We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly & helpful owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Faro Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cabinas Faro Arenal to your Saves list
Cabinas Faro Arenal
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   | 1.86 miles west from the center of La Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Troy, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly & helpful owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Cabinas Faro Arenal is a beautiful place for staying. It is very close to La Fortuna city and also the different hot springs. The view of the Arenal volcano from the pool is really nice. The property is beautifully decorated with various plants and feels very close to nature. Cabins are neat. We were most impressed by the friendliness of the owner. He was extremely helpful and also provided rides for very low price when he found some free time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We so enjoyed the warm hospitality of Rafael and Rosa-Maria. Their cabins and lovely breakfast area are located in a lovely setting, close to the waterfall (which we loved) and a short drive to all the other local attractions. Rafael is so amazingly generous with his advice and help, always willing to answer questions. We would recommend this very clean, simple, quiet, and attentively run lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I just returned from my vacation in La Fortuna, Costa Rica and had an excellent time. A lot of that has to do with the wonderful family that runs this business. Rafael and his lovely family took me in and and made me comfortable. Whether it was the delicious breakfast that was prepared every morning or Rafael's recommendation for different activities, I will never forget this place. It's a little bit difficult to find, but worth it once you get there. It's close to town and other activities. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The property is beautifully kept. You truly feel like family here and I would recommend it to anyone. If you're looking for some big fancy resort, then this place isn't for you. If you want to be treated kindly and like family then definitely come here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This place is absolutely fantastic. It's a family run hotel, Rafael and Rosa-Maria are wonderful hosts who will do their very best for you in order to have a great stay. The lodge is very well located: within walking distance to the waterfall and Cero Chato hike (both highly recommended).

Room Tip: We stayed in lodge #1 - the first one near the entrance, it is perfectly ok but I think lodges furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is small operation run by a local family. It was very clear to us that this family takes tremendous pride in their hotel and works extremely hard to make sure you're happy. We were thoroughly impressed. The cabin we stayed in had 3 beds with a washroom which included a shower and flush toilet. The shower has hot water but it's through an electric heated shower head (ie there is only one shower tap). So as you turn up the shower pressure the water gradually gets cooler, if you turn down the pressure it gets hotter. There is also a switch on the shower head to adjust the temperature.

Pros:
1) Rooms were very very clean - perhaps the cleanest hotel we stayed in while visiting Central America.
2) The family is very nice and works very hard to please the guests (above and beyond).
3) Beautifully landscaped property with an outdoor pool (very clean).
4) Close to town (5 minute drive) - you will need a car if you stay here.
5) Air conditioned.

Cons:
1) No safe in the room or place to lock up your stuff.
2) No WiFi in the rooms - you have to walk to a common area to get internet
3) No fridge or place to keep your stuff cold while out for the day. But they promptly brought us a bar fridge.

Overall this place was an outstanding property and I'm glad we found it. That being said it's not for everyone. These are cabins in a rural area. If you prefer the typical North American style hotels, you may not like this place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The breakfast was very delicious and hearty. The food varied depending on the day but included typical foods such as gallo pinto with eggs and fruit as well as pancakes with sides. The cabins were clean, well kept, and comfortable. The owners of the cabins were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We just came back from Fortuna would never stay again!They charged 125.00 for three people with two beds.Its far from town you can't walk to the centre of town.The owners wife asked us what we would like for breakfast,and then next day served some scrambled eggs.Then she sat down and ate gallo pinto that we ordered.Also had a makeup bag vanish when we went out for dinner???Door was locked!We stayed in a beautiful place the next day 90$ on the Main Street ,food was included,service great,mini fridge real hot water not a suicide shower.I would not pay more than 10$ each to stay at this place!!!

Room Tip: Go anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Faro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Faro Arenal

Address: | 1.86 miles west from the center of La Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabinas Faro Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cabinas Faro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Faro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Faro Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.