We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, cute cabins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas La Catarata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas La Catarata to your Saves list
Cabinas La Catarata
Road to Fortuna Waterfall | On the left side, 700 meters up road to Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, cute cabins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My mom and I stayed here on a recent weekend trip to La Fortuna and really enjoyed it. The cabins are rustic but cute and great for the location. It definitely has a rustic feel, nothing fancy but comfortable with a kitchen, warm water. In my opinion, there is so much to see and do that you won't find yourself sitting in your cabin all day.

The hosts are really great. Jonathan who works on the property is EXTREMELY knowledgeable and will give you all great tips and suggestions for things to do in La Fortuna, especially if you are looking to stay away from the large tours.

One thing to keep in mind, is that it's about a 5-7 min drive into town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The cabins and rooms and spacious, comfortable, and clean. Without a car the few kilometers between places can add up.

This place was definitely in the top 3 accommodations my group found during our month-long trip. It was scenic and the cabins were rustic, while still having luxuries like wifi and hot water. Felix and his family were very helpful despite the language barrier. This place was a nice, inexpensive break from cheap hostels, and with only three people in our group it was about the same price to split a small cabin ($15/person) as a private room at a hostel.

The only drawback is the location. Another reviewer mentioned it was walking distance to downtown (4km) and the waterfalls (3km). While these are not huge distances, I would hesitate to call an 8km round trip walk to downtown "walking distance." Without a car we found ourselves over-reliant on taxis to get around. By and large, La Fortuna did not seem like a particularly pedestrian oriented place; a car is required to get to almost any of the attractions. But back to the point: the cabins are secluded, which is very nice, but can also be difficult for budget travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at Cabinas La Catarata, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks you for your review, happy you enjoyed your time here at Cabinas La Catarata.
Just to clarify for those reading, La Fortuna is 2 klm away and the road to town is equipped with a side walk and is quite scenic. There is a 76 year old lady who lives in the last Cabin for over a year now and she takes the stole to town 4 days a week, pushing a cart full of groceries. The round-trip to La Furtuna from Cabinas La Catarata is 4klm not 8klm as stated in this review and really is not that difficult,, for those of you who cannot walk for 20 minutes a taxi to town is $4. Most of the Tours provided in la Fortuna include transportation and the Fortuna Waterfall is 2klm from Cabinas La Catarata not 6. If you are a person that is not interested in walking or doing any activities who come to La Fortuna, the adventures Capital of Central America, than maybe you should consider other options. Please do not let this review prevent you from staying in one of the most affordable, peaceful, safe, quit location available in all of la Fortuna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was out first stop during our 10 day trip to Costa Rica. We stayed 4 nights in the 3rd cabin. There were two of us and we paid for the entire cabin. My wife felt a bit like it was camping, but I felt like it was great. Clean cabin, warm water, clean towels, fans in bed room, and free wifi. We also ate breakfast each morning at the cabinas, it was really delicious. Felix and his family were great hosts, they even washed our clothes that we had hanging in our cabin! The birds were abundant at their place, it was close to the rio fortuna which you could also hear, and great view of arenal volcano. Lola the parrot knew how to say hola and que pasa. Tombo the dog was very friendly and would take you on a walk to the river leading the way. Would stay here again if we ever make it back to Costa Rica!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I loved this place, and even ended up staying for 11 nights. The owner, Felix, and his wife were great hosts, keeping the cabins clean and preparing a very good breakfast for us each morning. There was no time schedule and we ate the included breakfast as early as 5.45am a couple of days and as late as 9am. The cabins are very rustic and basic but have everything we needed including a small kitchenette that we managed to cook lunches and dinners without any problems. Felix would show us toucans and a multitude of other birds that came through the beautiful grounds each day, especially at banana feeding time.

Jonathan and Sofia in the PACR travel office on the grounds of the cabins were very helpful with tours and local advice, and also assisted the cabin owners with guests due to the owners lack of English.

Excellent value for money with probably the best hosts we've had on our 13 month trip through central and south America. They even did our laundry for free!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to to stay in a quiet place right outside the city and this was it. Rustic cabins that you can walk to the La Fortuna Waterfall from. It is a bit of of trek but gorgeous all along the way. A great opportunity to see some wildlife on the way and stop at a little stand that sells fresh coconut water. The family that owns is is really sweet too and got up early to make us breakfast and drive us to the bus to catch our flight since we had to leave before the cabs run. Also nice to fall asleep listening to the sounds of nature.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The cabinas are conveniently located within walking distance to downtown and to La Fortuna waterfall. The grounds are very much a tropical garden feel with dozens of flower and bird species surrounding the property and the river running nearby. Felix, the owner, helped us with an umbrella for the rainy evenings and fresh bananas and plantains. Lola the parrot and Tombo the dog add to the ambience of the place. The kitchenettes are functional and the cabins were cleaned daily along with fresh towels provided. We only had trouble with the wifi for most of the trip which was a hassle since we had to coordinate onward transportation and lodging for Panama. Overall a friendly host family and tranquil place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second to the last cabina which offered more privacy and closer access to the path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a good central place close to many of the attractions around La Fortuna. Kitchenettes are handy and the cabinas are close enough to town for a cheap cab drive or pleasant walk for groceries. The chocolate tour is arguably the best in Costa Rica with much to eat at the end. Birders will appreciate the variety of species that live around the cabinas and surrounding area. The river is just behind the cabinas and is a pleasant place to find poison dart frogs and other wildlife. The accommodations come with breakfast, which is a real breakfast. You'll feel relaxed and refreshed if you stay here. It's a lovely place with lovely people.

Room Tip: We had a cabina close to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas La Catarata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas La Catarata

Address: Road to Fortuna Waterfall | On the left side, 700 meters up road to Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, Peaceful, Affordable and Safe Accommodation. Cabinas La Cataratas is minutes from downtown, situated alongside Rio Fortuna and 5klm from the Arenal Volcano. Cabins have a Volcano view and access to a natural swimming pool. Cabins are equipped with kitchen, fans, satellite TV, hot water and WiFi. Large loft style Cabins available for groups of up to 8. Cabinas La Catarata is also Home to Paradise Adventures Costa Rica, La Fortuna’s new adrenalin info center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Cabinas La Catarata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas La Catarata Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas La Catarata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.