We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fortuna Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fortuna Suites
Save Saved
You added La Fortuna Suites to your Saves list
101-4417 Apartado, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Delhi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

La Fortuna Suites is very well located- within a couple of minutes walk from the main town. The balcony in the house over looks the Arenal volcano. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable!! Jessy and Robert are amazing hosts!! They helped us plan our itinerary, and made our evenings more fun by joining our group of 8. One of the highlights of being at La Fortuna Suites is the scrumptious breakfast- a perfect start to the day. And I have to mention Buddy, the little dog of the house- who was totally adorable :) Thank you Jessy and Robert!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks so much for the review. We wish you much success & joy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
47
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We arrived at La Fortuna Suites at 10pm after a three hour drive from San Jose. I was concerned that we would have problems checking in so late. However, Robert, the owner, greeted us with a warm welcome. The hotel is cozy and located in town, which is lovely to visit in the evening. We enjoyed fresh fruit and a wonderful breakfast every morning. Our room was comfortable with modern amenities. It was amazing to leave our room and walk out on the deck to see an awesome view of Arenal Volcano. Robert was personable and more than willing to share his knowledge of Costa Rica. Our stay was so relaxing and comfortable. We had the added benefit of being close to town and the serenity of being near Arenal. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo, Limon, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wow, what a find. This hotel is amazing, the place, the rooms, the owners. Just beyond great. All the rooms include a large screen tv with apple tv, A/C, comfortable seating areas and the best find is the tempurpedic beds. Just amazing, everything was great, includes breakfast in the morning and as well is amazing. Just over all we will definitely return if we come back. Keep up the great work

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs are nice when it is way too hot outside, they keep you nice and cool. But the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

When we travel, only the best is good enough for us. What a surprise this place was. The Hiltons & the Ritz can't compete with La Fortuna Suites because they have something words cannot describe. The personal service that Robert & Jessey cheerfully provide is almost intuitive. If we needed or wanted something, they would magically find a way to have it at the room in a few moments. The time we spent just "hanging out" was sprinkled with happy & funny conversations & information about local activities. The rooms are awesome. Beds & sheets are better than our Ritz experience in Paris & NY. Big screen TV with movies & the internet access are first class. All of LaFortuna is within walking distance, bikes with big baskets are available also. This place is truly amazing...words can describe this fresh & new B&B, but they can't describe the experience of the visit thanks to Robert, Jessey and their little dog Buddy. enjoy & Pura Vida

Room Tip: Get the room with the French Doors leading to the balcony with a beautiful view of Aerial Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our introduction to Costa Rica was made very comfortable by the staff here. Robert, Jessy and of course their loyal security guard Buddy the dog. Robert was extremely attentive to what we may or may not need, and knowledgeable about Fortuna and Costa Rica in general. We stayed there for about 3 days and each day we felt more welcomed than the prior. The hotel is about 2 "Costa Rican blocks" from the main road which is about a 3 minute walk. The rooms were all clean and well maintained, modernized and aptly decorated. We stayed in the front suite upstairs which gave us direct access to the balcony from our living room which also gives a great view of the Arenal Volcano. The serenity of having breakfast early in the morning looking over to your left and seeing a mighty volcano is breath taking. I would definitely recommend this place and look forward to staying here again definitely the next time im in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the La Fortuna Suites. Our hosts Jessy, Bob and little Buddy went out of their way to accommodate our every need. The rooms are new & very nicely decorated and very clean. Each have a refrigerator, large screen TV with A/C and ceiling fans. The memory foam beds were so comfortable we did not want to get up! The B & B is centrally located one street off the main drag on a nondescript street. Just turn by Alamo Car Rental and go one block to the unpaved rocky road. Our breakfast was first class. Bob was nice enough to get up and prepare it for us at 5:30 am so we could get to our activities. Breakfast was a large bowl of fresh fruit followed by 3 delicious varieties of toasted bread, delicious scrambled eggs with ham and tomatoes. Great fresh juice mix of peach and orange. The rain shower head had plenty of power but the water was not as hot as we prefer. Bob organized our trip to Arenal and an in-room massage for me for $40. Give it a try, you'll be happy you did!

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony views of Arenal look so close you feel you could reach out and touch it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, the best service, very clean and new. Friendly people, quiet area of town, games room, big tv for relaxing after a big day of adventures. Definately the best hotel on our trip. You walk in the door and are offered a beer in your room, the option for breakfast in bed. Great place. Hit it up for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fortuna Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna Suites

Address: 101-4417 Apartado, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fortuna Suites is located just off the main streets of downtown La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A small town bustling with fun, and said to be "the adventure capital of the world!" At La Fortuna Suites you'll find the most comfortable Memory Foam beds in Costa Rica, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton linens, custom designed furniture, stylish accommodations, 40' T.Vs, Netflix, WiFi, your own kitchenette, and a friendly concierge. We also serve a complimentary breakfast each morning. We have four fashionable apartments, each with a maximum occupancy of two adults. Each suite includes a queen sized bed in the bedroom, a futon in the living space, private bathroom, & kitchenette (no cook top). If you've ever visited Costa RIca before, you'll appreciate how stylish, and comfortable La Fortuna Suites is. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna Suites Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fortuna Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.