is a lot of little critters - frogs and lizards and snakes. This could be very bad for some - but my husband and 4 year old son thought this was the coolest part.

Did not add the level of luxury I would have liked. The little gift shop at the enterance of the hotel is great. We bought almost all of our souviners there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gogreenCR, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay over New Year's Eve. The buffet dinner does include soup, salad, entrees and desserts and the cost is $35 per adult, not $50 as you mentioned. We also have a New Year's Eve party at the Palapa bar / swim up bar in the heated swimming pool. We have free appetizers from 9 - 12 and at midnight we have a complimentary champagne toast and fireworks. Some years we have had singers, sometimes the workers stay and dance salsa with the guests. Every year it is slightly different, but we have had a party for the last 4 years. I am sorry you missed it. Respectfully, Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    258
    67
    36
    8
See reviews for
311
564
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Lost Iguana is a very nice resort--maybe not a five-star like El Tabacon down the street--but still super nice. The rooms were comfortable and the atmosphere is awesome. The fact that there's an extra 80 acres of wilderness make it a really great place to stay, and the views can't be beat.

What we probably loved most, however, was the Golden Gecko Spa. Some spas you go to play the sounds of the jungle while you get your massage. Here, the sounds actually come from a real jungle. The service is excellent as well, and my wife and I fully enjoyed the experience.

A few other quick notes: the restaurant serves delicious food in perfect portion sizes, the swim-up bar is great, and all in all, we loved our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We rented Casitas 051. Two bedrooms and a living room. The best part was the balcony. The view was amazing. It was unobstructed jungle all the way to the Arenal Volcano. The room was well equipped and clean. The wifi was spotty, but you are in the jungle after all. The resort is very unique. Upscale but unpretentious and fits right in the middle of the jungle. It takes about 20 min to get to town, so if you don't have a car, it is a bit far to cab it. There is not much to do on the grounds but tons of stuff all around. The hanging bridges are next door and awesome. Several hiking trails too. The pool is not tiny but not big either. Great swim up bar with view of volcano.

The only negative is the restaurant. The food is pretty bad and overpriced. Everything we tried was too salty. The free breakfast was good..not great.

Overall highly recommend, just plan to eat in La Fortuna.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san pedro
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I loved this place. It is away from town and a $30.00 cab ride into La Fortuna (small town and could go through it in less than 20 minutes). However, the hotel has an employee shuttle that has scheduled times to reserve if you need to hit town.

The hotel is beautiful! We stayed in the spacious room with the jacuzzi tub on the patio, where you can gaze at the volcano. We did get to see it one day without the clouds surrounding it. We actually hiked it too. Warning - there are two guided routes to the volcano, one quick non physical one and the physical 2 hr. one, but you get to climb over volcanic rocks.

The food was good. I loved that breakfast was included in our rate. Hit up the pool happy hr. The best way to go! It's a bit challenging eating outside the resort since there really isn't anything you could walk to once outside.

Clothes do not dry so easily here so you could do their hotel laundry service.

Overall, I really loved this place, especially the people. Go visit Nancy in the gift shop. She's very helpful and speaks very good English.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth getting the upper stairs rooms with the jacuzzi tubs on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

,We spent three nights here and loved it! The jungle is amazing. It is so lush and there are so many different sounds. The view from the room was incredible with all of the trees, plants, beautiful birds and of course, the volcano! My husband and I really enjoyed hiking the trails that are on the property. We also walked to the Hanging Bridges. The views from the bridges were incredible. We took an evening trip to Tabacon Hotsprings and we also went zip lining. The Lost Iguana arranged the trips for us including transportation so it isn't necessary to rent your own car. The food at The Lost Iguana was very good and breakfast is included. We were here in July which is considered the green season but I wouldn't hesitate to travel to Costa Rica at this time again. It mostly rained in the evening so it didn't interfere with our plans and it was nice because the touristy areas weren't full of tourists!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our seven-year-old and it was a great home base for exploring the area. The grounds were beautiful, our room was very nicely appointed and I found the food to be quite good. Unfortunately, we never actually saw the volcano, but I know that our room would have had a fabulous view if the clouds had cooperated! We loved the swim-up bar and we felt like the walk to breakfast was an adventure with all of the different flora and fauna. We rented a car in San Jose and thankfully we got the GPS, which was amazingly spot on with getting us to this property! While in La Fortuna we enjoyed a few great meals in town and did the Baldi hot springs and an awesome zipline tour. We had wanted to stay closer to the volcano, but couldn't find any hotels with availability, but we're so glad we ended up at Los Iguana. FYI - we traveled in March 2010, but I couldn't put that as an option.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We really enjoyed 3 full days and 4 nights at Lost Iguana! Great place, beautiful grounds, friendly staff! We would highly recommend it! Our only downer was the pool was undergoing repair while we were there and so it was off limits - the small swim up pool was available though. We would definately stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.