We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, great landscapes at the right price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value, great landscapes at the right price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights during our 3rd wedding anniversary. We had a great time and enjoyed the very nice pool area, jacuzzi and restaurant. The gardens are gorgeous and well maintained, many birds and butterflies are easily found all around the hotel. Staff was very friendly and at least a couple of times were able to solve our needs in a very timely manner. Restaurant is good, can get a little pricy but its worth it, buffet breakfast was tasty and had a fair amount of options. Rooms are nice, walls are kinda thin so next door conversations may be heard at times, nice balcony facing the Arenal volcano. Wi-fi is not the best. Overall very nice hotel at the right price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    474
    77
    15
    2
See reviews for
280
644
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Salem, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a room that was spacious, comfortable, and clean. The grounds, with extensive foliage, added to our very positive experience. We had most of our meals at the restaurant on the premises; the food was consistently tasty and the servers were friendly. The only negative occurred when we checked-in and tried to reconfirm that our room had a direct view of the volcano. The clerk said it didn't but changed our room to a room that supposedly had such a view. Wrong! Back to the front desk where the clerk said that if we stepped out on the balcony and moved 20 steps to the left, we could then see the volcano. Eventually, we were given a room that we had "reserved" along with a complimentary bottle of wine.

Room Tip: Read our review for our experience with a "room with a view."
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We bought this stay on Living Social, so the price was fantastic, but the hotel was wonderful even if you had to pay full price. The staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and the breakfasts (and other meals we purchased there) were very good. The hotel has a hot tub and swimming pool, both very enjoyable, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a very good time at this hotel. The staff were great and setting is spectacular. The rooms a a good size but feel a little tired in terms of furnishings. They were also spotlessly clean. Would definitely recommend the hotel. The staff polo shirts are very nice but are not offered for sale, a point we mentioned to the hotel staff.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed four nights on the LivingSocial deal ($229 for four nights, including daily breakfast). What a fabulous trip. Great staff, awesome views, delicious food, a wonderful pool area, free Wi-Fi, and comfortable rooms. Can't say enough about the great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good restaurant and lovely staff. The towel sculptures made by the maid are very amusing. The gardens are a little over-manicured and could be let to run a bit wild but there are lots of birds, including hummingbirds. The town is a short taxi ride away and it’s easy to get a taxi back, so we ate there one evening.

The hotel make a very good effort on New Year ’s Eve with a local band and an impressive firework display (let off far too close to the guests - no health are safety in Costa Rica!) and it was a great evening.

The laundry is rather expensive but that's the only complaint.

Room Tip: Try to get a room backing on to the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

cozy, Clean and convenient area, although you need a car to get into the main town. staff is friendly and helpful. The pool was surprisingly nice, with a nice view of the volcano. For the price, it was a great value.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.