We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than a place to sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Denver, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“more than a place to sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A lot of people we met at the pool (almost all guests were from the US) said they chose this place because it was simple, safe and clean. Safe and clean? How about a gated entry? We splurged on this place and it was very nice. Up to US standards for nice, and I'm not talking a Holiday Inn. They serve you liquor in the pool for God's sake The rest of our trip we stayed in mom and pop places that were safe and clean, but definitely not upscale. I guess it all has to do with what you're accustomed to. If you can't live without a memory foam mattress, you can't go mom and pop. One family had a car/driver because they were scared to drive. What? You don't think you can do what the Ticos do? We rented a car, but normally I would just take the bus, because the bus system in CR is amazing and SO CHEAP. I have zero complaints about this place. The pool was great as was the service. If you want to feel like you are in the US with all its amenities, this is your place (except for the giant volcano looming over the pool on a clear day, you won't get that in the US). It was really a great place to end our trip after a wonderful week of hiking through muddy jungles and having to drive/walk to the market to get a beer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    487
    78
    16
    2
See reviews for
285
660
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
STONE MOUNTAIN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We got our deal off of Living Social and it was a great buy. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. The lunch and dinner at the resort was good to us. The property was beautiful and the staff was very pleasant. I would also recommend that you ask your driver about local restaurants in the town. They were very delicious recommendations.

Some con's: We had a minimal amount of ants in our bathroom but they disappeared after the killings lol. The alcoholic drinks on the resort are weak so purchase your alcohol at the duty free and bring that with you.

We also enjoyed the excursions provided by the resort. The zip lining is recommended for all, the cave exploring is recommended for the active because there is a lot of climbing and crawling, and the horseback riding is recommended for all. We also went to another resort for the hot springs and you will need to bring your own towels or there is a fee to pay but you get it back. That restaurant is also over priced.

We traveled to the city by cab mostly for lunch or dinner and it is about 10 dollars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved my stay at Volcano Lodge & Gardens. The Pool was clean all the time as well as the jacuzzi. It was also hot too. I especially loved the towel designs when they used my stuffed animals as part of the design (1 picture). I also liked the gardens and the restaurant staff. But the menu was the same all the time though :( . The wi-fi did not always work either. But overall I liked my stay with the incredible view of the volcano, this is a trip to repeat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. Housekeeping did an excellent job. Gardens are beautiful. Pools clean and treated every morning. Waiters very nice. Food very good in taste.
Cons: no refrigerator in room, no Internet in room, menu is the same.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful. There are two pools plus a little nature trail behind the buildings that can be walked in about ten minutes. The breakfast was great with an omelet bar and different items each day. Two for one beers at happy hour at the pool. The room was immaculately clean and comfortable. The staff was excellent and kind. My only (tiny) complaint: my room didn't get the wifi signal so I had to go over to the pool to get it. Not a big deal. I was sad to leave!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just about 10 minutes by car from La Fortuna this place is very relaxing. We enjoyed the good breakfast, the gardens, the staff and the view from the room. the swimming pool and hot tub was a nice end to the day of hiking.

the drawbacks: we thought that a place this far out should have a more varied menu as it is a $10.00 cab ride each way to town. they do allow for some shuttle but only when they are going anyway. they do have a little tienda for incidentals but it isn't very well equipped. There should be refrigerators in the rooms so you can stock up on snacks.

Room Tip: in the dry season be sure to ask for a volcano facing room. in the wet season it doesn't really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed with our family of six in early July for 2 nights and had a great time. The variety of flowers on the grounds were spectacular, the rooms were comfortable and very clean. The restaurant was good - Carlos was extremely helpful. We had an early excursion one morning and the staff was helpful in getting us some food "to go" prior to being picked up for our excursion. The only down side is that it is a ways out of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.