We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Springs

Save Saved
You added Nayara Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nayara Springs
4 miles west from la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Dinner + $100 spa Credit
Wayne,NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“paradise in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place is beautiful and breathtaking.Gorgeous rooms, romantic,lush gardens of flowers and plants,pool, swim up bar, and great places to eat dinner and relax. It was a sight for sore eyes. Located hidden in the mountains, overlooking the arenal volcano. Breath taking scenery. Rooms are gorgeous, eco -friendly, and designed beautifully.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
78
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just back from Nayara Springs on their Discover Our Best Package. All has been said before and is so very true.
We came from the UK to celebrate our 25 wedding anniversary and we both wanted to be spoiled, treated like royalty and enjoy the best of the best in Costa Rica. This happened from the minute we were picked up until the minute we were returned to the airport.
Jose took us up to The Springs to be greeted by Sharon and a rum cocktail, yummy. Then taken over to Villa 16 to be shown around, WOW! just like the web site, spot on.
Now, we never did see the volcano as it was the start of the rainy season but the rain and outstanding storms made up for it. I will never forget sitting by the pool having a few drinks enjoying the biggest, warmest and freshest storm I have experienced. Everything is so clean, green and sweet smelling, it was a real rain forest treat. Then back to our villa for a coffee and swim in the pool whist watching the leaf cutter ants do their thing lol.
The staff are just the best, each and everyone of them. If I had wanted a polar bear to bring me ice someone would have tried to make it happen for me. No really they would have, it's that kinda place. Just make time to chat and be polite to any staff member, they will remember you and greet you with a big warm smile.
I was up each morning at 5am to walk around both hotels to take in the forest and all the animals that were out and about. On the first morning the staff looked at me oddly but over the next 4 mornings I was meet with "Good morning Wendy, Pura Vida" and even had fresh ground coffee made for me, how cool.
We have nothing to moan about at all, in fact we are going back in February 2016 to stay in a Nayara Suite and see that allusive volcano...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Amazing and breathtaking! Will return next year! The staff are top notch definitely top of the chart hospitality staff and resort. William greeted us and was availbale all hours to make sure we were taken of along with lindsey! Couple names I remember are keilor and elkin from the wine bar wil make you feel at home with friends. Jose, and bismarck are friendly staff that treat you like family. Truly a romantic and breathtaking resort with amaxing food and view of the arenal volcano. Tell them Michele and George said hello!

Room Tip: Villa suite with your own hot spring fed jacuzzi plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful. But even better - and it is difficult to bet the building - is the staff. Every single person is smiling! Does not matter if he/she was a gardener, cleaner, receptionist, driver... It is beautiful to start your day with so many smiles what come with love.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at Nayara for a full 7 days to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. We spent 5 days in the Nayara Suite and then the last 2 nights we upgraded to the Springs Villa (which had the plunge pool). The plunge pool was nice, but a little too warm to enjoy during the day since it was summertime. All of the restaurants were very good and it was nice to have a selection of places to choose from. We didn't care too much for the tapas place (Nostalgia Bar), but the wine bar was certainly a unique way to taste and sample wine. We really enjoyed Sushi Amor - definitely try and make the daily happy hour! We met a lot of amazing and friendly couples at the Sushi Happy Hour (drinks are the only items on the happy hour menu). We went to specifically relax so we didn't seek out many adventures other than a white water rafting trip and a combination tour where we did the hanging bridges tour, waterfall, organic farm for lunch, volcano hike, and hot springs all in a day - both tours we highly recommend. The combination tour was not that exhausting despite it being a 12 hour day; there is plenty of downtime riding in the van going from place to place. All of the staff were extremely nice at Nayara and it felt genuine. Esteban who showed us to our room remembered our name the ENTIRE 7 days! I was floored. Nayara is such a relaxing place...you MUST get a massage in one of the open air rooms. We travel all around the world each year and we enjoyed this getaway very much. The outdoor shower was fantastic, but do know that each room comes with an indoor shower if you prefer. It was really nice to see they had plugs on our patio and next to each chair at the pool - such a nice touch and unexpected! Just a couple of notes: We planned to watch movies in our room at night since there isn't anything going on in the evenings especially after 9 or 10 pm. They advertised free movies, but there weren't many channels in English. They did have a decent DVD selection in the office (DVD players were provided in each room). Just something to be aware of. Also, the rooms are MUCH closer than they appear. Each room feel and looks like its smack dab in the rainforest, but it is deceiving because upon closer look from your patio the rooms are actually very close to each other. This didn't bother us at all, but just something to be aware of. If you book the suites you will have a volcano view, but none of the springs villas have that view. I'm glad we ended up splitting up our trip between the two rooms to get the separate experience. Both rooms were fantastic, you will pleased with whichever room you book. You will not be disappointed with Nayara!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Above and beyond all expectations! We were so pleased with the staff and the accommodations, a true paradise. I have traveled across most of Costa Rica and this is the country's finest. The private plunge pool, outdoor shower, gorgeous landscaping, walking bridge, and the staff makes such an impression. You are sure to know them by name: Lindsey, Daniella, Sharon, Jonathan, Octavio, Lilly, and Bismarck thank you for making our dream vacation a reality!

Room Tip: Villas are the ultimate exclusive getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

There is very little that I can add that hasn't already been shared. However, I will add a few thoughts.

I must start with our Springs Villa driver, Marvin, as he set the tone for the week. He was waiting for us as we existed the airport. Within 1 hour he stopped at a local store for a rest room break. We purchased some beverages for the remaining drive and we could have had lunch if we wanted but were ready to proceed with the drive. Marvin realized my husband enjoys photography and made 4 additional stops for photos. The first stop he surveyed the roadside and found a Blue Jean Dart Frog. I held the frog and it was a great photo op! Then we stopped to see a two toed sloth, then a three toed sloth and then a porcupine. The porcupine stop was a near a "soda" so I purchased some local pastries for the remaining drive which were delicious. The 3 hour drive turned into 4 hours but we didn't care because Marvin was providing us with a wonderful first impression.

William & Sharon and all personal host are wonderful at their jobs. Utilize them, they are very helpful in scheduling tours, spa services, dining reservations, turn down service etc.

Take Andres "bird watching" tour on site offered twice a week. He also offers personal off site tours. We took his Tuesday and Friday am tour and enjoyed both. The first tour was Andres and just us. The tour is at 6:15am.

We enjoyed the a la carte breakfast and dinner at Amor Loco very much. The quality of food and service appears a little better than the food at Altamira.

The spa located on the Villas side is outstanding! I had 2 spa services and both were fantastic.

Yoga offered almost daily, do not miss, this is a must.

We are so glad we choose the Villa side for our vacation. We loved the private mineral pool and used the pool every evening and even on check out morning. The villas are more beautiful in person if that is possible.

One day I spoke to William about going to Eco Danus for a tour and to La Fortuana for lunch. William provided a wonderful lunch spot recommendation "NeNe" and also arranged a driver, Wiberth. He was wonderful and on time when we were ready to proceed to the next stop.

We took a few tours but the must tour is the Cano Negro if you want to see monkeys, birds, wildlife etc.

Pack light as laundry service is provided and returned within the same day.

On check out morning we ordered room service. This is not to be missed. The set up provided by Bryan, Amor Loco Manager, and Robin was absolutely beautiful on the romantic lanai. We were there for 8 days and I am a little sad we only had room service one day.

We loved Nayara Springs and would not hesitate in returning.

Room Tip: Villas room with higher numbers are more private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Springs

Address: 4 miles west from la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With only 16 villas, Nayara Springs is a unique, exclusive hotel with all the facilities and amenities of a 5-star resort. The lavish villas, hidden among the tropical gardens, have breathtaking views of the Arenal Volcano, and each one features its own exclusive pool fed by mineral springs, around-the-clock butler service, an expansive private garden with exterior shower, sleek, four-poster bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Nayara Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nayara Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.