We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice grounds and room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$56 off room rate
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice grounds and room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was the nicest of the places we stayed on our trip to Costa Rica. We spent the first two nights in town, at the Hotel San Bosco, which coincidentally turned out to be owned by the same company as this one. That made it easy for us to get a ride to the lodge when we checked out. It's true that it is remote without a car, which is why I'm glad we got to experience the town of La Fortuna first. The restaurant and pools were good enough that we didn't feel we were missing much by being "stuck" there. They even have a happy hour from 4-6, so we didn't feel we had to overpay for drinks. Also, any tours you book will pick you up and drop you off. We took another reviewers advice and walked to the pizza place down the road. It's actually part of another hotel, and the trip wasn't worth it since our hotel had better food (I'm vegan and had no trouble finding things to eat there).
I had only a few minor issues:
1. The key card did not work when we got back from an excursion, and the man who brought a replacement chose to suggest it was somehow my fault, rather than offering an apology.
2. Having to wear a wristband for your entire stay is irritating.
3. The AC leaked when we turned it off, soaking some items on the nightstand.
Other than that, it was lovely. I didn't mind walking to the front desk; we live in NYC and are used to walking everywhere. The view of the volcano was remarkable, and the gardens were full of interesting birds and butterflies. I'd absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't have a car, ask to be near the pool and restaurant. It'll cut down on your walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    668
    411
    72
    11
    2
See reviews for
245
564
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights after taking the public bus from San Ramon to Fortuna. We were pleasantly surprised by the nice room and beautiful grounds since we paid around $70 per night for our room. The pool and hot tub are very nice, and the food in the restaurant is good.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The property was gorgeous and the breakfast was great! The rooms were ok they can remodel and make them a little more modern. I liked that we were close to Fortuna and mineral springs. I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My daughter and I stayed her for two nights as part of a private tour and this was our last place before heading back to the states. The front desk staff was friendly and after checking in we were immediately driven to our room by the staff. (We also thought the wrist bands were strange to have on through out our stay). Loved the pool area and the hot tub and being able to order smoothies in the pool at the wet bar. We were without a car and (like the other reviews) did feel confined to eating solely in the restaurant. The food was good and also we were there for the CR mother's day buffet. We noticed that more local families attended instead of guests which provided a cultural feeling of the locals plus we enjoyed the music. The rooms were nice. Enjoyed the towel sculpture on the bed and their notation to being "green" and eco friendly. Our first night we could only hear the neighbors TV most of the night. Fortunately a good set of ear plugs allowed me to sleep. The next night was very quiet and we did not hear anyone next door. We were in room 321 and I would recommend an end room to avoid being sandwiched by your neighbors chatting and TV sounds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This guest lodge is in a prime location to see the volcano (when it isn't cloudy) and the grounds are simply beautiful and well kept. The gardens fairly large, and there are multiple paths to explore around the property, getting you glimpses of different odd and intriguing plants, insects, and even some birds. This is all without having to leave the premises.

The room was very large and clean (we actually received an ADA room with a massive bathroom / shower, not sure if that is standard, room 317) and had a private porch which we saw an armadillo from one morning. All the standard hotel amenities are provided (A/C, safe, etc.) and it was kept exceptionally clean. Our housekeeper even made different animals out of the towels, akin to the service on cruise ships. A small complaint is that the walls are thin and/or uninsulated so you can easily hear conversation from the next room over.

The only complaint I had was the pricing. We got a pretty good deal from using travel points, but otherwise this resort was probably a bit out of our travel budget. There is one restaurant on site (Sura) that had very good food, albeit a bit pricy. There are no menu items under $10, but this can be alleviated by splitting a meal with your partner since the portion sizes are generally large. I greatly enjoyed the grilled chicken / bacon sandwich and the chicken w/ sausage & veggies (forgot actual name) was recommended as the best on the menu, and certainly tasted like it. Breakfast was included (as a buffet) so that was a bonus, and even had an omelet station.

Otherwise, and this is about Arenal/Fortuna in general, all of the area attractions seemed very controlled by all the local tour companies. No, we didn't rent a car which would have given us more freedom, but to take the simple volcano hike up to the lava field, it was $46/pp, and because others in the group had other commitments later, we didn't get to explore as much as we wanted.. Even if we didn't do the package tour, it would have been a $25-$30 taxi ride to the park entrance, plus another entry fee to get in.

Anyhow, the lodge & gardens was gorgeous, had a prime location and view of the volcano, a nice pool and restaurant, and excellent waitstaff & front desk attendants. If there were more menu items at more price points available, or perhaps a late night option to order food to the room (you are kind of stuck once you get to the resort as it is out of town), this place would be perfect in my mind.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights in July and booked through Latin Destinations. The hotel staff was helpful and nice, the rooms and property were clean, the shuttle service to activities was great, it was a close taxi ride to downtown, and they were able to book many types of excursions right at the front desk. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The view of the Arenal volcano and the grounds out our window was exceptional. The restaurant was good as was the free breakfasts every morning. Highly recommend the Volcano Lodge & Gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms from 209 through 217 have great views of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.