We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Elmer, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I can not say enough amazing things about the volcano lodge. The good is amazing, the people delightful and the location perfect. It was the perfect honeymoon and we will be visiting again many many times. Thank you volcano lodge for making our honeymoon perfect!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    472
    77
    15
    2
See reviews for
279
643
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon this past October and had a terrific stay! Our room had an incredible view and the grounds, flowers, and gardens are gorgeous. The room was comfortable, clean, and had a lovely patio to watch the volcano from and watch the toucans up in the trees. The pool area was nice and the jacuzzi with a volcano view was a treat. We didn't eat at the restaurant there other than breakfast, which is included in the room, but the breakfast buffet served delcious Costa Rican staples. Yummy gallo pinto and plenty of fresh fruit as well as eggs to order and much more. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us navigate the little cultural intricacies of CR in regards to taxis, tipping, restaurants, etc. Tip: when in doubt, ask the front desk how much a taxi ride to a certain place should cost. We are really glad we stayed at Volcano Lodge, it was a great way to start our honeymoon. Oh, and the towel animals we found on the bed after our room was cleaned were the best anywhere :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outskirts of NY city
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Wonderful small resort with amazing grounds. It feels like living in a garden. Geeat breakfast, friendly service, large rooms with rocking chairs on the porch and a view of the volcano, wonderfully large jacuzzi. There is a small hiking trail on property, great for bird and flowers watching.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel was chosen for us as part of a tour package, and we couldn't have been happier. The view of the volcano and surrounding gardens is absolutely stunning. I could have looked at it for hours while sipping coffee...so beautiful. However - watch out for the DANGEROUS CREATURES - a hummingbird nearly gouged my eye out as it erratically flew past! :) The rooms are not luxurious, but they are neat and everything you need is provided. We were provided with cute towel creatures, too (if that's a selling point for you)! The hotel is not close to town, but they have some basic toiletries, snacks for sale at the front desk.The open-air restaurant serves good food, drinks, and has nice service. The breakfast was good, with lots of local selections. We found the staff very helpful when it came to arranging tours and recommending local attractions - the only regret is that we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: It's best to get up early for good views/pictures of the volcano. It seemed that the cloud cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I cannot stop thinking about the amazing time that I had at Volcano Lodge & Gardens. I loved everything about this hotel. The rooms were nice and clean, comfy bed, nice terrace with a beautiful volcano view.
Breakfast was good (loved the coffee), pool area was very clean and beautiful. I really liked the huge hot tub in the garden. It lights up at night and you can enjoy your drink and relax. Overall, there was a very good atmosphere and great service. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Request volcano view rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Vito, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked Volcano Lodge based on price and availability and were pleasantly surprised with two great rooms (#213 and 214) -- spotless and spacious -- with stunning views of Arenal Volcano. The desk staff, especially Denis and Claudio, were helpful, cheerful and patient. The grounds are beautiful with gardens everywhere you look; the two pools are clean and pretty. Happy Hour offers two for one drinks and the bartenders know all about fancy cocktails! The only downside was the restaurant which was just so-so: chicken and beef dinners were OK but the tuna is not fresh and was overcooked. Buffet breakfast was filling and very good. For the price, it's a nice stop and you can go out to dinner in La Fortuna: lots of choices there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a volcano view; it is fascinating to watch it change constantly with the weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The photos I've seen of Volcano Lodge and Gardens don't do it justice. I had read reviews about the jacuzzi not being hot enough, but I thought it was perfect. Private and located behind the restaurant and pool, surrounded by beautiful flowers and trees. We had a room with a perfect view of the volcano and a private little backyard area. Although we didn't eat at the restaurant Sura for dinner, the breakfast buffet was delicious. The staff are all really friendly and helpful and there us free wifi available- especially helpful for keeping in touch with family back home. Volcano Lodge is only a short ride into The downtown part of La Fortuna with great restaurants and shops. We had a great time here and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.