We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in sight of the volcano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Volcano Lodge & Springs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in sight of the volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good restaurant and lovely staff. The towel sculptures made by the maid are very amusing. The gardens are a little over-manicured and could be let to run a bit wild but there are lots of birds, including hummingbirds. The town is a short taxi ride away and it’s easy to get a taxi back, so we ate there one evening.

The hotel make a very good effort on New Year ’s Eve with a local band and an impressive firework display (let off far too close to the guests - no health are safety in Costa Rica!) and it was a great evening.

The laundry is rather expensive but that's the only complaint.

Room Tip: Try to get a room backing on to the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    608
    108
    23
    4
See reviews for
380
830
44
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

cozy, Clean and convenient area, although you need a car to get into the main town. staff is friendly and helpful. The pool was surprisingly nice, with a nice view of the volcano. For the price, it was a great value.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Lovely setting with pretty gardens and a good view of the Arenal volcano. The superior room has two double beds and had places to sit so you didn’t have to sit on the bed, and a patio for sitting outdoors. The bathroom had a nice big shower and plenty of counter space for family toiletry kits, but nowhere to hang your wet things from all the water adventures (there was a clothesline pulley in the shower, but it was broken in our room). The buffet breakfast has a nice selection. The restaurant for dinner is a bit limited, choice-wise, but the portions were good-sized and everything was tasty. The gardens are really impressive, lots of variety, well-maintained and there's a really nice nature path that runs along the perimeter of the property. LOVED the towel animals each night! To get to town or any other restaurants, you do have to take a taxi, which can be a bummer, but otherwise, it’s a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel had a great view of the volcano and was very clean. It also had a great location. About halfway between downtown La Fortuna and Arenal Volcano National Park. The room had a little patio with chairs so you could relax and watch the volcano. Also spotted lots of toucans at the hotel!

It was perfect for what we were looking for. It's not a "5 star resort" but it was our version of 5 stars. We aren't fancy and don't need all the frills, just need a clean/safe place to sleep!

At night, after a long day of hiking the park, horseback riding etc, the hot tub was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We found the lodge through a living social deal and wow, this place was amazing!

The actual rooms are nice, but if you are looking for an incredible room go somewhere else besides Costa Rica. With that said they are nice but nothing special. What was special was the cleaning staff, and I will say this throughout this review the people here are awesome and really made this a great stay, But back to the cleaning people, each day the staff would make some different animal with the daily towels, and so it up with flowers and my fiancé and I loved coming back to the room after a day of adventuring to see what new creative thing was on the bed, just those simple things can make or break a trip and a stay somewhere.

The restaurant has great service and very tasty drinks. Everything they use to make the drinks is fresh. Our waiter wouldn't serve us something unless it was going to be amazing, which it was. Fresh pineapple for piña coladas, fresh everything, no concentrates or anything like that. The overall menu actually changed while we were there. The last two days they had a new menu and what we both had was excellent.

Also the pool area is an incredible place to unwind or for breakfast start your day! The volcano is right there in its full glory and the grounds in general are lush and beautiful. The rain Forrest comes alive and the bird and wildlife are incredible! Would highly recommend even without the living social deal, with it, it was close to stealing, it was that incredible!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel has beautiful grounds, views of the volcano from everywhere, private rooms with outdoor seating, a well priced and good restaurant, helpful staff, a nice pool, and is a short cab ride to la fortuna. We had a great time here as a couple, based at the hotel but leaving almost every day for different activities. It was quiet, but with enough other people to make conversation if you wanted. Breakfast was delicious. Rooms were spotless. Got a good hour long massage as well. Really pleasant and friendly atmosphere. If you like a lot of hustle at your hotel it's probably not for you but I liked very much being close enough to town to go for dinner and hang out but then coming back to a little more quiet and beauty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersery
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel was part of our tour package and it was chosen for us. We went in May (which is off season and rainy for Costa Rica) and it was virtually empty, it felt as if we were the only ones at this whole hotel. The grounds were very lush, you felt as if you were in a rainforest. Everything was wet and very green. Beautiful flowers and different types of greenery abounded. The volcano was active when we went and it was constantly spewing smoke which was very cool to see. Our room was a good size room with a little patio and glass siding door which led to a small table and chairs to sit outside. While we stayed there we really enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. There was all kinds of tropical birds and animals that were just roaming around the property. At night it felt like a nature tape playing with the sounds of nature right outside our door which was a little loud with the windows open. We ate at the bar in the pool and the prices were very reasonable. The chicken fingers I have to say were awesome and the best food we had all week was this cheese sandwich. It was cut in a rectangle shape and it almost looked like fresh mozzerella but they threw it on the grill and kept its shape, than they put it on some fresh bread with lettuce and tomato and it was amazing. I guess it was their version of a grilled cheese. We could not get enough of it. Overall our stay here was relaxing and we enjoyed how low key it was. It was not fancy, I would say a solid 3 stars, clean and comfortable. If you go get the cheese sandwich!!!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.