We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$56 off room rate
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

cozy, Clean and convenient area, although you need a car to get into the main town. staff is friendly and helpful. The pool was surprisingly nice, with a nice view of the volcano. For the price, it was a great value.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    668
    410
    72
    11
    2
See reviews for
245
564
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Lovely setting with pretty gardens and a good view of the Arenal volcano. The superior room has two double beds and had places to sit so you didn’t have to sit on the bed, and a patio for sitting outdoors. The bathroom had a nice big shower and plenty of counter space for family toiletry kits, but nowhere to hang your wet things from all the water adventures (there was a clothesline pulley in the shower, but it was broken in our room). The buffet breakfast has a nice selection. The restaurant for dinner is a bit limited, choice-wise, but the portions were good-sized and everything was tasty. The gardens are really impressive, lots of variety, well-maintained and there's a really nice nature path that runs along the perimeter of the property. LOVED the towel animals each night! To get to town or any other restaurants, you do have to take a taxi, which can be a bummer, but otherwise, it’s a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel had a great view of the volcano and was very clean. It also had a great location. About halfway between downtown La Fortuna and Arenal Volcano National Park. The room had a little patio with chairs so you could relax and watch the volcano. Also spotted lots of toucans at the hotel!

It was perfect for what we were looking for. It's not a "5 star resort" but it was our version of 5 stars. We aren't fancy and don't need all the frills, just need a clean/safe place to sleep!

At night, after a long day of hiking the park, horseback riding etc, the hot tub was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We found the lodge through a living social deal and wow, this place was amazing!

The actual rooms are nice, but if you are looking for an incredible room go somewhere else besides Costa Rica. With that said they are nice but nothing special. What was special was the cleaning staff, and I will say this throughout this review the people here are awesome and really made this a great stay, But back to the cleaning people, each day the staff would make some different animal with the daily towels, and so it up with flowers and my fiancé and I loved coming back to the room after a day of adventuring to see what new creative thing was on the bed, just those simple things can make or break a trip and a stay somewhere.

The restaurant has great service and very tasty drinks. Everything they use to make the drinks is fresh. Our waiter wouldn't serve us something unless it was going to be amazing, which it was. Fresh pineapple for piña coladas, fresh everything, no concentrates or anything like that. The overall menu actually changed while we were there. The last two days they had a new menu and what we both had was excellent.

Also the pool area is an incredible place to unwind or for breakfast start your day! The volcano is right there in its full glory and the grounds in general are lush and beautiful. The rain Forrest comes alive and the bird and wildlife are incredible! Would highly recommend even without the living social deal, with it, it was close to stealing, it was that incredible!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel has beautiful grounds, views of the volcano from everywhere, private rooms with outdoor seating, a well priced and good restaurant, helpful staff, a nice pool, and is a short cab ride to la fortuna. We had a great time here as a couple, based at the hotel but leaving almost every day for different activities. It was quiet, but with enough other people to make conversation if you wanted. Breakfast was delicious. Rooms were spotless. Got a good hour long massage as well. Really pleasant and friendly atmosphere. If you like a lot of hustle at your hotel it's probably not for you but I liked very much being close enough to town to go for dinner and hang out but then coming back to a little more quiet and beauty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersery
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel was part of our tour package and it was chosen for us. We went in May (which is off season and rainy for Costa Rica) and it was virtually empty, it felt as if we were the only ones at this whole hotel. The grounds were very lush, you felt as if you were in a rainforest. Everything was wet and very green. Beautiful flowers and different types of greenery abounded. The volcano was active when we went and it was constantly spewing smoke which was very cool to see. Our room was a good size room with a little patio and glass siding door which led to a small table and chairs to sit outside. While we stayed there we really enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. There was all kinds of tropical birds and animals that were just roaming around the property. At night it felt like a nature tape playing with the sounds of nature right outside our door which was a little loud with the windows open. We ate at the bar in the pool and the prices were very reasonable. The chicken fingers I have to say were awesome and the best food we had all week was this cheese sandwich. It was cut in a rectangle shape and it almost looked like fresh mozzerella but they threw it on the grill and kept its shape, than they put it on some fresh bread with lettuce and tomato and it was amazing. I guess it was their version of a grilled cheese. We could not get enough of it. Overall our stay here was relaxing and we enjoyed how low key it was. It was not fancy, I would say a solid 3 stars, clean and comfortable. If you go get the cheese sandwich!!!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Rooms were spacious and clean. Staff was courteous and helpful booking side excursions. Grounds are lush with vegetation and secure. Breakfast was so plentiful we skipped lunch!
Pool and pool bar were peaceful with a great view of Mt. Arenal, try the nachos and a margarita after a long day. Best of all is the price!

Room Tip: 200 series rooms have a great private view of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.