We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
murfreesboro,Tn
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Stayed two days at the lodge and got to see the volcano on the last day. The rooms were nice and the grounds were full of flower and hummingbirds. The food was a little pricey but good. Service was alway excellent. I would recommend staying here for the view and the beatiful flowers.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    488
    78
    17
    2
See reviews for
286
664
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

The Volcano Lodge is a large resort. The staff was helpful and booked our tours and Interbus as well as called us cabs and recommended tours. However the resort is big so it does not have a quaint feel. The rooms were clean and the view was amazing. We could lie in bed and look at at the volcano.

The resort in surrounded by fields and nature and is 15 minutes from La Fortuna. There are no public buses so you have to take a $7 cab. Therefore the resort in quiet but there is not much to do and there are only two restaurants. If you are looking for more things to do, I would recommend staying at a hotel in La Fortuna

The food was great especially at the Sura restaurant. The portions are huge and they have a great variety of food.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Volcano Lodge July 22-25th. We arrived at SJO at noon, rented a car and drove straight to La Fortuna. Although we were exhausted after the long drive, we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Not only is is tucked away from the main road for added seclusion, but the views are AMAZING! I also think for the price we paid - we got a heck of a deal. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was spacious, clean, and temperature controlled (thank you, A/C!). There is a small 15minute trail around the hotel grounds that is beautiful and serene. And if you're lucky - you might see a monkey or two! We had such a great time in Arenal (our favorite place we visited in Costa Rica) that when we return - we're definitely going to stay at Volcano Lodge again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Stayed at the Volcano Lodge for 3 days....we were sad to leave! The staff was very friendly and super helpful. Lester at the front desk (concierge) was extremely helpful to us throughout our stay...he offered some insight and advise and was just an all around nice guy. The rooms are nice, spacious and air conditioned (which i think was a must!!) A patio with 2 rocking chairs off the back of the room is a nice touch. The hot tub and pool area is great! And one thing that was very important and helpful to us is that the food was actually pretty good!!! We ate the breakfast buffet in the mornings, had lunch there a couple of times and dinner a couple of times. It was nice after a long day of adventures that we could just come back to our hotel and go to dinner with out having to leave!! This was very, very wonderful.....because, let me tell you, you will be exhausted after your day of exploring in Arenal and it was great to be able to just know that we were at least going to have a good meal after wards. That alone is enough reason to return to the Volcano Lodge when we visit Costa Rica again!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!! I would say that is good for both couples and families.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Rooms are very nice and each has a patio with 2 leather rockers and a great view of Arenal volcano. Room 217 is a hummingbird paradise with loads of red flowers very near the patio. I spent hours sitting there with binoculars, saw loads of birds in the trees - parrots, many yellow birds, huge hummingbirds, toucans. The foods in Sura restuarant by the pool was very good and the menu had a lot of choices, reasonable prices too. The other restaurant near the road was a little more formal with tablecloths but food was great there too. Getting back to the room, we did have a small problem with ants in the bathroom which came out at night, but when we mentioned to front desk, they sent someone with bug spray and then no problem. The room could have used tissues and clock which were not there. Pool was very nice and perfect temperature.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryanny143
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

The hotel itself is neither spectacular or terrible - some of the rooms (about 7) have exceptional views of the volcano, but the rest of the lodge seems to be mediocre.
Our biggest (and perhaps only) problem was with the staff. We had booked a package, which they were entirely unaware of upon our arrival. After some frustrating explanations back and forth, we finally worked it out.
The food at the restaurant is pretty decent, albeit quite rich. The spa is underwhelming and the Swedish massages, while they are by nature not as intense as deep tissue, very even weaker than one would expect.

Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolcanoL, Sales & Reservations Manager at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review, August 19, 2009
Hello. We welcome your comments and will take into account, to improve longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Okay, here's the deal...we were in Costa Rica with a large group from church to do some mission work in the Alajuela/San Jose area. After a week of staying in a 'rustic' dormitory type environment with 25 new friends my wife and another couple stayed behind in Costa Rica longer than the rest of the team to see the sights. We only had a few days so we decided to go to Arenal area/La Fortuna based on the fact that none of us have seen an active volcano. Some friends who live in Costa Rica set us up with the Hotel Paraiso for 2 of the 3 nights we would be in the area - but could not get us in the first night. So I went online and using Expedia (through TripAdvisor) found the Volcano Lodge.

Maybe it was just because we were going from a dorm type environment with no A/C (and no screens on the windows, and communal showers, etc...but hey, we were on a mission trip!) - but the Volcano Lodge was truly a blessing. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Hotel rooms are outstanding - clean (spotless), with comfortable beds, excellent air conditioning, big roomy bathrooms, and great views.
2. The grounds are gorgeous - truly representative of the tropics (reminded us a lot of Hawaii). Everywhere you looked there was color and beautiful flowers and plants, plus tons of hummingbirds.
3. The pools were great - both have hot tubs (the one in the front is covered, the other one near the Sura restaurant is massive and very secluded but still with a great view of the Volcano)
4. The service was first rate, especially from Yeine (not sure if that is the proper spelling, it is pronounced Janie) and Lester at the front desk. Very courteous, friendly and provided excellent service.
5. The two PCs in the lobby with free Internet were a nice feature that we took advantage of. Some guests tended to stay on for a longer time than the recommended 15 minutes but it was still very convenient

Cons:
1. Not sure there is anything that was significant enough to be included. Are the walls thin, like another reviewer noted? Yes, they are - but not enough to be a problem. The roofs are tin and when it rained (which we got a lot of, unfortunately) it is loud - but in a good way. Not sure what the reviewer who complained about the lighting was talking about - we did not notice it to be too dim. There are some cows that moo loudly in the morning in a neighboring field as well but we did not find that to be a problem. The food at Sura restaurant (the one in the back, we never made it to the one out front near the lobby) was pretty good overall. The breakfast buffet was at Sura everyday and it was okay to good, with made to order eggs being the highlight. I had the "housekeepers homemade soup" one lunch and it was absolutely delicious - full of meat stock, veggies, peppers, etc with some spices that give it some kick. My wife had a chicken sandwich at lunch that was also excellent. We had steaks there one night for dinner and while the portions were large and the price reasonable my filet was undercooked. I thought the prices were pretty reasonable overall, again I don't agree with the reviewer who thought the food was expensive.
2. The rooms with double beds (I think we stayed in 118?) are not as nice as the rooms with king beds (we stayed in 217), at least from our experience. The king bedrooms are a little nicer with more added touches (i.e. mood lighting).

Please note that we did not try out any of the spa services while there.

Because we did not know the area and the roads in Costa Rica are worse than I even imagined we had a bus company take the four of us in a van to Arenal and are glad we did, even at a cost of $130 one way. I think we probably could have made it but street signs are lacking and I did not want to get lost. We did, however, rent a car while in Arenal on the middle day of our stay and saved having to spend a lot of money on taxis...we were able to drive to the Hotel Observation Lodge (closest to the volcano) and enjoyed the views from there (lunch in their restaurant, quite frankly, sucked) as well as some hiking on their trails, where he heard but did not see a howler monkey (kinda freaky!). We also had dinner in town at La Choza de Laurel (or something like that - located next to the Burger King), the food was great, plentiful and reasonable (our friend said it was his best meal while in Costa Rica).

Maybe the only real con to this place is that they do not have a plethora of hot springs as other resorts in the area do. However, we heard that you can still experience the springs at other resorts or parks for a slight fee.

To give you an idea of how much we liked this place, after we spent the second night at the Hotel Paraiso (a resort with much higher billing, has 8-10 hot springs, just a couple of minutes up the road) we were so disappointed that we returned to the Volcano Lodge for the third night of our stay in La Fortuna.

Would we stay here again if we returned to the area - you betcha. Great room, great staff, gorgeous facility at a reasonable price overall...does not get any better than that!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.