We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A tip to start of with that a local told us is that this place used to be called Volcano Lodge and Gardens before the Springs were added; may help when looking at maps not updated or GPS searches.
This place was perfect and exceeded our expectations for the price we paid (about $94USD/night). Staff was always friendly and bi-lingual for most part and very helpful when we did try to use our Spanish. Breakfast was amazing and plentiful to say the least, the Springs do look very artificial but it's still nice and warm and Hot Springs wasn't our main focus anyways. Happy hour was great and available for different time frames at different pools. We didn't eat at the restaurant here, because there were so many places to try around town. They do still have a large jacuzzi in a secluded setting if that makes up for it. The rooms are clean and have amazing views. As I read on reviews they do get some bugs, but this is to be expected as you're staying in the rainforest. Which also makes me laugh when people complain about the rain, yes it rained, but it doesn't stop you from seeing the areas beauty and attractions. You're just far enough from town that it's quiet, but definitely close enough to get anywhere you need to go there in 5 minutes via car. I'd recommend a rental car if you're staying at this place or prepare to pay $10 each way into town.
Only cons: When it rains at night it's incredibly loud and beds were of medium comfort (more on the hard side), guests could benefit from having a small fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a bad room at the place, but we had 307 and for the one afternoon you could see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    488
    78
    17
    2
See reviews for
286
664
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We really enjoyed this place. Our second trip to arenal, this was an awesome pool and restaurant. Some of best service we had in Costa Rica. The food was wonderful. Rooms were large and had everything you needed. Walls are a little thin, so be prepared to hear your neighbors.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a great place the only problem is that we did not see the Volcano during our stay. The clouds and fog cleared a little so we could see the base but could not see the top. There are may activities here in La Fortuna including zip lining, Caves rain forest hanging bridges etc. The beds are a little small but comfortable. The gardens are beautiful. Breakfast is great. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms appear Good. When the Volcano decides to come out and play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Volcano Lodge was the only place we stayed in Costa Rica that felt like a resort that could’ve been anywhere in the world. It was also the only place that felt like there was a clear separation between the guests and the staff . . . it didn’t feel like the kind of place where you could get to know the folks who worked there (or where the people working there wanted to get to know us). They have a restaurant, some hot springs and a pool, but there was nothing special about this place beyond those amenities. One experience at this lodge that really comes to mind is that the pool table was out of service because the pool cues were broken. When we asked what happened to the cues, we were told that there are a lot of students who stay at the lodge and one night a few drunk students broke the cues over their knees. If you’re looking to go to Arenal (which is fairly touristy to begin with) and you’re looking to have a real Costa Rican experience, avoid the Volcano Lodge. You’re probably better off finding something in La Fortuna.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback!

We are going to work in all your issues in order to improve our quality service.

We try to bring a great experience, which we can share with you, with respect; but if you felt that people was not warm, we are going to work in that.

Thanks for visiting Volcano Lodge & Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights while visiting the Arenal area. Really good location for the volcano and national park, with lots to do in the area. Grounds were very nice and well maintained. Staff was excellent and very helpful with advice for things to do. The room was good...nothing spectacular, but nice and clean and the daily towel arrangement was really awesome! Huge shower. We really liked the back porch area (with a roof, so we could still sit out there in the rain). All of us, including our two teenagers enjoyed the hot springs...they were very clean and the staff came to take drink orders. Breakfast was great and full of options. Had dinner twice in the restaurant, which was merely OK. Might have rated the Volcano Lodge higher if not for the mediocre dinners. Really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again, but probably would go elsewhere for evening meals.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We only stayed here for 1 night, in April 2014 with 2 adults and 2 children aged 9 and 12. We really enjoyed the hot springs and found them to be very clean and relaxing after our horse ride to La Fortuna waterfall. There are several pools around the grounds, some hot, some not, some busy, some quiet and some close to the bar with bar service. The volcano style pools were a bit Disney but if you ignore the slight tackiness of it they were wonderful and the kids loved it. I assume that the views of the volcano would have been spectacular from this hotel but I cannot comment on that as the clouds were too low during our stay, always a hazard in the mountains I guess. The room was pleasant enough and clean although nothing special and like many a business hotel I have stayed in anywhere in the world. Staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfast was great and we also had lunch and an evening meal there which were relatively good value (compared to some hotels in Costa Rica). My wife had a "Volcano massage" at the spa which I'm told was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just got back from Costa Rica - spent 3 nights at this hotel. Breakfast was great, the pool & hot tub and drink selections were great. Dinner could have had more variety. The daily towel creations on our bed was a special touch that thrilled our little girl. All in all a place to definitely visit again.

Room Tip: None... all rooms have a great view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.