We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1000% recommendation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fortuna Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fortuna Suites
Save
You added La Fortuna Suites to your Saves list
101-4417 Apartado, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“1000% recommendation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

When we arrived, one of the hosts, Robert, welcomed us affectionately with a fruit shake. He showed us our apartment and gave us a map of La Fortuna. Our apartment (Nr. 4) was very clean, had a living room (couch, table, tv, fan), a kitchen (dining table, dishes, sink, big refrigerator with freezing compartment, microwave, no possibility to cook), two (!) bathrooms and a bedroom with a/c & fan and a very comfartable bed. It was very nice and it felt like coming home after our trips. When we asked Robert for tour-advices, he gave us some files and recommended some activities. In fact, he helped us very much with the planning of our program during our stay (unfortunately only three nights). As we sat on the beautiful balcony with a very nice view on the volcano, we also met the two other hosts - Jessy and Buddy (very small, funny dog). Every morning we got one of the best breakfasts with lots of fresh fruits, coffee or tea, fruit juice, eggs with avocado slices, toasts, butter and jam. The location of La Fortuna Suites was perfect: Very quiet and safe and only 3 minutes to walk to La Fortuna downtown, where you get everything you need.

Summary: We stayed 17 nights in Costa Rica at 6 different places/hotels and although La Fortuna Suites offered neither beachfront nor pool, it was the best accomodation on our trip. Best apartment, best breakfast and the best hosts! Jessy and Robert are the most helpful and friendliest hosts we have ever met! Thank you so much for everything!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks very much for the review!! Glad that you enjoyed your stay!!! you're welcome back any time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
52
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The management, the ambiance, the amenities- everything you could hope for! This gem of a B&B was an amazing experience all around! So close to town, it offers immediate access to everything and anything you might need (grocery, souvenirs, entertainment, etc.). Bob & Jessy were so helpful and entertaining, making the trip so much more enjoyable. Waking up to that view and delicious breakfast every morning is so refreshing! Highly recommended for anybody staying in the area!

Room Tip: Each room has its own benefits and quirks- but this place is as close to perfect as you're going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks for such a glowing review!! We really appreciate it! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This very cozy B&B is located in the heart of La Fortuna, only two streets off the main road and within walking distance of anything you would need in town.

The Suites is located in a neighborhood, so we originally mistook it for another house and drove by. However, Robert came out to greet us and get us settled in. There is limited parking, but you could easily fit two SUVs next to each other inside the gates. The street isn't very busy so I doubt parking there would be an issue.

The suite was well appointed, with a couch, full sized fridge, sink, bathroom with shower stall, and a bedroom with A/C and a tempur-pedic bed, which was super comfortable and not at all hot. Both the living room and bedroom had ceiling fans, which kept the temperature tolerable without having to turn on the A/C. There was also a big screen TV, but that never got used.

Robert was very helpful in getting us oriented. We were starving after a long trip, but he pointed out several eating options and also had to useful map with ATM locations, town landmarks, etc. He also had a useful tourbook (through Jacomar) and provided recommendations based on what we were interested in doing while in the Arenal region.

Breakfast...an outstanding introduction to Costa Rica, with sliced fresh fruit (with the juiciest ripe mango), toast, Costa Rican coffee, eggs, and orange juice. Perfect start to a long day of adventures.

Very pleased with the accommodations, service, and overall experience. I recommend La Fortuna Suites to anyone interested in spending an intimate, relaxing time in the heart of town.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We've been really lucky to have such great guest. Thanks for the review, & we're glad that you made La Fortuna Suites a part of your vacation. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at La Fortuna Suites for three nights as the first stop of our Costa Rica trip. We did not have a car and this was a perfect location that enabled us to be close to town and have access to the nearby Arenal activities, but far enough of the main street that it was quiet. Great hosts who were very helpful in assisting us with transportation, activities, etc. both prior to our visit and during. The breakfast was delicious and filling, the beds are super comfortable, and having Netflix and Apple TV were a great touch to come back to after a long day of adventures. I highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for the review!! Making guest happy is always the goal, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had two nights at La Fortuna Suites and absolutely loved our stay, we tried to stay longer but unfortunately for us they were full. Robert and Jesse have had the place for about 18 months and have spent a lot of time and taken a lot of care over the renovations so each of the apartments has some lovely touches including the fabulous (Tempur) mattresses that everyone has mentioned! The rooms also have apple TV's and netflix which we enjoyed as La Fortuna seems to go to bed quite early and wakes up early. There is a lovely sitting area outside room 2 (which we were in) where breakfast is served and on a clear day the view of the volcano is spectacular. It takes less than 5 minutes to walk into town, the waterfall is a 5-10 minute drive away (well worth a visit) as is the zipwire.

Robert is front of house and does a great job of being friendly, informative and helpful but without being over bearing. He has great local knowledge of where to go and which tour companies to use which we appreciated. Breakfast was quite simple - fruit plus eggs and toast but was very nice and for the price they charge its excellent value. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are truly glad that you made La Fortuna Suites a part of your vacation! & we really appreciate the glowing review!!! Keep us in mind for future travels, you're welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The lodge is beautiful and modernly decorated with a breathtaking view of Arenal volcano from the deck (on clear days). The room was clean and spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast - fresh fruit, eggs, bread, coffee/tea, juice - was always delicious. Bob and Jesse were great hosts, eager to help us whenever we had a question or need and refreshed us on arrival with amazing fruit smoothies. It was the prefect place to start our honeymoon adventure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks for the review!! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Fortuna Suites at the end of our honeymoon. We were not disappointed. When we arrived, our hosts made us fresh fruit smoothies. Yum. The bed was really comfortable, the best one we slept on in Costa Rica (Costa Rican beds can be rock hard). The breakfast every morning was delicious. I loved drinking my morning coffee with a view of Mt Arenal in the background. Robert and Jesse were both really nice. They were helpful and recommended local things to do, see, and eat.

I was not a fan of La Fortuna itself, it felt like a mexican, over-touristed, spring break hot-spot. But, I have nothing bad to say about the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for the review!! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fortuna Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna Suites

Address: 101-4417 Apartado, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fortuna Suites is located just off the main streets of downtown La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A small town bustling with fun, and said to be "the adventure capital of the world!" At La Fortuna Suites you'll find the most comfortable Memory Foam beds in Costa Rica, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton linens, custom designed furniture, stylish accommodations, 40' T.Vs, Netflix, WiFi, your own kitchenette, and a friendly concierge. We also serve a complimentary breakfast each morning. We have four fashionable apartments, each with a maximum occupancy of two adults. Each suite includes a queen sized bed in the bedroom, a futon in the living space, private bathroom, & kitchenette (no cook top). If you've ever visited Costa RIca before, you'll appreciate how stylish, and comfortable La Fortuna Suites is. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna Suites Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fortuna Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.