We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
SPRING AT HOT SPRINGS!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“no sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place has a beautiful garden setting but if I would not recommend staying here is you want to sleep. The walls are so thin that the people next to us kept us awake. They did quite down after we called the office in the middle of the night. When we meet our friends, who where traveling with us the next morning, we were surprised to hear that they also had complained to the management the same night. (Crying baby) It was so bad that they asked to be moved. The hotel refused to move them because they said that the hotel was full. Don't know if that was true or not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment!

We understand your annoyance about noise, which is not for the thin wall, it is more about, the type of construction of the rooms.

However, we make efforts to reduce this problem.

We try to solve all kinds of situation affecting your stay with us, but in these cases, the solution depends on a change room, and so, it depends on the availability of rooms.

Yet, we do not endorse, a bad attitude from the staff, so we will transfer this complaint to the Customer Service Department.

We are happy with your visit, and we hope that despite these situations, you have lived a great experience at our property.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    570
    100
    21
    4
See reviews for
334
769
41
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The staff takes customer service to the next level. They are super friendly and helpful and their English is superb. The grounds a beautiful and clean. Happy hour is an amazing deal. Breakfast is great and dinner service is above par. My one complaint is that the walls between rooms are thin and when our neighbors woke up, we had to as well. Otherwise,would definitely recommend this to a friend and we won't stay anywhere else in Arenal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The environment of the hotel is beautiful, you wake up with the sound of lots of different birds and you can make nice walks through the gardens!
The walls are ultra thin, we heard our neigbour the whole night, he snorred and forgot to turn out his television.. Too bad!!
The staff was friendly but when we cancelled a trip because we could arrange a trip in the village for $30 LESS PER PERSON (!!) they became a little grumpy, unfortunately!

Our stay was good, mostly because of the good environment, large and comfortable room and lots of activities around the arenal vulcano.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment!

We understand your annoyance about noise, which is not for the thin wall, it is more about, the type of construction of the rooms.

However, we make efforts to reduce this problem.

When you cancel a purchased service, which is provided by a supplier, as a Tour, the supplier uses a penalty to the hotel.

Yet, we do not endorse, a bad attitude from the staff, so we will transfer this complaint to the Customer Service Department.

Another tip that we provide, is that you can get cheaper services in the Dowtown, but most of these vendors, does not meet the standards of law, and they do not provide insurance policies.

We are happy with your visit, and we hope that despite these situations, you have lived a great experience at our property.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This spot was a great value for our money. Nothing fancy, but big clean rooms, a great pool area and friendly staff. Views of Volcano were amazing. Only a short drive into La Fortuna, so if you have a car its convienent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Felt as though we were staying in paradise. Beautiful views, excellent staff, luxurious rooms, great food, and plenty to do if you are willing. Wish we could go back today. Far from airport though. We rented a car to drive ourselves to the resort but should have paid for the resort to pick us up. If you are not accustomed to Island roads it is better to have someone drive you. Staff seemed to bend over backwards to accommodate you. The restaurant on the property was quaint and the food was wonderful. Even though it rained (rainy season) the adventures were still fun. Just put on a rain jacket and go. If you just want to relax and sit in the beautiful pool or if you like hiking, ATV's, zip line, canoeing, and nature you are set. We loved it. Clean, comfortable rooms that were luxurious. Bathroom size was huge. Love, Love, Love.

Room Tip: Our room had a great view of the volcano, but every room had its advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The grounds are amazing, the rooms are huge and the staff is so sweet. The two pools and two whirlpools gave you options about how many people you wanted to be anound (The pools near the bar were much busier.) Breakfast in the morning was grand with a LOT of choices. I totally loved the hotel. This location also allows you to do the zip-lining, hanging bridges, hot springs and National Park hiking. However, be aware that ALL taxis in Costa Rica are VERY expensive. For a 4 mile trip from our hotel to the hot springs was about $25 EACH way. Also, food is very expensive. If you want to eat at a local "Soda" then you end up paying about $50 for the taxi. Otherwise, you need to eat at the restaurant on-site. It is a very good restaurant though!

Room Tip: Our room was at the very farthest part of the hotel. It was more private, but more of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting.

For us, your comments are the most useful tool to improve.

We are very sorry, that you have not informed by our staff, that the hotel has a free shuttle service to La Fortuna Downtown, on a special schedule.

We hope that despite this drawback, your stay has been pleasant

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a wonderful lodge that was beyond our expectations. The view from our porch of the Arenal volcano was amazing. You can see the steam from the top of the volcano and what a sight! The room decor and the size of the room was decent. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast buffet was great. We ate our dinners practically every night at the Suri Restaurant and enjoyed them immensely. The consistency, portion, presentation and the taste always exceeded our expectations. It was nice to wake up hearing the various birds humming and being part of this wonderful surroundings. Definitely will return to this lodge in the future. The only drawback is the location of the lodge. If you want to be near the volcano, this is a must stay.

Room Tip: Request for the Volcano view -rooms 317 - 321. The garden in the sitting porch is so relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.