We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Motmot Jungle

The Motmot Jungle
La Fortuna | Represa Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
506 24791170
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In an environment full of flora and fauna in a primary rainforest, you will find one of the most beautiful places to visit in La Fortuna near to the Arenal Volcano.The Motmot Jungle & Mabewa Butterfly Garden!! Here, you will find trails in and out of the rainforest and the best Butterfly Garden area having the opportunity to observe mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians and most colorful butterflies of Costa Rica recognized, within these, the Morpho Butterfly that has large size and striking color for visitors. We have a great offer for all those who visit us, an incoming package to Arenal Hanging Bridges and The Motmot Jungle & Mabewa Butterfly Garden in the same entrance price of Arenal Hanging Bridges, obtaining not only the opportunity to see animals in our facilities but also in the Arenal Hanging Bridges for one price. Call us or email us, we will be more than happy to help you! Your satisfaction is our passion!
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a medium size flower garden with a butterfly "habitat" where they raise butterflies for sale, mostly to US museums and zoos and such. It is no match for your Natural Science Museum's Butterfly habitat and if you're expecting something huge, you're bound to be disappointed. We visited during rain storm and as you might expect there were very few butterflies in the garden itself. But the staff there was friendly and between them and our translator/driver, we had a pleasant enough time.

Would I go back again? Probably not.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“simple spot to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to this place! It was reasonably priced, the butterfly garden was really cool and the little hike afterwards was enough of a challenge for beginners, but still not taxing. Our favorite part was all the guava trees at the end. Even though they are off the trail, the people who worked there said we were allowed to pick the fruit from the tree, and we definitely had a lot of fun visiting each tree to see if there were any. All in all, we were pleasantly surprised by this quaint attraction.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tranquil spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were surprised by the negative reviews - we loved this place! Very reasonably priced. Hundreds of beautiful butterflies. We also saw monkeys, toucans, humming birds and tad poles. The jungle walk was gorgeous though a little scary in parts as there is no handrail. Would definitely return and recommend. If you are saying at the Lost Iguana it is a moderate walk down the road, on the way to the hanging bridges.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englewood, NJ, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

There is no tour here. You walk around a small garden that has some interesting butterflies but there is no guide to tell you anything about what you are seeing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMotmotJungle, Gerente at The Motmot Jungle, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Vivian,

We appreciate your opinion because it helps us to improve our project to continue to grow and provide the best service to the other visitors who come in the future ... Here there is not a tour ... Here we offer the best Butterfly Garden entrance at La Fortuna and included is the entrance to a trail in the primary forest where they have a chance to see many varieties of animals. If people are interested in walking with a guide you can contact us before you come and we will be more than happy to arrange a guide to accompany and a car if people need it

We hope to see you again at The Motmot Jungle

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterinburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stoped by the tourist information office in La Fortuna to book a birds watching tour for the next day. Mot Mot was offered to us by the travel official. So we took a guide for 30 USD and paid a 10 USD entrance fee per person. Next morning we arrived at 5.50 AM and the tour itself was scheduled for 6.00 However, the guide (who as it turned out later was a free lancer not related to Mot Mot) came at 6.15 As it turned out later the guide was totally unfamiliar with this place and asked the local lady wich path to take and where to go. We were a little bit concerned with the fact that the guide did not know where to go, but still we started the trip. First we past through the butterfly garden, which was rather small, furthermore all butterflies were sleeping at such an early hour and it was totally useless to visit them at that moment. So we saw just a couple of butterflies, which we later saw in abundance flying freely in Rincon de la Vieja Volcano park. Then we proceeded to the forest trail trying to spot some birds. There were no birds in the forest, at least none of them were seen. Apart from that there were a lot of mosquitoes around that were biting us severely. So during 40 minutes of walk we mostly saw trees but you may see much more picturesque forest in Puentes Colgantes, and other national parks of Costa Rica. As we came back to the reception completely disappointed with the fact that we woke up at 5 AM in the morning and saw nothing at all, our guide showed us an interesting piece of grass that was closing its leaves when you touch them. That was the only positive memory we had abot the Mot Mot jungle place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Motmot Jungle also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to The Motmot Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Motmot Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.