We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
SPRING AT HOT SPRINGS!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zürich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent three nights at the Volcano Lodge. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff was super nice and helpful.

Only downside is that there no real gym on the areal - other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    570
    100
    21
    4
See reviews for
336
769
41
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunrise, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My 3 night stay at this resort was surreal. Coming from Florida, I really enjoyed the views of Arenal (the now dormant volcano). The grounds had so many beautiful plants and flowers to enjoy. The abundance of birds was remarkable. The room was clean, housekeeping did sculptures with our towels, and the staff was friendly. If I had to complain about anything, it would be the prices of the food. We opted to drive to La Fortuna each night for dinner.
There is much to do in the area. However, if you book through the resort you will pay more. Drive to La Fortuna and book activities with guides directly. Or if you have a vehicle you can drive yourself if you are a confident driver and use to manual transmission and steep slopes...oh some roads are not paved so be cautious.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent a week here. Our room faced Arenal Volcano and the grounds were beautiful. I spent many early mornings on the porch in the rocking chair watching the humming birds feed at the ginger flowers, Staff was friendly and unobtrusive...grounds were absolutely gorgeous! Morning breakfast (included) was typical fare and an omelet station. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: our room was 217 and faced the volcano without any other resort buildings in front of it...It was ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Who would've thought that a "Groupon Getaway" would be so economical, pretty much all inclusive, convenient, and perfect??? I sure didn't until I grabbed their 9 night, 8 day trip to Costa Rica via "Travel by Jen" (be prepared to spend a lot of time on hold with them...but it's a small price to pay, really). It included 3 nights in Arenal, 3 in Quepos, and 2 near San Jose, a rental car, most breakfasts, roundtrip airfare from BWI, and all taxes and fees (except for the $29 exit fee upon departing) for $2300 for TWO of us! What a deal... but would it live up to my expectations?

A resounding YES! I did upgrade our car to an automatic and the second hotel to a top floor room but it only added a few hundred dollars. Our first stop was the Volcano Lodge and Springs at the foot of the Arenal Volcano. From our clean, modern, well-kept room, we looked at the volcano in the not too far distance. The staff was helpful and efficient, room service and cleaning outstanding, and Sur, the restaurant on the property was incredible. Each morning as we ate our breakfast, we overlooked Arenal Volcano.

They just created a really nice hot springs area where you can relax and soak up all the goodness of the earth, have a drink delivered to you, or float and gaze up at the stars. The grounds were impeccable, all one-story, with a nice bar up front near the main desk. It's not too far from La Fortuna, the quaint worth-a-visit town... about 5 minutes by car.

We'd booked some tours with Desafio (repelling down a 240' waterfall, canyoneering, exploring the Vernado caves, a jungle walk around the base of the volcano...see my TA review) which pretty much filled up our time there. I would definitely love to go back and do more exploring of this area while staying once again in the Volcano Lodge and Springs. It was 3 days of Paradise with the love of my life in a comfy clean home away from home. See my photos which speak for themselves.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the volcano from their porch are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This place is about what you'd expect for the price. Not the prettiest rooms, but they are well kept and the grounds are beautiful. I loved that there were Hot Springs on the property and the staff was very nice. My only real complaint is that the
restaurant is mediocre and somewhat overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel and price are fantastic. The rooms are very clean and comfortables. Definitevly I recommend this hotel, since the scenary and landscape is beautiful. Relaxing at nite looking at the gorgeous view of Arenal volcano.

Room Tip: All rooms have view to the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A friend and I spent two nights at Volcano Lodge in mid-late May. The pricing was fantastic as we were about a week out from high season. Our room was clean and comfortable with a gorgeous view of Arenal Volcano. The grounds of the hotel itself are lovely with great landscaping.

The hotel staff are all incredibly friendly and very helpful. We arrived around 11 am and wanted to go ziplining that afternoon and they made it happen. We were also able to make spa appointments for that evening. We booked last minute tours for the following day as well and everything went smoothly.

The spa is no frills but the massage was excellent. I felt very relaxed going into the rest of my vacation. I would definitely recommend Volcano Lodge!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.