We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upon Return even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Santa Rosa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Upon Return even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

i haven't been to the lost Iguana for a few years and I loved it then and after having gone back I loved it even more. The spa, which wasn't quite finished when Is fantastic. Even though in Costa Rica the Balinese decor was beautiful and the treatment matched any I ever had in Bali. I loved also wi fi in every room and every night except for one we ate at the restaurant. The food was great and we really found no reason to dine elsewhere. If you want peace, quiet in an elegant atmosphere visit the Lost Iguana.

Room Tip: Every room has a volcano view but we liked the rooms closer to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    241
    62
    36
    8
See reviews for
289
527
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davie,Florida,United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stayed at the lost Iguana hotel and resort/spa for three day's in late november 2011. The staff all spoke perfect english and were extremely helpful. As all the room's are, my suite had a perfect view of the Arenal volcano. There were many extra's included during my stay such as transportation to local attraction's/tour's and La Fortuna, free internet and local call's within Costa Rica etc. Unlike many of the other resort's I visited in Costa Rica the food was outstanding and the waiter's very friendly. I chose to leave my beautiful balcony open while sleeping and was delighted to awaken to two butterfly's on my lampshade one morning and a humming bird in my room the next day. The nature trail's surrounding the hotel were delightful and free. I also took advantage of the spa and recieved a massage beyond anything I've ever experienced. Overall, I would rate this resort first class and recomend it to anyone wishing to partake of both first rate hotel acomendation's coupled with the experince of viewing the rain forest and the volcano. No doubt in mine that this resort rate's a five star

Room Tip: The room's/suite's all face the volcano and rain forest so the quality of the room's are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

Everything was amazing! My wife and i just left and everything was perfect for the two nights we stayed. The rooms were amazing and the view from our room was great! Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

For our stay in the Arenal area we choose Lost Iguana. I was torn between Tabacon and Lost Iguana, but I decided on L.I. because I thought it would be less commercial, less crowded, but still special. I am glad with the choice I made. It had a unique feel, in keeping with the natural surroundings. It was not crowded, but there were others staying there. The Junior Celebrity Suite was great for my husband, niece and I. She had her own room and bathroom.

The restaurant was good - breakfast is included in the price, and is excellent. The grounds are beautiful, and you can see the volcano from the rooms (though it was cloudy when we were there).

Couple of drawbacks -- it IS far to get to -- seems you pass all the other resorts on your way to LI. Also, the pool is pretty limited. It is pretty but small. No hot springs. We actually got an evening pass to use the hot springs at Tabacon.

Room Tip: The Junior Celebrity suite was lovely, but be ready to hike up a large hill when you go to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were there for the thanksgiving weekend. Most wonderful place in Costa Rica. Amazing views, friendly staff, breathtaking grounds. Great hot pool and swim up bar. We were tarvelling with 2 kids age 7 and 9 years - they loved it too. The breakfast was delicious....hot and fresh!!! We stayed in one of the casitas...awesome views...hummingbirds and Toucons in the back yard, it was great to wake up to teh sounds of the forest in the morning. Hanging bridges are a must!!!!!

Room Tip: "Casitas are the best!!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My son and I didn't find any iguanas about our beautifully-appointed room and balcony (with a hot tub, no less), rather a cornucopia of birdlife and tropical rainforest, and a prospect of the now-subdued Arenal volcano just across the valley. This marvelous resort on the outskirts (several miles distant) of La Fortuna, a lively resort town in the north-central highlands of Costa Rica- is reasonably-priced (considering the amenities), staffed by friendly and helpful Costa Ricans, with a very accomplished kitchen. The setting, on a hillside facing the volcano, is lush, private and quiet- although there was lively activity some nights around the small swim-up bar located below the restaurant.
We hope some day to go back.

Room Tip: Reserve a second floor room for a better prospect of the volcano and surrounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Our stay at the Lost Iguana Resort & Spa was to say the least fantastic. The vista from our balcony was breath taking with a view of the Arenal Volcano. Even though the volcano was dormant at the time of our visit the panoramic view of the valley made up for it. The grounds although spread out and extremely hilly were manicured and lush and the resort offered shuttle service to were ever you would like to go on the property.
Our Villa was fantastic with a hot tub on the balcony a separate room with its own entry and its own bathroom that worked out perfectly for our young adult kids. It had a small dinette with a microwave coffee maker and a refrigerator.
The restaurant was very good and the service was friendly and courteous.
The resort was a lillte far from the town of Arenal but a managable drive, about 20-30 min.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.