We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tropical Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Tropical Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised -- the lodge was so reasonably priced that I did not expect much. Instead I was amazed. It was very clean, the gardens were amazing. I would take my coffee and walk the gardens every morning. The staff was the friendliest -- the front desk staff would help me with all my arrangements since we could not get our cell phone to work. The breakfast was great including made to order omelettes. The best part was the towel animals that the housekeeping staff would leave each day -- better than a cruise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    511
    85
    17
    4
See reviews for
292
692
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really nice resort with landscaped gardens and nice pool and Jacuzzi areas. Comfortable rooms – nothing luxurious but had everything you need and were spacious. Our room didn’t have a view of the volcano - I thought all rooms did so that was a bit disappointing but you could see the Volcano from lots of areas on the resort so not really an issue. Every day we had a different towel creature on the bed.

We had a car so found the location to be pretty well based for travelling around – short and direct drive one way into town or same distance in the other direction to the National Park, Lake Arenal, Tabacon Hot Springs, Hanging Bridges etc.

The restaurant was good – food and drink was reasonably priced (about 10 dollars for main courses) and plenty of choices were available on the breakfast buffet. They have a happy hour at the bar but check your bill –cocktails are buy one get one free during happy hour but we were charged full price for two. When we queried this they said we had ordered them outside of happy hour, which we hadn’t. From reading other reviews it seems you have to order two of the same drinks, not two different drinks from the Happy Hour menu. Confusing so don’t get tripped up on this like we did – my husband would have rather had a beer but only ordered the cocktail because he thought it was free!

Our only other gripe would be that the sunbeds were rock hard and very uncomfortable for sunbathing. The resort would really benefit from having mattresses available for the sunbeds.

My tips for people visiting would be to hire a car to get around (driving is straightforward as everything, including the hotel, is on the main road through La Fortuna), take some extra towels to soften the sunbed experience (they provide 2 with the room) and check your bill in happy hour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spectacularly beautful gardens on this well manicured and immaculately clean resort. I stayed here on a Living Social deal and it exceeded expectation.

A few little mentioned tips: take a sun rise hike around 6 am starting at the front of the garden. Take the long way around the entire perimeter, through the beautiful garden. Part of the trail butts up against a reserve and this was where I saw my first monkey! It continues by a stream and a lake then circles back up towards one of the pools. I dipped my toes in, drank in the morning sun then headed to breakfast at 7am for fresh squeezed oj.

If you have your own car, you will have freedom of mobility and save a ton of money. We drove out and directly across the street there is an organic farm on a hill. We drove up and caught wonderful, lush images and sheep grazing.

Back to the hotel, it's just a wonderful escape into the Pura Vida.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The gardens are full of tropical plants which attract many birds,and butterflies. There is also a short nature walk within the property. When I opened out back door I had a perfect view of the volcano. Breakfast is included and it was the best of all of the hotels. It included cheese, veggies, eggs of several kinds, pancakes, meats, fruits, and of course rice and bean. You are given a pass for your car and have to go through gates for added security. Staff could not have been more helpful, they had to keep coming to our room when the safe got suck and they came immediately and were always pleasant. They let us do an early check-in and they watched our bags for us after we checked out. This place gave 1st class service for a mid-priced place. Happy hour at the pool has 2 for 1 ddrinks and the hotel is only a 10 min. drive to town for dinner. The only thing they could improve is a newer bed---ours seemed to have a slight lean to it. If I ever came back, I'd stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I just came back from an unforgettable vacation in La Fortuna and we stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Everyone was very helpful with things to do in the area. Everything was affordable, the staff was awesome, and the room was great. We felt like we were home away from home. The rooms are cozy and you get your own back patio that was really awesome. I recommend staying here to anyone and we will be back in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place is gorgeous. The landscaping is so lush and well kept. The rooms were very private and spacious. It was very quiet and peaceful. The included breakfast had a bit more variety than some of the other hotels where we stayed on the trip. Again, no refrigerator. Security was good. We were given a gate pass to display on the dashboard when we wanted to enter the property. The location is out of town a bit, so there's no place to walk except on the beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: I recommend a room a bit away from the office so that you don't have all the traffic on the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights during our 3rd wedding anniversary. We had a great time and enjoyed the very nice pool area, jacuzzi and restaurant. The gardens are gorgeous and well maintained, many birds and butterflies are easily found all around the hotel. Staff was very friendly and at least a couple of times were able to solve our needs in a very timely manner. Restaurant is good, can get a little pricy but its worth it, buffet breakfast was tasty and had a fair amount of options. Rooms are nice, walls are kinda thin so next door conversations may be heard at times, nice balcony facing the Arenal volcano. Wi-fi is not the best. Overall very nice hotel at the right price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, T4B, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.