We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and wonderful experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Durham, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Value and wonderful experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed here earlier this month, and had a blast. We were able to get an amazingly low rate, but the hotel was anything but a budget hotel. The room was very clean and had a great view of the volcano. The pool and hot tub area were really relaxing and nice. We got there late our first night and had to eat at the hotel restaurant, which was overpriced and not really worth it. The staff at the front desk were great, they helped us get rides, and book excursions, and were friendly and patient.
Breakfast was okay, and the grounds were beautifully kept. This was also close to everything we wanted to do, such as Eco Termales (awesome!), and La Fortuna. It was also convenient that there was free internet access in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    703
    442
    74
    13
    2
See reviews for
264
607
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoMaryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed for a week at Condovac La Costa, a timeshare property on the Pacitic coast. The last day of our trip we drove inland to Arenal. If we had known how beautiful it was at the Volcano, we would have stayed there longer. It was approximately a 4 hour drive each way. We stayed at Volcano Lodge, which had clean rooms, an excellent breakfast buffet (included in the price), and friendly staff. I went on their website and spoke to the staff the week before the trip to book a hike to the volcano and trip to the hot springs. Definitely visit the hot springs. There are several options. We were told that Baldi would be the most crowded, but it didn’t seem that way.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

The View!!!
The best part about this hotel are the views and it's gardens!!! I have posted some pics I took when we stayed there last year. We stayed there for two nights while on our honeymoon in October '08 and loved it. I think all the rooms are on the ground floor. Ours had a small back patio with lounge chairs. The patio faced the gardens, and in the distance above the gardens we had a great view of Arenal volcano.

The Room:
The room and the bathroom were very spacious, clean, and comfortable. But I wouldn't call it luxurious. The rooms are spread out throughout the hotel's beautiful gardens filled with hibiscus and orchids plants over 10 feet tall.

The Restaurant:
We had complimentary breakfast at the restaurant by the swimming pool, with stunning views of the volcano. Since we only had breakfast at the hotel, I can't intelligently comment on the restaurant, but at least breakfast was good. I believe there are a couple of restaurants at this hotel.

The Jacuzzi:
While we didn't go in the pool, which was well kept and clean, we did go in the large outdoor Jacuzzi. The staff served us drinks while we enjoyed the view of the setting sun lighting up the volcano and giving it's smoke plume an orange glow. But this was the only negative during our stay. The tiles in the Jacuzzi were a little slimy with algae. But the next morning I saw staff had drained the Jacuzzi and were scrubbing it down. I later saw another pool and jacuzzi in another location at the same hotel. So there are plenty of choices.

The Staff:
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel check in room had two computers with free internet which we used to keep in touch with friends.

Travel to Arenal town:
We traveled to the town of Arenal one night for dinner. We took a cab both ways. I forget the cost, but I think it was about $15 each way.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

The description says it all . Don't have anything bad to say about this hotel.. All previous reviews are correct.
The best hotel we stayed out of 4 in Costa Rica (Casa69/The Falls Manuel Antonio/Los Pinos Cabinas Monteverde)

  • Liked — everything except rain :)
  • Disliked — internet was not available in the room
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Volcano Lodge for four nights in February and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff was amazing, they were very friendly and extremely helpful. The location is perfect and within a short drive or taxi ride to all the local attractions.

Our room was spacious and had a nice view of the volcano (although it was covered in clouds just about the entire time). The included breakfast buffet was fantastic and a great start to activity filled days, which the hotel desk booked for us hassle-free. The hotel grounds are very beautiful and filled with a wide variety of flowers that attracted many birds. The rooms don't have internet access but there are two computers in the lobby that came in handy.

I highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We recently spent two nights at the Volcano Lodge in Arenal and found it totally satisfying. As it was the Green Season we got a great rate. We arrived into SJO late afternoon, and after spending around three hours driving along the beautiful yet windy roads to Arenal, we finally arrived (traveller tip: hire a 4wd, get a GPS and COMPLETE insurance).

Jannethe from Reservations was fantastic and helped organise our night-time canopy tour/zip line. The bar and restaurant staff were lovely - the breakfast was great, the dinner was tasty. Make sure to stock up on the delicious fruits and local Costa Rican foods. Like our other hotel in Costa Rica, we received daily towel animals - a nice little surprise which always brought a smile and a laugh. The pools are a little too hot to cool off in, but perfect to relax tired muscles.

This hotel isn't a fancy-pants place like the other tacky, overpriced hotels nearby. This is a beautiful, cosy resort-style hotel with charm. Things to check out nearby include the Volcano and the beautiful hot springs (traveller tip: pay the extra and head to Tabacon, or get a local to take you to a free one).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed here our first 3 days in Costa Rica and it was magnificent. The people working there were super friendly and very helpful with information. We met some great people and had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend the Volcano lodge to fellow travelers.

Breakfast was great. And, they also have two computers available to the guests which can be used when needed. Those helped us out a bunch.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.