We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Always Remember This Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
SPRING AT HOT SPRINGS!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadalphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Will Always Remember This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

My husband and I, along with our two boys ages 8 and 13, all loved the volcano lodge! We are a well traveled family and have stayed at many hotels in beautiful locations over the years but this one will be hard to beat. First of all, Arenal is a very cool place for adventure. Zip lines, ATV riding, Canyoning, Hiking and all with that awesome volcano in sight everywhere you go! This place was beautiful. The hotel grounds were gorgeous. There are flowers, butterflies and the greenest green foliage you will ever see. It was super clean and the staff was very friendly. I don't have a single complaint about the volcano Lodge. We are super picky and not impressed easily. Stay at this hotel. You won't be sorry!!!!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    569
    100
    21
    4
See reviews for
334
768
41
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

My husband, 2 teenagers and I stayed here the end of May. The location, views of the volcano, grounds, and staff were all great. It was only a $5 cab ride into La Fortuna. This is a convenient location for the ziplining, rapelling, and hikes we did. We stayed here 2 nights and at a high end property 2 nights. In hindsight, I would have stayed here all 4 nights. The rates are great for what you get. The rooms are nothing special, but we were in them so little, it wasn't an issue for us.

  • Liked — Value, view of the volcano and location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

This was one of our favorite hotels in Costa Rica. We were three young girls traveling alone. We always felt safe, the rooms were clean, the service was excellent and the food was good and fairly inexpensive. The hotel is very nice for the price and the property and view of the volcano are beautiful.

  • Liked — The service, view and property.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

Just returned from 2 nights at the Volcano lodge. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this place was considering the price we paid. Our room was large, comfortable and what we especially liked was that the rooms are maybe 4 to each building and spread apart, so you can open your window shades completely have a perfect view of the volcano without having to worry about people passing by,. You have privacy! You can even see the volcano from the shower!!
The pool/jacuzzi area is nice. The staff friendly and efficient. No problems here, we had a wonderful stay!

  • Liked — Beautiful landscaping.
  • Disliked — Hot tub needs to be a little hotter.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

Volcano Lodge was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. We were a group of 3 girls traveling to Costa Rica for the first time (mid 20s), and we were a little apprehensive about traveling alone. Thus, after looking at all the reviews, Volcano Lodge looked like a nice, safe, clean place to stay. We stayed during peak season (near holy week), and we truly got WONDERFUL service. Their grounds are absolutely breathtaking, and their service is out of this world. We also stayed at the Marriott San Jose ( a 4 star resort), and I would have to say that Volcano Lodge was more of a treat than the Marriott. The food is relatively inexpensive, but very tasty. The free breakfast that is included is mouthwatering, and the coffee. . well . .was wonderful. It was easy to book tours from the hotel-we did EVERYTHING in arenal and monte verde quite easily from this location, and the staff was also very helpful in our transportation needs (to their hotel from the airport in san jose . .and back to san jose 3 days later). They also offer internet, for a pretty inexpensive price-which came in handy when we were trying to contact our friends/family back home. The pool/pool bar area is so beautiful, and a fun experience. The jacuzzi is not that great (i.e. the water is not warm), but the hot springs are just around the corner from the Volcano Lodge, so it wasn't a big deal at all.

Overall, would I stay here again?! OF COURSE. I've travelled a lot, throughout the world, and Costa Rica was one of the most charming places I have visited, and I can sincerely say that the Volcano Lodge had a lot to do with my positive impression of this country!

  • Liked — The Staff and Beautiful Premise
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

Stayed at the Volcano Lodge at Arenal for 3 nights. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The air conditioner needs time to cool the room down as they tend to keep the windows open and the air conditioner off. We are from the mountains in Colorado and tend to like things cooler than most.
The grounds are absolutely beautiful! The flora is gorgeous. The rooms are layed out so they all get a view of the Volcano from their back porch. The back porch has a table and 2 chairs for sitting and looking at the volcano. We stayed in Bldg 3 which is just 4 rooms and near the inner pool and dining area. There is an outer dining room (at night) and pool near the entrance also.
The earlier reports claimed that you could see the lava flow at night from here, but that is wrong! The lava is flowing on the south side at this time and locals told us it has been that way for about a year. We did drive to the south side and get to look at the lava flows. We were able to see the volcano 'belch' several times and the resulting plumes of smoke from the back porch.
Breakfast was at the inner dining room and was very good, including cooked to order eggs and omelets.
We ate at both the outer and inner dining rooms (they have somewhat similar menus but the outer dining room is slightly fancier), and they were both delicious. We also ate in La Fortuna at the Vaca Muca (?) which was just so-so.
This is a beautiful place, but there is definately no night life. We tried going to the local discoteque one night. It supposedly opened at 9:00pm, but absolutely no one was there at 9:30pm when we checked. This was a major bummer for our 18 YOA twins!
The hotel was very good and we would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — landscaping
  • Disliked — lack of area info in rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

We loved this hotel, great location. It is a good value for such hotel and great service.

  • Liked — convinient location, good price and service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.