We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque, great price, varied bfast buffet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Charlotte
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Picturesque, great price, varied bfast buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just returned from a great visit to Volcano Lodge. Bryan at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. Went w/my husband, sister in law and nephew. Our rooms were beautiful - we could see Arenal from the bed! Rooms 209-215 have fantastic views of the volcano and gardens. Other rooms may as well, but not sure.

They're currently building a new reception area which looks like it's going to be really nice. In the meantime, the existing one is quite sufficient.

We arranged a Zip Line Canopy Tour ($40 pp) which lasted about an hour. Shuttle to the place, friendly staff. The Tarzan swing was awesome!

They offer a happy hour from 4p-6p. 2 Costa Rican beers for $4 or 2 cocktails for $7.

The pools and jacuzzis are nice and in beautiful surroundings! Since it's rainy season, we had the place practically to ourselves, beautiful mornings and rainy afternoons.

Breakfast Buffet - offered everything. Made to order omlettes, waffles, fresh fruit, typical costa rican food, juices, coffee. Great value for the price!

Would absolutely recommend this place :) Super relaxing environment. Happy to answer any questions.

Room Tip: Room 209-215 great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    496
    80
    17
    3
See reviews for
287
672
34
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a nice enough room, but the staff wasn't as friendly as where we had been prior. View of the Arenal Volcano was good. Food was okay, but over priced. Had some issues booking things through the front desk as well. Don't think we'd stay here again unless it was a super deal on their rates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a great place to spend our honeymoon, the staff was extremely friendly, the excursions were arranged for us by the front desk and the gardens were beautiful. The view of the volcano was great, but during the rainy season it can get tricky waiting for the clouds to disperse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

La Fortuna is one of the pricier cities in Costa Rica because it's a large tourist destination. There are many wonderful hotels here that can range to even $400. Volcano Lodge is probably the best sub $100 hotel. The included breakfast buffet is grea. This is my third time staying at this hotel and had a small hiccup with the key not working when arriving. After an exhausting 3 hour drive from San Jose, I arrived at my door and neither of the keys worked. Said they would bring me replacement keys, waited 15 minutes and they never came. So I had to head back to the office. Other than that, everything else is great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at the Volcano Lodge, and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of accommodation. The rooms are set in groups of 4 around the grounds, and have a seating area out of the back - ours had wonderful views of the volcano. The grounds are beautifully maintained, and there are many birds, especially humming birds. The rooms are exceptionally clean, and though simple, very comfortable. There is an inclusive buffet breakfast, with a great choice to start your day. The food in the restaurant is very good. We are vegetarians, and the staff altered items on the menu to suit us. The pool area is one of the cleanest I've come across, and there is a swim up bar. Laundry service is available. All staff here are friendly, courteous and very helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our room was facing away from the volcano, but it was mostly cloudy, so we couldn't have seen it anyway. But stepping out of our sliding door, we were met with the most gorgeous abundance of colorful flowers and plants. Everywhere on the property, there were beautiful flowers. The room was spacious and, other than a couple of stray bugs, mostly clean. There is a pool and a sizable hot tub near the restaurant. We only ate breakfast there, but it was very good, with made-to-order omelettes. Yummy. This was perhaps the most beautiful and comfortable hotel we stayed in throughout the entire trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We chose this hotel as part of a Groupon package for our time in La Fortuna, and after seeing some of the other properties in the area, I think we made an excellent choice. The property is quiet and beautiful, service was friendly, and the property didn't have hordes of annoying tourists like some of the others.

We went on tours during the day and night, and came back to Volcano Lodge to sleep. The rooms aren't luxurious but are nice and everything was very clean and comfortable. The scenery and the garden are beautiful. We woke up looking at the volcano out our front window. We also really enjoyed walking through the tropical gardens on the grounds. Hummingbirds were flitting about through all the bushes and flowers.

We chose this hotel because we heard the food was excellent and that was 100% correct information. These were some of the best meals we had on our entire trip. Breakfast was amazingly delicious with its various fruits and beans and rice and plantains. I have tried to recreate this at home many times since. Dinners here were also very good - you have a couple options to choose from and everything was pretty excellent and authentically Costa Rican.

The only negatives are small ones: it's rather far from La Fortuna by taxi, and there aren't any on-property activities. However, you can always visit the other nearby properties when you wat to do some of the activities. We spent a night each at Tabacon Hot Springs (for its beautiful hot springs!) and Los Lagos (for its hot springs and exhilarating but possibly dangerous waterslides). We felt both properties were great to visit, but we wouldn't want to stay at either of them. Tabacon was great, but expensive and exclusive, and Los Lagos serves crappy gringo buffets for dinner.

Volcano Lodge is just right!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.